Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brain as big as the planet Jupiter and just as fascinating
This is a fascinating book that grew out of a fascinating TV series. The Ascent of Man attempts to follow the ascendancy of Mankind from his first evolutionary footsteps in pre-history through each significant cultural progression right up into the modern day, which was 1973, the date of publication of this book. Bronowski had a brilliant intellect and a huge knowledge of...
Published on 16 April 2002 by Penguin Egg

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great read but not as useful as it could be
The TV series is one of the greatest documentaries made if not the greatest. However bear in mind that the text of the book is an ad verbatim transcription of each TV episode with a few random pictures and in this age of readily available DVDs is probably not that useful or enlightening when you can have Dr Bronowski telling it in the comfort of your own living room.
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by David Hampson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Standing the test of time, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Kindle Edition)
An inspirational read. As relevant now as it was 40 years ago. Profound, insightful and with a foundation of optimism that nourishes the heart and mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ascent of man, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Annie48 (tyne&wear england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Kindle Edition)
I watched this series in the seventies and also have the hardback book. It is fantastic Bronowski makes science accessible, I absolutely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!!!, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Paperback)
If your interested in social history and the future of humanity this is a must read.
Better still, get the dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GENIUS AT WORK, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Brian Vince (Havant, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Kindle Edition)
This book is a brilliant set of 'essays' that accompanied the BBC TV series in 1973. Bronowski evaluates the development of man's understanding of the world in terms of scientific knowledge, its technological applications and their of impact on humanity. Knowledge and understanding of the world is of little value without considering their links to the human condition. Bronowski delves into these with rigour and an enthusiasm for each topic; revealing insights with the clarity and depth of his own thinking yet at the same time presenting his ideas in a clearly understandable style. The Majestic Clockwork chapter is an excellent example of these characteristics with an exposition of Einstein's theory of relativity presented with logical step by step thinking and clearly illustrated with practical and living examples.
I was given the book when it was first published and was delighted to see that it was available on Kindle. I can now take it with me at all times. The experience of watching the televised series and reading this book is uplifting and refreshing. Although the book was published to accompany the TV programmes it stands independently as a purposeful read in itself. it is the book for my Desert Island choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Work of Genius, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Kindle Edition)
Like CS Lewis, Bronowski possesses the priceless talent of being able to make the complex simple. And, like CS Lewis, Bronowski produced his book to be used as a series of programmes, broadcast on the BBC - a circumstance that makes it seem to the reader as though he is being personally addressed. The finest account of Mankind's scientific, artistic and cultural development I've ever come across; the Ascent of Man remains as fresh and important and readable as it was forty years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the ascent of man, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Paperback)
Brilliant reading - Bronowski at his best.
Saw the BBC series in the 1970's and then early this year
bought the DVD's. Reading the book afterwards completes
the whole experience.
Feel very knowledgeable now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bronwoski's legacy, 21 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Paperback)
"The Descent of Man" is Darwin's second popular book on evolutionary theory published in 1871 and a sell-out very quickly; Bronowski published in 1973 and the book has been a favourite ever since. It grew out of a seminal and very popular television series in which he was seen all over the world explaining and exploring the steps humankind has taken to reach the heights he described. This well-illustrated book goes into greater depth and, those of us who watched the series, will probably be able to hear his voice and see him quietly talking to the camera.

A good read and a thoughtful look at the crucial and critical points in the history of humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in Science, 23 May 2011
By 
O. Gandolfi (Jerusalem, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent Of Man (Paperback)
I decided to purchase it, because the new edition had a foreword by Richard Dawkins. But I didn't expect much from it, since I knew that it was written in the seventies and for sure the material has been extensively described in many other books. To my surprised I have found it a book where you enjoy every word and every sentence. If may say so, it's on the same level as Carl Sagan's books, in which science is described in a very poetic and humanistic way. I have also found it essential in order to appreciate and enjoy much more the television series now on DVD. Once you read it, it will remain as your companion. It's simply fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A superb companion to the classic TV series, 16 Mar 2011
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent of Man (Hardcover)
I remember this TV series from when I first saw it as a boy and it made a great impression on me. I remember buying this book at that time and enjoying it very much. Somehow with the passage of time my copy of the book was lost and was delighted therefore to see it available on Amazon and I made sure I obtained a copy.

Yes, the book is just as good as I remember and seems not to have become dated with over the years.

If you loved the TV series then you will never regret buying this book which follows closely the episodes and format of the TV series. It is fascinating, wise and informative and stands up well even without having The Ascent Of Man : Complete BBC Series [DVD] TV series to view alongside.

A good buy and one you will never regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for evey one and evey one sould have it., 7 Jan 2011
By 
R. L. Gay "Robert Lewis Gay" (Eingland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ascent of Man (Hardcover)
I saw the accent of man on BBC four and it was great, I had to have the book...it is an education in it's self. A must have book in the book case. Great for kid and adults alike, Bronowsk knows his stuff, like David attenborough... a person that talks to you and not at you or down to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ascent Of Man
The Ascent Of Man by Jacob Bronowski (Paperback - 10 Mar 2011)
7.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews