Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it., 17 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
I adore Doctor Who, especially the recent two series, and I hadn't bothered to investigate the novels till very recently. I bought three of them in a deal to read during a week holiday; Hunters Moon, Night of the Humans and this book, Dead of Winter. I was immediately absorbed, I read all three during the week, and I enjoyed them all, but this was by far my favourite.

The narrative came across a little causally for my taste at first, but this feeling didn't last for very long at all. I like my narrative to be dark, complex, and thick with difficult observations and descriptions. But this is written from the character's POV so naturally and easily that it flows like water, and even though it is easily read, the observations are strange, intelligent and twist your expectations brilliantly. It is fun, exciting and and a great insight into Amy, the Doctor and Rory's inner monologue. The overall plot seemed a bit loose at times, but that is more than made up for in its character exploration and plot twists. I put down the book on the plane back home at 2am, smiling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great atmosphere and story, but disjointed narrative, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. Chris Jarvis "holdmykidney" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really entertaining Who yarn. A perfect, creepy setting in an era little explored by Who fiction with a great cast of characters. I thoroughly recommend it.

There is a downside, however. The author has chosen to narrate the story through daily journal extracts and letters penned by the various characters. This does provide an interesting multi-narrator view on the action, but it does begin to stretch credibility as the pace of action and events increases. It left me wondering when these characters were supposed to have taken a moment aside from the horror to pen their thoughts in a journal. The style of these also slips between personal commentary and standard narrative in places. These journals are a device which should probably have been used more sparingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead of Winter is one of the best Doctor Who books that I've ever come across, 13 July 2011
By 
Mr. K. Mahoney "Kevin Mahoney" (Punked Books, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
One of the first signs that something different is happening here is that a great many of the novel's chapters are written in the first person, which provides an excellent insight into the minds of our favourite characters from an unusual perspective (with perplexing memory loss as an added ingredient for the TARDIS crew, a device that elegantly reduces the risk of any spoilers to zero). Dead of Winter is set in 18th century Italy, so it's quite appropriate that much of the novel is written in the form of letters, as the epistolary novel was very much in vogue at this time. James Goss also makes full use of the fact that this is a novel to play a few tricks on us regarding the identity of various characters, which works very well in prose, but couldn't happen on TV.

Once again, there's an adrift alien at the heart of the mystery, which is a trope that Steven Moffat's Doctor Who seems to like revisiting. Dead of Winter`s also very much in keeping with the current run of Doctor Who novels with regards to its casual references to British popular culture, and for a having a child at the core of the story. There's also a lovely nod to the TV series, as Dr. Smith tells Maria (the aforementioned child, who's been abandoned by her mother) his secret name... Which all leads to a rather lovely and ingenious twist in the plot. James Goss also has some rather nice references to Amy Pond's menage a trois with Rory and the Doctor in the TV series. Also, very much in keeping with my view of the current series, Rory expresses some misgivings about the Doctor's methods, as he investigates just how Dr. Bloom is curing patients with TB over a century ahead of time... In an addition to this, there's quite a few doppelgangers hanging around, which adds to the drama and the mystery, although (fortunately enough) they're not of the `ganger' variety. There's another echo with the current series with regards to a deadly incident that very much affects the Doctor... And, I don't know, with all the fog, the duplicates, and the sea, James Goss may also be harking back to the Horror of Fang Rock from the classic series of Doctor Who. James Goss certainly knows his stuff, as he should do, since he's run the BBC's Doctor Who website. However, there's not a hint of nepotism in Albert DePetrillo's commissioning of this book, since James Goss is a damn fine writer whose novel has been published on its own sublime literary merits. Indeed, James Goss' Dead Air achieved the mighty accolade of Audiobook of the Year of the year in 2010, which is a very mighty achievement for a Doctor Who book. In addition to this, James Goss writes a blog called The Agatha Christie Reader, and his love of her work also finds its way into Dead of Winter via some subtle asides. What complicates things even further is the disappearance of the TARDIS, which turns out to be due to a little used facility of the Doctor's time vessel... And there's the rather neat revelation that the Doctor doesn't actually speak English! Who are the mysterious ghostly figures that rise up from the sea and dance with the patients on the shore? And why does Prince Boris' manservant have a habit of floating inches from the ground? You'll find out all this and more in the rather excellent Dead of Winter, which is far more fantastically lively and thrilling than its title would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mediterranean mistrise, 28 May 2011
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
An original Doctor Who novel, telling an all new story for the Eleventh Doctor - plus companions Amy and Rory - which hasn't been told before in any other medium.

The characterisation of the three main characters is spot on and you can easily imagine the actors who play them saying the dialogue.

The book runs for two hundred and fifty five pages. And it's divided into many short chapters, the majority of which run from a single page to three to five.

It's suitable for readers of all ages but there are some rather dark and emotional moments so I would advise parental discretion for the under tens.

The story sees the TARDIS crash land near a sanitorium in eighteenth century Italy. A place where people from across Europe with tuberculosis are under the care of a Doctor who is pioneering a new treatment into their condition. One that involves taking in an awful lot of sea air.

The TARDIS crew are experiencing some memory loss and thus aren't sure why they are there or of a few things about themselves. But dark things are happening here that shouldn't be taking place, and threaten the course of history. And some very painful choices are going to have to be made...

This breaks the usual format for these books in just having one single narration in that each chapter is told from a different point of view. The Doctor Amy and Rory all get their go, but other supporting characters in the book do as well. The bulk of them are in the form of letters that a young girl who is at the place has written to her mother in Paris.

This is initially a little slow to get going but that's because of the memory loss for the TARDIS crew and the slow reveal of what's happening via careful investigation.

There are some very big plot surprises to be had, and this book does manage to wrong foot the reader right up to the very end.

But key to it are some intriguing moral dilemmas. The goings on aren't the work of any out and out evil villains. Everyone involved has very believable motivations that will give you pause for thought.

It also does the relationship between the Doctor and his two companions exceptionally well, not shying away from tackling how Rory feels about the Doctor and his relationship with Amy.

An absorbing read that constantly surprises and makes you think and does the characters well, this is one of the best in this range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all books from doctor who are amazing - this one is different and is told through ..., 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
all books from doctor who are amazing - this one is different and is told through diary accounts, but still a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead of Winter, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
I loved the perspectives used as it gives the plot more depth and we can see it in the eyes of Amy, the girl Maria, Rory's and Dr. Blooms. being the main views that remain constant.

I loved the end plot twist, it was surprising to say the least. But I won't reveal it. the use of the characters involved was well thought out, even if they are in minor roles but they all had a part to play.

I couldn't put it down, I read it in one day and enjoyed it, this book is one of my favorites of the Matt Smith's era as Doctor. I ordered it on my kindle and it was worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the beach today...you'll be in for a big surprise!, 13 Jun. 2011
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
I was pleasantly surprised by this latest Doctor Who novel in the BBC range. The story is comprised of letters, journals and recollections from those involved with the events taking place on the French beach. Something alien is waiting in the sea but, for once, it is not the enemy! You'll have to read the book to learn who the real foe is facing the Doctor, Amy and Rory. Ah, but which Amy is real? Again, all is not as it seems and then there is the neat little twist right at the end...you probably won't see that one coming...?
Readers of the very first Doctor Who novel published by Muller way back in 1964 as a hardback entitled 'Doctor Who - In an exciting adventure with the Daleks', which was subsequently republished by Armada in the latter 60's,Target Books in the 70's and BBC Books in July 2011 as 'Doctor Who and The Daleks', will be aware of the story being told in first person. This is how Dead of Winter is produced and adds to its interest.
I certainly recommend this read to young and old alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Dead of Winter, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Dead of Winter (Hardcover)
'The Dead are not alone. There is something in the mist and it talks to them.'

In a remote clinic in 18th-century Italy, a lonely girl writes to her mother. She tells of pale English aristocrats and mysterious Russian nobles. She tells of intrigues and secrets, and strange faceless figures that rise from the sea. And she tells about the enigmatic Mrs Pond, who arrives with her husband and her physician.

What she doesn't tell her mother is the truth that everyone knows and no one says - that the only people who come here do so to die.

A thrilling, all-new adventure featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Doctor Who novels ever, 4 July 2012
By 
Alex (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
You may look at this book and realise it's in the more children orientated Doctor Who book series, and some of those have been disappointing (I never finished reading Doctor Who: Paradox Lost, for example) but this one couldn't be better. It is written in a way that I couldn't put down, and though it can be a little confusing at times, it really is a must buy for any Doctor Who fan. The only other book that meets this standard (and which I also thoroughly recommend - I also couldn't put this down) is Doctor Who: Touched by an Angel. Go ahead and get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Dead of Winter
Doctor Who: Dead of Winter by James Goss (Hardcover - 28 April 2011)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews