Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respectful adaptation
(Crossposted from my blog)

It's difficult to know how much information to give in a review of Shada, the latest in the BBC's line of Doctor Who prestige hardbacks, because it's aimed at at least three different, though overlapping, audiences - Doctor Who fans, Douglas Adams fans, and people who would, when in a bookshop, be interested in a book about Doctor Who...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by Andrew Hickey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Outstays its welcome slightly
There's much to like about Gareth Roberts' retelling of Douglas Adams' 'lost' Doctor Who six-parter. The two writers' styles mesh pleasingly, and Lalla Ward gives a spirited performance on audio, although the story does start to drag about halfway through. Whisper it, but the plot simply isn't much cop.
Published 12 months ago by David Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Respectful adaptation, 17 Mar 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Hardcover)
(Crossposted from my blog)

It's difficult to know how much information to give in a review of Shada, the latest in the BBC's line of Doctor Who prestige hardbacks, because it's aimed at at least three different, though overlapping, audiences - Doctor Who fans, Douglas Adams fans, and people who would, when in a bookshop, be interested in a book about Doctor Who if it's got the name of someone they recognise on the cover but wouldn't otherwise consider themselves a fan. I am, of course, a member of both the first two groups.

In the late 1970s, Douglas Adams (who almost everyone reading this will know was to become the best-selling author of the Hitch-Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy and Dirk Gently series before dying too young) wrote three scripts for Doctor Who, as well as script-editing the TV series for a year. The first of these, The Pirate Planet, is a passable romp, while the second, City Of Death, is often regarded as the single best story the TV show ever did. Shada was the third, and was meant to be broadcast at the end of the series Adams script-edited, but filming was stopped two-thirds of the way through because of strike action, and the story was never completed.

It's not quite as lost as the publicity material around this book suggests - a VHS release about twenty years ago, now long-deleted, with Tom Baker doing linking narration, and a remake as a cartoon for the BBC website featuring eighth Doctor Paul McGann (the soundtrack CD of which is available from Big Finish for five pounds, and is well worth getting) mean that many of us have experienced this story in a relatively complete form already. However, it is true that it was never completed in the way Adams intended - and it's also true that Adams was unhappy with his scripts and thought they needed more polishing - so it's a perfect candidate for novelisation.

Gareth Roberts, the author of the book, will be less familiar than Adams by a long way, but is a reasonable choice for the job. I'm not a huge fan of Roberts' work, but he's what is generally called a safe pair of hands. He's written for Doctor Who on TV, audio dramas, novels and comics before, including a novel (The Well-Mannered War) featuring the Fourth Doctor, who appears here, and his usual style is a sort of whimsical mildly parodic SF that is clearly influenced by Adams.

Roberts is nowhere near the writer that Adams was, but he doesn't need to be for this. What he *is* good at is functional storytelling, and structure, two things that were among Adams' weaker points. So while he keeps all the plot beats and important scenes from Adams' script, and at least 90% of Adams' dialogue, he fixes at least one big plot hole, completes a sub-plot that Adams seemed to start and then give up on, and provides a lot of back-story and character motivation.

For the most part, Roberts' inventions fit perfectly with the Adams material, to the point where I'd challenge anyone unfamiliar with the source material to say what came from where. And it's still recognisably the same story - the story of Skagra trying to turn the entire universe into his own mind in a Darkseid-like fashion, and of his search for the ancient Time Lord criminal Salyavin, and how the Doctor gets involved with this when visiting his old friend Professor Chronotis at St Cedd's College, Cambridge. Reading it at times does feel spookily like reading a 'new' late-period Adams book - like a third Dirk Gently novel. (The first Dirk Gently novel, of course, used some characters and dialogue from Shada, along with the basic plot of City Of Death).

There are a couple of places where it goes wrong, though. For the most part, Roberts' prose is functional, but he occasionally tries to ape Adams' style, with predictably poor results. Adams' tics are very easy to emulate, the sensibility behind them much less so - Roberts actually feels far more like Adams when he's not copying his prose style but just telling Adams' story.

Also, the jokes Roberts adds in the descriptive passages are nowhere near up to the standard of those in Adams' dialogue, and often descend into an almost Peter Kay like "Remember the late 1970s? Things were slightly different then, weren't they? What's that all about?". The occasional pun (the status quo one stands out in the memory as particularly bad) seems to be put in more because this is 'a Douglas Adams book' and therefore has to be funny, rather than because it makes any kind of artistic sense.

Even less excusable are the occasional continuity references, thrown in merely in order that people like myself will recognise them - "Wow, the Fourth Doctor mentioned the Rani!" There are quite a few knowing winks to the status of Doctor Who as a national institution, as well, which quite frankly just feel smug (and a rather more forgivable single one acting as a tribute to Adams).

But this is, fundamentally, nit-picking. What we have here is the best actual story Douglas Adams ever wrote for Doctor Who, adapted as well as one could reasonably expect. If it's not as funny, clever, or exciting as it thinks it is, it's still funnier, cleverer and more exciting than it has any right to be given its tortured genesis.

If Amazon allowed half-stars in reviews I'd probably give this three and a half, because it's not going to change anyone's life or make anyone think differently about the world. But it's a very pleasant way to spend a few hours, and that's still worth a lot, so I'll round up to four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable read, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Hardcover)
Having not seen any other versions of this Doctor Who story, I was able to come to Shada with fresh eyes and no overblown expectations. Thankfully, that let me see it for exactly what it is: a really great Doctor Who adventure.

It is of course based on the scripts and some of the filmed material for Shada by Douglas Adams, and the dialogue is therefore as funny and quirky as you would expect, while the story is suitably mad and slightly ridiculous. But it would be foolish to ignore Gareth Robert's contribution to the story. He makes the descriptions (that are his obviously own and not Adams') sing and sparkle and entertain, while still writing with great respect for Adams and mirroring his (almost) unique storytelling style.

On top of this great story, there are also nice little continuity references for the fans, including a delightfully surprising mention of fellow rogue Time Lord the Corsair, only created by Neil Gaiman in his 2011 TV episode. While I expect that many people will come to this book with knowledge of its troubled history and production problems, I urge you to out all that to one side, and see it simply as a brilliant and brand new adventure for the Fourth Doctor, Romana and K-9.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A slice of sunny late '70s nostalgia, as warm as Douglas Adams' wit, 16 May 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Hardcover)
At last Shada emerges from its own time capsule, ironically like some of the characters in the story itself: frozen in time, because it never made the TV screen owing to a strike at BBC TV centre back in 1979.

Shada was the third of three stories to be penned by the late, great Douglas Adams for the original Doctor Who TV series. This novelisation by Gareth Roberts does the near-impossible job of satisfying three different audiences: fans of the original (classic) Doctor Who Series; fans of the new TV series and of course Douglas Adams fans.

As someone who grew up with Tom Baker as 'my Doctor' ; Lalla Ward and K9 as 'my companions' this novelisation was a real treat. My first recollections of Doctor Who are the 1979-1980 season - of which Shada was intended to be the finale. Gareth keeps true to the spirit of the original series, so much so you can hear Tom's rich baritone voice in his dialogue booming out from the pages; along with Lalla's haughty observations and K9's nasal pedantry. Along with that you have the wit and dry humour for which Douglas Adams is legendary, and the grafting on of issues that would have been taboo back in 1979 - such as the sexuality of one of the incidental characters. All 3 are done with such aplomb by Gareth that you never doubt for one moment that all 3 sets of readers will be happy with this book.

Some of you may recall the sparkling dialogue between Romana and the Doctor, whilst punting on the Cam,in the 20th anniversary story - The Five Doctors. To date, this is the only part of Shada to make it onto the small screen. The book continues in a similar vein, along with observations about 1970's fashions, early pub closing times, wry observations about the (lack of) a gay scene in Cambridge, polluting 1970's motor cars and simply the narrative of a gentler, simpler time when the sun shone in October and the world moved at a simpler and slower rate. Reading this book is like being transported back in time to 1979 Cambridge, along with its gentle sights and sounds.

Reading this book also made you realise that Douglas had an imagination far bigger than the TV series could have hoped to realise successfully- at the time. Perhaps the irony of not making it to the TV screen is that we can imagine the Kraags, Shada, Skagra in all their evil abomination without the limitations of the BBC Doctor Who budget of the late 1970s. The concepts in the story are of course ones which Adams fans will recognise - a talking computer, galatic criminals held in suspension, and of course an evil meglomaniac out to cause mischief- the staple diet of Doctor Who adventures. The story is ahead of its time too, as the villain Skagra, wants to take over the universe not by conventional means, but by absorbing the thoughts and minds of all sentinent beings in the universe. It seems odd we are seriously contemplating this as (an earthy) reality now in 2012!

In the hands of Gareth Roberts, he takes both the scripts and the actors' ad-libs from the TV rehearsals, and gives a novelisation worthy of the imagination that went into the original story by Douglas in the first place. The result is a masterpiece, like Douglas' other major contribution - City of Death - greater than the sum of its parts.

Is there a negative about this story? None, other than it is a shame it has never made it to the TV screen. At what price - a TV remake for the 50th anniversary in 2013? Now that the new series production team has a budget and talent to match the huge imagination that was Douglas Adams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting tribute to Douglas Adams, 18 Mar 2012
By 
D. Harris (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Hardcover)
Here, at last, after 30 years, is a finished version of "Shada", the "Doctor Who" adventure by Douglas Adams that was never finished (a strike at the BBC interrupted filming, although bits were used in the later "The Five Doctors" to cover for Tom Baker's absence from that).

Gareth Roberts has done a stunning job, returning to the latest notes and versions that Adams left and, as he says in a helpful postscript, having had the luxury of time to complete what Adams was writing in a rush.

I've always been cautious about written versions of Who and never convinced that they work as well as on TV, but Roberts (and Adams, of course!) show here that it's possible. Whether considered as a Doctor Who adventure alongside all the others (including the 21st century revival) or simply as a compelling story, this book succeeds - both bring to life the characters of the Fourth Doctor and Romana and also providing foils in Clare, Colin, and Professor Chronatis, who are swept in their wake (as well as a truly megalomaniac villain).

It's also possible to see aspects of Adams' other fiction reflected here (slightly irritating talking spaceships, bad stuff that might happen with airlocks and much more - it's fun to watch out for this.)

Overall, an enjoyable read, I'd have thought a must for those who are Doctor Who or Douglas Adams fans (or both).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Familiarity..., 4 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Kindle Edition)
Boasting several very Douglas Adamsish set pieces, "Shada" is a well-wriiten book, doing a very diligent job at capturing both late 1970s Doctor Who and the style of Douglas Adams. The thing is, Gareth Roberts has captured this era of Doctor Who better (particularly in his "The Romance of Crime" and "The English Way of Death") as it does feel like he was tip-toeing on creative eggshells while producing this novelisation. It seems ever so slightly stilted on occasions, straight-jacketed into the constraints of satisfying three different (although not mutually exclusive) audiences: Douglas Adams fans, Old (or "classic") Who fans and New (Russell T Davies/Steven Moffat era) Who fans. Broadly, the book works as it gives each audience rewards for persevering, it is solid and well-told - but it doesn't ever move on from what it is: a labour of love. And, judging from Roberts' own comments in the book, that love was somewhat laboured at times - unlike his own stories based on this period in Doctor Who's history: they positively sing with his joy at writing for the characters he loves, here the joy is muted. There is joy but it's not sung aloud with relish, rather it is polite, even a little restrained.
There is another issue for this reader: Shada may never have been finished but it has appeared as an animated webcast and a VHS VCR with linking narration (courtesy of one Tom Baker); it inspired chunks of the first Dirk Gently book and, consequently, is something many are already reasonably familiar with. Consequently, there is little in the novel which is truly new and fresh. Not a bad thing in itself, just something to be aware of. It's a little like seeing one of those West End musicals based on a favourite film: the story is one you know, there are no major surprises but your interest is held throughout with occasional embellishments in the reinterpretation.
Gareth Roberts' take on "Shada" does not provoke contempt through its familarity. Neither does it invoke shocks or surprises through invoking something new; it will never set the literary world on fire but it will always have its place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining story, narrated well by Lalla Ward, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Audio CD)
This review is about the quality of the audiobook. Others have written about the quality of the story, and I have to agree with them: respectful to the source material of Douglas Adams, and genuinly both funny and horrible (in the sense of "duck behind the sofa as I don't want to see that happening)

Read those reviews if you want to learn more about the novel - far better than I could have written!

Here, I thought I ought to say a few words about this CD edition, in case anyone was interested in listening to the book rather than reading it for themselves.

First things first - as I write this review, the Amazon listing has a mistake. It is described as 4 cds and unabridged. It is unabridged, but you get TEN cds. So don't worry - you won't be getting an abridged version!

Now for the story. I have listened to a number of audio books, and the vast majority of them are just a single voice for the duration. Here is a bit different: firstly, Lalla Ward (who played the second Romana on Doctor Who) is accompanied by John Leeson as K9. The second difference is the addition of sound effects. This ranges from the mundane, like footsteps on gravel, to the bizarre, such as the indistinct voices from a strange sphere.

And you know what? It works. It serves to act as a sort of "grounding" to the setting, and it does aid the imagination.

But the big question is - how does Lalla Ward do as a narrator? She provides distinct voices to all the characters, and it is easy to tell who is who. Her voice, when providing the words that a male character speaks, does not sound out of place.

With one exception: Tom Baker's distinctive sonorous voice.

She tries, she really does. There are times when I could almost hear The Doctor's voice coming through, and at those times it works well. Unfortunately there are equally as many times when it just sounds like Lalla is putting on an odd deep voice. But providing you can get over that distraction, the story doesn't suffer.

Tom Baker was asked if he wanted to narrate the book, but he declined. However, Lalla Ward did agree, and having her narrate is no bad thing - she is a direct link back to the original television story that never was. I was thinking that it might have been better to have had Jon Culshaw provide Tom Baker's bits, but then that could have ended up as more a parody of the story.

Anyway, if the reviews of the book have whetted your appetite and you are now just deciding whether or not to get the book or audio version, I don't think you'll be disappointed with either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars `Tea?', 'Oh thanks!', 'Milk?', `Oh yes, please', `One lump or two', `Two please', `Sugar?', 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Hardcover)
WOW!!! This book is big! Really, seriously! `Shada' the novelisation is one big, BIG book! I hadn't expected it to be as big as this!

I persuaded myself to purchase the book after enjoying listening to the Big Finish audio drama of 'Shada' so much with Paul McGann. I became fond and interested in `Shada' in an instant. When I became aware of this book's existence, I said `well, why not?!' And why not indeed, since it's such a relishing story and I would like to read more of it. When I got it in the post, I was expecting it to be a thin spine book that wouldn't be such a weight. Imagine my surprise when I opened the package, I think I nearly dropped it. It's ginormous! It's like holding `The Worshipful and Ancient Law of Gallifrey' itself! It even feels and smells like `The Worshipful and Ancient Law of Gallifrey' itself!

Gareth Roberts who novelised Douglas Adams' scripts has put in so much detail and so much information that makes the world of `Shada' and `Doctor Who' altogether so expansive and delectable! This isn't your typical Target novelisation. This is actually a lot more detailed and informative than any other story I've encountered. More than the 'Black Orchid' novelisation really. I didn't think I was going to have time to read this! But thankfully I did, and I enjoyed reading every page of every chapter in this story!

Douglas Adams who wrote the original TV scripts, didn't novelise this nor the other stories he did for `Doctor Who' such as 'The Pirate Planet' and 'City of Death'. In fact, he wouldn't allow anyone else to novelise his stories for him. Terrance Dicks was kept out of the picture on this one. I'm sure Douglas would have liked to novelise his stories in prose form, but he was working on some many other things such as 'The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy' and the 'Dirk Gently' novels that he didn't have time to novelise his `Doctor Who' work. But thankfully many years later in 2012, Gareth Roberts, with kind permission from the Douglas Adams estate, novelised the lost story of `Shada' altogether. And Gareth is the perfect guy to write up the original TV scripts and turn it into a novel, since he's a really clever comedic writer and has written Douglas Adams-styled stories with Tom Baker's Doctor and Romana during the 90s in the Missing Adventures novel series such as 'The Romance of Crime' and 'The English Way of Death'.

`Shada' was originally a TV story for Tom Baker and Lalla Ward made in 1979, but never got completed due to strike action. I think it's clear and known that Douglas Adams wasn't happy with the `Shada' scripts he wrote for TV. All but him were upset that `Shada' never made it to completion. Douglas was relieved the story never got made as he considered it so bad. And to be fair, he has got a point. Sometimes the TV version and even the Big Finish audio story does have scenes that seem rather rushed and hadn't been well structured enough. Douglas didn't even have enough time to perfect the story he wanted before it went into production. It's surprising to think `Shada' isn't as good as many claim it to be beforehand. Perhaps it's a blessing `Shada' never got made, as we wouldn't be celebrating the legacy it has now and created this mystique and intrigue around it.

But `Shada' is a story that's well cherished and never ignored by fans and those who were making it. Even John Nathan-Turner went to the trouble of getting it released on video, much to Douglas Adams' annoyance. So what Gareth Roberts has done here is re-created a new version of `Shada' from scratch, still keeping to its groundwork and plot structure, and has reworked scenes and structure to make it more compatible and clear some of the inconsistences that were going on in the story. He resolves plot holes and unanswered questions that occur in the story. Also Gareth provides more humour than there originally was in the actual story, making it more of a tickly-funny Douglas Adams story with plenty of delicious embellishments, wonderful dialogue and lovely humour. After reading it, it does feel like a good cup of tea or a French meal.

This of course is based on the original 'Shada' with Tom Baker as the Doctor, not Paul McGann. I rather prefer Paul McGann's version of `Shada' really since it fits in with the continuity of the `Doctor Who' universe. But it's still nice to read and listen to this novel with Tom Baker in mind as the original Doctor for this story. I'm sure everything that goes on in this novel can still apply to the Paul McGann version of this story and someone else can novelise it to those standards. Perhaps I might novelise the Paul McGann version myself one day.

I like how this book is divided into six episodes, with Part One, Part Two, Part Three, etc., dividing the book up among its 75 chapters. 75! I know! As I said, this book is ginormous.

I read this book along with the audiobook with narration provided by Lalla Ward who plays Romana and John Leeson providing the voice of K9. Now if you think `Shada' the book is ginormous, imagine how many CDs there were to this audiobook. There are 10 CDs accompanying this story. Not 4 CDs! 10! 10 CDs! I couldn't believe it. This story's much bigger and longer than the sum of its parts.

I don't know how long Lalla took to read this story to be put on these 10 lavish CDs, but it must have been more than 2 days and over. Lalla provides a refreshing and enjoyable narration of this story. I liked some of the voices she provides to many of the characters such as Professor Chronotis, Chris Parsons and even Skagra. The Ship's computer was amusing to listen to who sounds like a seductive yet deranged young girl when Lalla does it. I don't think she gets Tom Baker's voice right, but she's still a good narrator. I remember chatting to Lalla Ward when I met her last year in Slough at a convention and amusingly stated there are so many versions of `Shada' that it's hard to decide which is the right one. But they're still good, all versions of `Shada' concerned.

And it's also lovely to hear K9 in this, who's actually voiced by John Leeson himself. John Leeson is K9 perfection and it feels right that he occasionally slips into voice K9 during the story whenever that cute robot dog has any dialogue. It makes the story more reassuring and enjoyable and keeps the reader/listener in check when there are moments that divert from the main narration provided by Lalla.

Everything I love about `Shada' is here more or less in this book. I'm pleased they've still got the `Tea?', `Oh yes, please', `One lump or two', `Two please', `Sugar?' joke in the book. My best mate from school, who knows how obsessive I am about `Shada', knows how much I love that joke and is like 'I've heard it so many times already!' which is funny. When he found I had this book, he opened it and looked through the page and found the joke instantly which made me laugh and got him like 'Oh no! Not again! I've heard it some many times!' He thinks it's funny, it's just the way I sometimes keep on telling it that gets him under his skin.

There are certain highlights in this novelisation that stand out in making the story of `Shada' work. One of these highlights is the reveal of Salyavin. Now I don't know about you, but I thought it was rather giving the game away both in TV and the Big Finish audio where Chronotis said, `Here I am! I'm Salyavin!' Gareth Roberts rectifies this by building it up towards `Part Five's' cliffhanger in the novel. We're made to think Salyavin has escaped and Skagra's groveling on the floor like a deranged child and the Doctor's patting him on the back saying `Never mind Skagra! Never mind!' Then when Chris comes in and immediately blurts out, pointing at Chronotis, `It's him! The Professor! He's not the Professor! He's Salyavin!' It seems more effective and more dramatic to have that build up and tension in the novel rather than just giving oneself away as Chronotis did in the original.

Which leads me onto talking about one of Gareth Roberts' quite amusing and pretty rude moments in the book. It's when Skagra opens the cabinet Salyavin was meant to be in on Shada and he's not there. Instead of there being nothing, there's a message on a sheet of paper pinned on where the body should have been. And it includes a really horribly V sign and really horribly rude swear word in old high Gallifreyan (the ancient language of the Time Lords). In the book, it's translated `HA! HA! HA! ____ YOU! LOVE SALYAVIN! X' I found it very funny when Skagra gets shocked and goes `No! NO!!!' and falls on his hands and knees. It's a pretty rude moment and it's done in the amusing way Gareth knows how Douglas may have done had he written this novel. The rudeness goes to extremes when Chris reveals Chronotis' identity as Salyavin and the Doctor lets out a rude word in annoyance. I won't write this down, well I can't since it's hard to write in this review. But I imagine it sounds like...no! I won't say it! `"Oh ____" said the Doctor.' We can all imagine what foul language Tom Baker would use if we know him.

I love what Gareth Roberts has done in developing the relationship between Chris Parsons and Clare Keightley. I think it's clear these two were obviously in a relationship together, but it never been fully explored in the story on TV. But Gareth Roberts takes this on and develops it further to greater effect. He adds a new element in the relationship where Clare's annoyed with Chris for not expressing his feelings to her and she's on the verge of leaving Cambridge forever to go to America. The characters of Chris and Clare are greatly developed upon and I love how they're more fleshed out as a characters in their reactions to the adventure they have in `Shada'. I found it very touching and heartwarming moment towards the end when Chris declares to Clare, `I love you! I love you, Clare Keightley!', and Clare is relieved on hearing him say that.

There are some new scenes which Gareth has added into the story. I liked the moment when K9 stops the Doctor and Romana from sending a telepathic message to the Time Lords through a paper cube by using his nose laser to shoot it; and K9 and Chris persuading them to handle the crisis themselves following Chronotis' death. I also liked the scenes with Chris where he takes a bath in the TARDIS swimming pool which was seen in 'The Invasion of Time'. Also when the Doctor and Chris are with Chronotis towards the very end and they're on the beach-like planet Dronid and the Doctor explaining to Chris all the unanswered questions in `Shada' and constantly butting in before Chronotis can speak. The dialogue's much sharper and fresher than before providing more depth to the characters and some of the scenes have been reworked to greater effect than before on TV and audio.

At the end of the book, there's an 'Afterwood' by Gareth Roberts who provides an insightful account on how he came to write this book and what the writing process was like with reference to Douglas Adams. There's also from 'Acknowledgements' from Gareth Roberts as well to the people who helped him make this book.

I've become a big fan of `Shada' following reading this extraordinary big book. I still love the Big Finish audio of `Shada' with Paul McGann, but I equally have enjoyed this tremendous book that provides more insight into the story supported by Lalla Ward narrating and K9 popping in on the audiobook CDs. Gareth Roberts has done himself proud in novelising this story.

I highly recommend reading this book. It's not disappointing. It's pretty long, but if you love a really good and cherishing story such as this, you can't go wrong! `Shada' the book is excellent! Truly amazing! I can't tell you how much I enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like meeting an old friend, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Kindle Edition)
What can I say? No, it's not quite the full Douglas, but so much fun, and Gareth Roberts does a superb job in bringing Shada to life. I loved it, and I can see me returning to this frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Paperback)
Fantastic novel all it needs now is for BBC Books to get the four remaining TV stories published and we will have the complete set of Classic Doctor Who TV Novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It has a bouquet, 2 Oct 2012
By 
Stevos (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Shada (Kindle Edition)
There are books that I look forward to reading, but there are very few books that actually get me excited these days. Not like how I used to really look forward to reading books when I was a child.
Well here is a book that should have been written when I was a child, wasn't, but still gave me the frisson of anticipation when it was released this year.

Between the ages of 8 and 18, I absolutely loved Target's Doctor Who books. When I was 10-11, I I devoured them. I was off school for 3 months with glandular fever. Bored? Not a bit of it. I just had loads more time to blast my way through the massive back catalogue of brilliant adventure stories, written by Terrance Dicks, Ian Marter, Barry Letts, Malcolm Hulke et al.

I really enjoyed reading Shada. Gareth Roberts has made an excellent job of creating a very readable novel out of what must have been a collection of bits: a shooting script, the completed sections of the tv programme and of course Tom Baker's own linking narration on the early-90s video release.

It's great to read an adventure of the Fourth Doctor again. The author really captures the fun and the excitement of Tom Baker's era. There was definitely something special about Doctor 4 and his pairing with Lalla Ward's Romana. That relationship is bottled and served like a good wine (not a table wine, no!) in Shada. The villain, Skagra, whilst being as cartoony on the page as he was in the TV version, is still a good nemesis for the Doctor, and gives the Time Lord lots of scope to crack jokes and deliver put downs.

I haven't been able to get interested in the books that have written for Doctors 9, 10 and 11, so this is the first new Doctor Who novel that I've been able to read and enjoy in years.

We just need Gareth Roberts to novelize The Pirate Planet and City of Death now please :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Shada
Doctor Who: Shada by Gareth Roberts (Paperback - 31 Jan 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews