Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never buy a takeaway again!!!
I love cooking and experimenting with new recipes, but always thought chinese would not taste like i expected (take aways) well i was gob smacked by the delicious results. It was a bit complex first off but once youv'e cooked one or two of the recipes you can see a pattern of more or less the same basic ingredients. They are so tasty,and healthy that you would never buy...
Published on 5 April 2011 by elsie

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed
Bought this upon returning form a long trip to China, expecting it to cover all the basic traditional recipes. Though nicely presented, I find there are many gaps, with many of the ubiquitous dishes found across China missing. The 'complete' in the title made me expect a more comprehensive and thorough collection, with fewer simplifications. Though such simplified recipes...
Published 20 months ago by SL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, easy to follow recipes, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
Really easy to follow recipes. Delicious. Working my way through the book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
B. S. Logan (hamilton scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
some great recipes in here could have made them easier to follow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Happy with purchase,would use seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
markymark (Hampshire U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
excellent 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neither complete nor chinese, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
I was looking for a cookbook that was complete and authentically 'chinese', and this one failed on both counts.

Although it boasted a variety of dishes, its selection was far from complete. Many chinese dishes that may require specialty ingredients have been omitted, maybe for good reason, but this degrades its selection and you're better off getting variety from a takeaway. But more importantly, the author fails to describe the details involved in each of the preparation steps, for instance, how firm should the meat be when it is cooked, how hot should the water be, how can we tell if the ingredients have simmered for long enough. It is the subtle intricacies that distinguish a good and great dish and similarly a great cookbook from a mediocre one.

What was more worrying was that the dishes did not taste entirely authentic. Despite going to great lengths to buy the sauces and seasoning recommended by the author and going through a series of tedious preparation steps, the taste of the dishes prepared can only be describe as being a little off. I am Chinese myself and although I am not an expert on chinese cooing, I know when something does not taste chinese. For an author who writes cookbooks in a variety of Asian styles, ie Chinese, Thai etc. it is questionable if he is an expert on any one of them. If you to cook chinese food that substitutes your everyday takeaway, this book may be adequate, but fails to deliver otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ken Hom complete Chinese cook book, 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
It is very well explained and lovely food, you don't have to be Chinese to cook Chinese.
Oo oo ll
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Chinese Cookery Ken Holm, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
I love Ken Holm,his recipes are so healthy,i think the book is superb and im really enjoying trying out the recipes,just my kind of dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ken homs cook book, 8 Mar. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
very good book great recipes and easy to understand service of delivery and packaging was excellent as usual highly delighted thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chinese Cookbook, 23 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Chinese Cookbook (Hardcover)
Great book with some nice recipes, although it cost a fair bit to get all the ingredients together but I guess now I have them I can just replace when they run out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Chinese Cookbook
Complete Chinese Cookbook by Ken Hom (Hardcover - 27 Jan. 2011)
£20.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews