Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast pacing story...
I was very impressed with Hunter's Moon probably because the way the story was told it felt like something like the events described could happen. An ex-policeman, his wife and child are kidnapped and transported to an alien world where they are forced to endure horrific confrontations. The whole concept sent shivers down my spine. The Doctor and his companions seemed...
Published on 25 July 2011 by Bryan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Space 1899
An interesting book, if only for the fact that the writer doesn't seem to have heard of Doctor Who or seen a recent episode. The plot and language would seems to have came from a 19th or early 20th century novel, while the doctor, Rory and Amy are without any of the personality or mannerisms recognisable to their characters.

I can only think this was a story...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by Michael Clark


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast pacing story..., 25 July 2011
By 
Bryan (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
I was very impressed with Hunter's Moon probably because the way the story was told it felt like something like the events described could happen. An ex-policeman, his wife and child are kidnapped and transported to an alien world where they are forced to endure horrific confrontations. The whole concept sent shivers down my spine. The Doctor and his companions seemed surplus to the feelings I had for the kidnapped victims - the Doctor, Amy and Rory always get out of scrapes - but here was a group of humans facing something that could only be experienced in nightmares!
Well done, Paul Finch - love to see this book turned into a tv adventure...or would I? Other authors of Doctor Who novels could learn a lot from Mr Finch...in fact, so could the television production team!
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sci-fi romp, a little divorced from Doctor Who, 1 Oct 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
'Hunter's Moon' takes the idea of rich businessmen and ex-soldiers importing big game animals to hunt but gives it a science fiction twist. Thus we get aliens hunting humans for sport. As such there are connotations with such things as 'The Running Man' and 'Battle Royale' which, despite Doctor Who's wide remit feel a little out of place.

It is a bit hard to buy the Doctor as some type of rich-boy, bounty hunter and the author doesn't doesn't manage to sell this convincingly. Perhaps the almost action-hero persona portrayed in this novel would have been better suited to the Doctor's third incarnation. The Eleventh Doctor just seems a little too easy going and comical to pull off acting the role of a killer.

Rory also has a more action orientated role that is hard to associate with him. In fact, all three series regulars don't quite live up to their TV personas. but the other characters of the book are quite detailed and thought out, especially Harry whose motivations convincingly explain his actions as he develops.

The most impressive element of the novel are the aliens. Whereas quite a few Doctor Who alien races seem to lack individuals within them the Torodon can easily been seen as a fully fledged civilisation. There are gangsters, business men, soldiers and civilians all with their own distinctive characters. This helps to provide a variety of convincing villains.

Overall the novel is a well thought out and concieved work of science fiction, despite lacking a bit of originality. However, if you want a Doctor Who story that matches the current series this is probably not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Dropping In, 6 May 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
The Doctor decides to pop in on an old acquaintance on LP9, someone he hasn't seen since his first incarnation. Intending to pop in for a drink and a chat he encourages Amy and Rory to have a look around. It would seem just like a casual time out to relax and enjoy yourself, if things ever went smothly in the Doctor's life.

With Rory managing to gamble and lose the TARDIS, he and the machine are removed from LP9, with Amy in hot pursuit. At the same time on Earth, people are discreetly disappearing, abducted as prey for a deadly game being played on Gorgoron. Will the Doctor ever see his friends, regain the TARDIS, or be able to save anyone - including himself?

In a story full of excitement and adventure, the Doctor is pushed to the limits of his survival and cunning. With Amy forced to wear a skintight cat-suit, this would make a brilliant episode for tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My review, 28 Jan 2013
By 
I enjoyed this book. It was interesting and the characters were well defined, and where appropriate nasty and evil. Other characters were full of compassion and in the case of Harry demise and dispare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good , hard to keep track of names though, 22 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
I have started to read Doctor Who novels though I do prefer the t.v series as I do find it hard to picture what is going on sometimes and it can be very hard to keep track of all the characters when you just have the names which is the case with this book as a lot of the names were very similar and got confusing at times when trying to keep track of the characters. Overall I found it a good book though I did get bored at times. I got this as part of a set from WH Smiths which came with Dead of Winter and the way through the woods for 5 and dead of winter is my favourite one yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Hunter's Moon, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
'There's no end to the horror in this place - it's like Hell, and there are devils round every corner.'

On Leisure Platform 9 gamblers and villains mix with socialites and celebrities. It's a place where you won't want to win the wrong game.

With Rory kidnapped by a brutal crime lord, the Doctor and Amy infiltrate a deadly contest where fugitives become the hunted. But how long before they realise the Doctor isn't a vicious mercenary and discover what Amy is up to? It's a game that can only end in death, and time for everyone is running out.

A thrilling, all-new Doctor Who adventure featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Space 1899, 5 Dec 2011
By 
Michael Clark (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting book, if only for the fact that the writer doesn't seem to have heard of Doctor Who or seen a recent episode. The plot and language would seems to have came from a 19th or early 20th century novel, while the doctor, Rory and Amy are without any of the personality or mannerisms recognisable to their characters.

I can only think this was a story waiting for some vehicle and dr who came along and filled some character slots.

I gave it 2 stars as I really don't like giving anything 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon
Doctor Who: Hunter's Moon by Paul Finch (Hardcover - 28 April 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews