Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basic book
Making individual personal gifts for friends and family is a thing that many dream of doing, but either a perceived lack of time or ability often seem to get in the way. This latest little BBC GoodFood book manages to pack 101 different recipes (or should one call them methods) of packaging food-related ingredients into pretty, personalised gifts, that would bring a...
Published on 30 Mar 2012 by I. Darren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars but this was only small so I was a little disappointed. The recipes are good
I was expecting an A4 book, but this was only small so I was a little disappointed. The recipes are good. The service was fast and efficient.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. C. J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basic book, 30 Mar 2012
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
Making individual personal gifts for friends and family is a thing that many dream of doing, but either a perceived lack of time or ability often seem to get in the way. This latest little BBC GoodFood book manages to pack 101 different recipes (or should one call them methods) of packaging food-related ingredients into pretty, personalised gifts, that would bring a smile to every recipient.
Unlike many "do-it-yourself" gift books, those provided within this book manage to mix traditional and modern into a harmonious form that does not look twee or something from a 1950′s school project. Some of the simpler gifts could be produced in minutes, perhaps spending more time on the packaging and presentation than on the actual development and preparation of the contents. And this is no complaint either.
Recipes range from "modern traditionals" such as spiced beetroot and orange chutney, quince jam and a Seville marmalade to a more unique, modern form such as chestnuts in spiced syrup or lavender sugar. The rich coloured pages provide inspiration galore to the casual browser who is stuck for an idea about what to gift. Of course, there is no rule saying that you cannot indulge yourself either, perhaps in the guise of a "recipe test" or two...
One complaint raised by some is that many of these recipes may be found on the publisher's web site and/or in their published magazines, but this need not be a problem. The books in the BBC GoodFood series are very reasonably priced and in many ways easier to browse and seek inspiration from instead of just clicking through a series of web pages and looking on screen. This reviewer loves storing recipes on computer and using an iPad to display them but still you cannot beat a series of beautiful pictures held in your hand for inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book, full of inspiration, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
I own a few of the BBC Good Food recipe books and when I flicked through this one I was a little disappointed to find that I recognised a few of the recipes from the 101 Chocolate Treats book. Personally I would have expected all of the recipes to have been unique - just a small issue, but perhaps one to be aware of.

Looking past this minor niggle and I am actually very pleased with this book. I expected it all to be sweet treats such as cakes and biscuits, but was happy to see there is much more variation. There is a large section on chutneys and jams - these were not something I'd really tried making before, but there are lots of inspiring recipes here and I've already made the red onion marmalade (for myself!) and it came out well. There is also a small section on drinks, such as elderflower cordial.

The sweeter recipes are also great and include things such as homemade chocolate fudge, blackcurrant jelly pastilles, peppermint lollipops and a range of cookies and cupcakes. I have found most of the recipes easy to follow so this book should be suitable for beginners. I have already made the cherry shortbread hearts which were well received and I can't wait to make more creations from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Value for Money, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
This book has some great ideas for gifts, and a variety of recipes listed under the following headings: Jams, chutneys & conserves; Gourmet gifts; Old-fashioned treats; Presents for chocoholics; Speacial occassions; and Christmas. My only gripe with this book is that I think I can find all the recipes online at the bbc good food website, but it is handy to have recipes suitable for gift-giving all in one place with this book. The recipes within are all fairly basic, and nothing terribly out-of-the-box, but for the tiny amount of money I paid I don't mind at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does as the cover says, 14 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
great little book crammed with ideas,really easy to follow recipes. whether you are an experienced cook or a beginner theres something for everyone.i have made several of the recipes inc the green tomato chutney which i also adapted into a spicy red tomato chutney, i have the triple choc cupcake kit in mind for a christmas fair i am attending and i think my stepdad will love the baked camembert kit for christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tried and tested....., 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
I bought this for ideas on what to make to put in my family's home made hampers. I have made a couple of the chutneys but a lot of the recipes don't tell me how long they will last, which was no good as i needed to make some well in advance as I wouldn't have a lot of time nearer Christmas. So i was limited in what i could pick as i didn't want to poison anyone ! I can say though that the Pineapple, Fig and Ginger Chutney was particularly nice.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book with lovely photos and good selection of gifts., 21 Oct 2012
By 
J. Nicholl "James and Aeryn's Mum" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
I like these books as there is a photo on every page and each recipe has been triple tested so you are unlikley to get one that doesn't work. There is a good selection of gifts in the book from preserves, sweets, biscuits, alcoholic gifts and savouries. The recipes mainly use simple ingredients that are easy to come by and not too many - I hate these annoying books that want you to buy something expensive and hard to find just to put a "pinch" in bowl. Nice book to give you some ideas for foody gifts and book itself would make a good gift too. Although there is a good selection most of the ideas are ones I have seen before, if it had had a few more new or different recipes then it would have had 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy with this little book, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
lovely and handy book with lots of great ideas, recipes and nice pictures. great if you like giving foodie presents to your friends. would definitely buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Gem, 31 Mar 2012
By 
Mrs. J. M. Foster (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
Brilliant book, loads of recipe ideas and most are easy to make but look very impressive in little cellophane bags or gift boxes. Easily adaptable recipes as well, I love to experiment in the kitchen. My favourite recipe has got to be the mint chocolate truffles (just 4 ingredients!) you can have them plain, or even add orange or vanilla essence instead of mint. Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no surprise, lovely book, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
I have other books from this series and I was delighted to find something I could use to bake some christmas gifts.Recepies are easy to follow, very well explained and there are some excellent gifts ideas: I personally chose four of this recepies for little gift boxes of treats to give to friends.I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books)) (Paperback)
A good selection of items that will not only serve as gifts but quickly become regular items to make for your own store cupboard such as the beet root relish and the pineapple chutney!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Food: Delicious Gifts: Triple-tested Recipes (GoodFood (BBC Books))
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews