Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Paradox Lost
This novel features the Eleventh Doctor, with Amy and Rory. The Tardis materialises in London in 2789, where an incongruously ancient AI unit has been pulled from the river, and seems to have a message for the Doctor. Can this be related to mysterious deaths that are occurring in London in 1910? And just what can the Doctor do about it?

The story alternates its...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by Keen Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good - I never even finished it
There are some great Doctor Who novels, and there are some pretty rubbish ones. Unfortunately, for me, this falls into the latter category. Although it has the potential for a very interesting plot, it just fails to deliver for me. Unless you've got nothing else to read whatsoever, I would recommend leaving this and instead buying a great Doctor Who novel, like Doctor...
Published on 4 July 2012 by Alex S


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Paradox Lost, 4 Feb 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Paradox Lost (Hardcover)
This novel features the Eleventh Doctor, with Amy and Rory. The Tardis materialises in London in 2789, where an incongruously ancient AI unit has been pulled from the river, and seems to have a message for the Doctor. Can this be related to mysterious deaths that are occurring in London in 1910? And just what can the Doctor do about it?

The story alternates its chapters between 2789, with the Doctor and Professor Angelchrist; and 1910, with Amy and Rory; all trying to find the beginning and ends to a time paradox which may be more costly than any of them could ever have imagined.

This story is a good Doctor Who novel; the writing is fast-paced, and the characters seem true to form, although I have not watched much of the Eleventh Doctor era, being more of a `classic' Doctor Who fan. There is perhaps a bit much of the "Resistance is futile" to-ing and fro-ing, and there never really seems to be a true sense of danger, but you get there in the end. Harmless entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paradox regained, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. K. Mahoney "Kevin Mahoney" (Punked Books, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Paradox Lost (Hardcover)
Paradox Lost is another one of those timey wimey narratives that have proliferated in Doctor Who novels of late. Having landed in the late 28th Century, the Doctor and his companions are confronted by the mangled body of an android, which has been in the Thames for a thousand years. The android warns the Doctor that he must stop Professor Gradius' time experiments, or else a malevolent alien race called the Squall will consume the world. So, the Doctor decides that he must travel back to the early 20th Century to confront the Squall, while entrusting Amy and Rory to stop Gradius' time experiments.

Although the Doctor receives help from a Professor `Angelchrist', I don't think that the plot of Paradox Lost has otherwise much to do with John Milton's epic poem, Paradise Lost, from which George Mann has evidently derived his title. I suppose the demonic Squall could be regarded as being akin to rebel angels. However, since the Doctor is their main adversary, if George Mann was attempting a pastiche of Paradise Lost, then this would mean that the Doctor is a kind of messianic figure in this narrative. Indeed, it's no doubt a truism that the Doctor is a kind of stand-in messiah in our secular age, a distinction that he shares with many other fantastic heroes (although I'd argue that the Doctor is by far the best role model). So although there is a bit of sacred imagery and metaphor employed here, Paradox Lost is by no means a religious narrative, despite the resurrection of one of the characters at the end.

George Mann, appropriately enough, is well versed in Doctor Who. For instance, there is the suggestion, at the end, that the Doctor has gone off on a short jaunt to Totter's Lane to dump off some rubbish, which is a nice subtle reference to the very beginning of the Doctor's televised adventures. In addition to this, there is a gentle hint to the devastation that will be caused by solar flares in the 29th Century, which has featured in several of the Doctor's adventures. George Mann also does a nice line in speculation, as his theory as to why the TARDIS console is made up of bric-a-brac is due to the Doctor having to replace worn out parts with whatever junk he has to hand. Professor Angelchrist would appear to be an early prototype of the Doctor with regards to his UNIT role, albeit he is very much human. The Doctor soon appropriates his motor car however, in another reference to the Pertwee era, since this vehicle is quite akin to that incarnation's favourite roadster, Bessie.

Paradox Lost starts off at a nice even pace, before the middle section really ramps up the action to a pleasing scale. However, I thought that the resolution was a bit uneven in places. The Squall are hell-bent on consuming the Doctor's mind, much like at least one other alien entity in recent Doctor Who novels, so there is a bit of repetition from this point of view which the editor of the book could perhaps have pointed out, although this element is quite integral to the resolution of the plot. George Mann's representation of the Doctor and his companions is mostly excellent and spot on. I very much liked the fact that this wasn't a Star Trek style of temporal paradox narrative, as the great majority of the `people' who die in the book do indeed stay dead (with one sentimental exception). Indeed, it was good to read Rory's anguish at the devastation that he and Amy unwittingly wrought in the book. The paradox itself is of sufficient timey wimieness to satisfy even the most ardent Doctor Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Paradox Lost (Hardcover)
Purchased this item for an avid Dr Who fan. They were delighted with it. Deffinitely a winner for any Dr fan in the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book., 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Paradox Lost (Hardcover)
As a massive doctor who fan. I was not disappointed by this book it's the first one I have read by this author and was great we'll written and very good read easy going and fun, full of adventure and heroics, just what you want from the who. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars paradox lost, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent storyline, keeps you guessing. difficult to put down. most enjoyable, could imagine watching it on the telly. worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good - I never even finished it, 4 July 2012
By 
Alex S (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some great Doctor Who novels, and there are some pretty rubbish ones. Unfortunately, for me, this falls into the latter category. Although it has the potential for a very interesting plot, it just fails to deliver for me. Unless you've got nothing else to read whatsoever, I would recommend leaving this and instead buying a great Doctor Who novel, like Doctor Who: Touched by an Angel or maybe Doctor Who: Dead of Winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who Paradox Lost, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: Paradox Lost (Hardcover)
'The Squall feed on psychic energy. They spread like a plague and if they are not stopped they will strip the Earth clean...'

London 1910: an unsuspecting thief finds himself confronted by grey-skinned creatures that are waiting to devour his mind. London 2789: the remains of an ancient android are dredged from the Thames. When reactivated it has a warning that can only be delivered to a man named 'the Doctor'.

The Doctor and his friends must solve a mystery that has spanned over a thousand years. If they fail, the deadly alien Squall will devour the world.

A thrilling all-new adventure featuring the Doctor, Amy and Rory, as played by Matt Smith, Karen Gillan and Arthur Darvill in the spectacular hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to keep and read again, 16 May 2014
By 
Bluedragonfly "Blue" (Stourport on Severn, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Paradox Lost (Hardcover)
I've been reading the Eleventh Doctor novels recently and some - most - have been 'so so', 'disposable', not something I'd ever pick up and read again. One I couldn't even finish, I thought it was so weak. But THIS - oh, this is the first I've come across that made me think 'Classic'. This I will keep and look forward to re-reading. I will also be trying some of Mann's other books. And I'd love to see more Who by this author. Or, if not, then more Professor Angelchrist books, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to people who have enjoyed the tv series and the doctor who books. It's Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor who, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it read it five times and still not bored of it
Might even read it a seventh time if I'm lucky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Paradox Lost
Doctor Who: Paradox Lost by George Mann (Hardcover - 23 Jun 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews