Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, no nonsense reference
I took over my first allotment in the spring. A very neglected, overgrown plot.
As a newbie to the delights of growing your own I wanted a book I could refer to for straightforward, simple advice.

This book hits the mark. It covers all the basics of preparing your plot, tools, how to plant, grow and harvest your own produce in a simple, straightforward...
Published 16 months ago by Kerry L. Turner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
AT has just divided up one of his gardening books into individual sections. If I didn't have other better books on the subject this would be passable but not very inspiring.
Published on 27 Feb. 2013 by gatsby23


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, no nonsense reference, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
I took over my first allotment in the spring. A very neglected, overgrown plot.
As a newbie to the delights of growing your own I wanted a book I could refer to for straightforward, simple advice.

This book hits the mark. It covers all the basics of preparing your plot, tools, how to plant, grow and harvest your own produce in a simple, straightforward manner. It's easy to navigate so you can find what you need quickly.

Alan's style of writing is full of encouragement (believe me, I needed it!) without overcomplicating things.

Over time I have added more books to my collection with more in depth info, but I still reach for this one first when I want a quick no nonsense answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The king of gardening does it again, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
What can I say other than a superb publication from the king of gardening. Here he applies his extensive knowledge to getting the most from your allotment with such enthusiasm you can't wait to get down your plot and start digging and planting! All bases are covered and presented in a way that the complete novice can understand, but also, for the more experienced grower, provides useful info for example if growing a particular vegetable for the first time. This book won't disappoint , thank you Mr T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
Straightforward advice as usual. Simple and easy to follow. Being an allotment gardener for the first time this book has been invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars up the allotment, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
Allans book is full of interesting & essential things i need to know as a first timer on the allotment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alan titchmarsh garden allotment book, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
this book is good for times to plant out and when to plant veg and in good as new thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was recommended this book and it's brilliant so many tips and ..., 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
We have just got our first allotment and was after some ideas on what to plant etc! Was recommended this book and it's brilliant so many tips and good ideas also it's very easy to understand and follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so this is a good replacement. He writes in a very understanding way, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
very help full book, I lent out my little book by Alan, i'd had it for years it still hasn't found it's way back, so this is a good replacement. He writes in a very understanding way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
AT has just divided up one of his gardening books into individual sections. If I didn't have other better books on the subject this would be passable but not very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for Dad, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
Bought for Dad as a birthday present, he's just got himself an allotment so thought that this would be a good start for him, he's read it cover to cover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good,,, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening (Paperback)
Bought this for my daughter,who has just got an allotment,,She said it will be very helpful as it explains things without going into lots of jargon,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening
Alan Titchmarsh How to Garden: Allotment Gardening by Alan Titchmarsh (Paperback - 29 Mar. 2012)
£6.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews