Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2011
As you're probably aware, 'A Top Gear Christmas' is the successor to the fabulously popular Big Books of TG (which BBC made in 2009, 2010 & for 2011). I'm happy to announce that this is even better than the Big Books - mainly because you've got some seasonally orientated humour stirred into the already hilarious mix. There is quite frankly side-splitting (I'm not just saying cliches, it's true) segments such as James May moonlighting as Father Christmas, Richard Hammond's guide to xmas jumpers and, of course, 'The Interceptors' - TG's fantasy detective show with added stupidness. Oh, and obviously a Bugatti Veyron sleigh.

If you liked the Big Books of Top Gear, you'll love them in their current guise - a Top Gear Christmas is absolutely brilliant.

5 STAR *****
22 comments|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
Each page is packed full of Top Gear style - every ad, every picture, every word. One can hear Jezza, James, and Richard having the conversations with that special bantering, sarcastic, teasing, ribbing, joyful way that only the three of them manage to pull off so well. Even Stig's contributions have that special Stigness. This is a book that you pick up, open to any page, read, laugh, and then put down to be picked up later and repeat. I read a lot of books of all types, and it is nice to have one around that is just for pure pleasure. Like the Top Gear TV series, this book is one that can be read and reread at any time and it is always enjoyable. I love Top Gear, own all the DVDs, and books. Long may these 3 guys and this special show continue!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 December 2011
My 11 year old son will be getting this for Christmas. I looked at and considered Top Gear: Official Annual 2012 (Annuals 2012), but decided that this was a better choice for him. The humour seems a little younger and the Christmassy theme makes it ideal Christmas/Boxing Day reading.

If you're wondering what's inside, there are several cartoon strips, the "Rudolf" story retold as "Rudolf the Red Nosed Roller", Christmas messages from the Top Gear trio (plus Stig), spoof highlights of TV viewing over the Christmas week, looks at Christmassy themed cars and vehicles, a Bugatti designed sleigh for Santa, comparisons between Santa and Stig, lots of fake complaint letters to the team and discussion about terrible Christmas gifts they have received over the years.

It may have less longevity than the Top Gear annual, but as a stocking filler it feels far more appropriate to the occasion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
This was bought for me as a 'stocking filler' for Christmas by my wife. We both enjoy Top Gear and so we have both enjoyed reading the book. It's funny - it's informative - it's colourful and an easy read. Something you can pick up and enjoy when you have a few minutes spare.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
Bought as a Christmas stocking filler for my 18 year old son! He seems very pleased with this item. Recommended. Thanks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Not good bedtime reading as so funny. I did buy it for 10 yr old and most is suitable but there are about half a dozen inappropriate words which I edited out with a pen - creating a fantastic present. You can just dip into it with so many silly articles, comic stories (including a Thunderbirds take off) and lots about the typical humour of the presenters. Great to encourage boys reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
what a laugh, i bought for a gift, thinking it was a dvd, when arrived noticed it was a book. then had a quick look inside, and it actually looks very funny, so i think the person i bought it for will still like it, LOL.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
....except for the awful India special. What happened there is a mystery, unless it was the different editor. This is just a collection to amuse the fans and does not disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
The book is as fun as the TV show. I was laughing or widely smiling at each pages. Nothing to dislike here just fun fun and fun. If you're a fan of Top Gear, enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Book received promptly after ordered, service very good. Given as a Christmas gift but I believe the recipient is quite enjoying the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)