Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The *new* Doctor Who Encyclopedia...
...is a superb addition to any fan's collection.

It is double the size of the previous edition and packed full of information on characters, storylines etc & has lots of great photo's too.

All of the episodes from "Rose" to "The Wedding of River Song" are covered, as well as the online Adventure Games and charity specials.

This copy has...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Rob

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doctor who enclyclopedia
calling this a doctor who encyclopedia is misleading in my opinion, because it only covers the new series, not the previous 20 plus years of it. as for the book itself, its ok for diving into now and then if you want info on certain characters, but trying to read it from cover to cover would be a chore. trust me i tried, and soon got bored
Published 23 months ago by andrew from llangollen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The *new* Doctor Who Encyclopedia..., 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) (Hardcover)
...is a superb addition to any fan's collection.

It is double the size of the previous edition and packed full of information on characters, storylines etc & has lots of great photo's too.

All of the episodes from "Rose" to "The Wedding of River Song" are covered, as well as the online Adventure Games and charity specials.

This copy has regenerated from its previous incarnation and is so much better for doing so.

Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I bought it twice!, 11 Dec 2007
I bought this for my son for Xmas, but with a last minute birthday party invitation I had to give it away to his friend. When my son saw it he was absolutely rapt and said "I wish I'd put that on my list for Santa". Little does he know that Santa already knew he'd like it and is about to order a replacement for him. ;o) The book itself is nice and big and full of in depth detail which will keep Doctor Who fans engaged for hours. There's lots of full colour illustrations and, as the title suggests, it is laid out like an encyclopedia, so it's easy to look up those facts that may have slipped your mind. Well worth the money (and absolutely essential at £3.99!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, Entertaining, Insightful... need I go on?, 5 July 2008
By 
C. Royston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Given this as a Christmas present, I was not immediately inspired, however I did dip into it and found myself rather hooked!
As a reference book it is wonderful- all those little things that you weren't sure about... all those things you were wondering...
How does that work?
Who was he?
How did he do that?
Which episode did that happen?
What does a Compact Laser Deluxe do? Who had one, and, you know... Where?!
Get all your questions answered and more in this neat, beautifully illustrated guide to the world that is uniquely Doctor Who!
The entire book it dedicated to every useful, and er, not so useful fact that is Doctor who. Who knows what happened in 1336 with the doctor, Rose and Captain Jack? What was the doctor planning for the year 5006 on a Tuesday in October at 6pm? What are the co-ordinates 761390 for?
It's all in this marvelous book! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FILLS IN THOSE MISSING BITS, 15 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A well produced hardback with excellent photographs, visually arresting layout and eminently readable text, THE DOCTOR WHO ENCYLOPEDIA is a worthy addition to any fan's collection. GARY RUSSELL has clearly done his research and the finished result is perfect for the Target Audience which, in theory, must reach into the millions.

Pretty much everything to do with the last three seasons is covered from major characters to major events with direct and indirect references and links, but there's still no avoiding the plot holes, contradictions and contrivances found in most DOCTOR WHO episodes - that sort of thing simply goes with the territory, especially shaky science, which has been elevated to almost art-form status since the show's rebirth. What this encyclopedia attempts to do, however, is fill in some of the more "Eh...?" gaps with solidly thought-out explanations which weren't always made clear in the original broadcasts, the result of (presumably) lazy or fuzzy scriptwriting. As you no doubt already know, Exec Producer RUSSELL T DAVIS is no stranger to this particular phenomenon.

But, hey, now we can all understand the Master's plan for the Toclafane in UTOPIA or the effects of The Paradox Machine from THE LAST OF THE TIME LORDS; the method by which the Weeping Angels steal people's futures from BLINK or how The Beast came to be held captive and the engineering of his subsequent destruction from THE SATAN PIT. Presented in paragraph or short caption form it all appears to make perfect sense now (within some seriously barmy parameters, that is). The introduction even manages to include names or words that might feature in a future revised edition, including Adipose, Rattigan, Mrs (!!), Vespiform...and so on. A neat bit of foreshadowing there, Gary.

Whatever the case, when the time comes, let's ensure this Doctor Who product enjoys a full and happy regeneration.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars doctor who enclyclopedia, 14 Jan 2013
By 
andrew from llangollen (llangollen, north wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) (Hardcover)
calling this a doctor who encyclopedia is misleading in my opinion, because it only covers the new series, not the previous 20 plus years of it. as for the book itself, its ok for diving into now and then if you want info on certain characters, but trying to read it from cover to cover would be a chore. trust me i tried, and soon got bored
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Description- incomplete!!, 5 Nov 2013
By 
BA Bulman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) (Hardcover)
This basically ignores the 40 years of Doctor Who before 2005. It's fine if all you are interested in is the post-2005 stuff. If this was advertised as the Encyclopedia of Doctor Who From 2005 on, I wouldn't mind at all, but it is advertised above as "the ultimate guide to everything and everyone that's ever happened, un-happened and happened again in the worlds and times of the Doctor." This really grates, because it's just quite obviously untrue. It ignores nearly 40 years of Doctor Who!!

Again, it is advertised as being "your complete tour of time and space--from Abaddon and Inspector Abberline to Melody Zucker and the Zygons." But isn't 'complete' at all.

I would only consider getting this if you are not interested in the rich history of a Great British show, and only wish to know about the last 8 years of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who, 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) (Hardcover)
Arrived quickly. The book is packed full of info and nice pictures too. Ideal for a Dr Who fan. Add it to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas as she is a real fan of Dr Who and it was well worth the money. There is lots of information condensed into this volume and it was a lot thicker than the previous version. There were one or two omissions, we could not find any reference to K9 and, of course, a lot of information about the earlier doctors was missing. However, if your child is a fan of the recent episodes made in the 2000's then there is a lot here to keep them happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 27 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) (Hardcover)
My son wanted this for Christmas and it was such a good price with Amazon I bought it early! As always, the service provided by Amazon was superb! Delivery was fast! I can't comment on the book myself really as it is for my son, but it does look very good and, as I said, value for money with Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who fans, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic for all Dr Who fans, comprehensive guide into the series past and present. Recommended and a great read, makes a great Christmas or Birthday present addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition)
Doctor Who Encyclopedia (New Edition) by Gary Russell (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2011)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews