Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2011
I was wary of buying this as I thought the last couple of 'Prey' novels seemed to be a liitle lacking in something and had become very formulaic - perhaps the author was focussing on the Virgil Flowers series to the detriment of Davenport - they weren't bad, just not as good as the earlier novels.

I am glad to say that my fears were groundless, from a promising start and the discovery of two long buried bodies, the story takes you back into Davenports early days as a detective looking for the killer of two young girls, then right back to the present as Davenport, wracked by guilt over his failure to follow up his instincts years ago begins the hunt for John Fell anew.

The story is pacy, it is, as always, very well written and brings back some of the characters from earlier 'Prey' books and there is even a passing reference to Kidd.

The humour that sets these books apart from their rivals makes a welcome return, and after a shock event concerning one of the regular supporting cast (you do not see this coming, it's like the author gets you comfortable then "WHAM - bite on this dear reader", Davenport stops worrying about his age and commitments, steps up a gear and is back to the darker character we know from the previous books in the series, and his exchanges with Del and Letty are a joy to read.

Top marks - Davenport is back, mojo restored.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 January 2012
I just love John Sandford's books. They move at such a ripping rate, and the characterisation and scene setting is so good. This is a pretty typical Sandford with the usual multiple murders and some sex thrown in, but it is just a good read. Always a pleasure to have one on the shelf waiting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2012
Buried Prey is undoubtedly best Davenport book in quite some time. the build up of events, investigation and chase are all brilliant keeping the reader glued to the book. In terms of characters and plot, the book provides a good prequel to Davenport character along with likes of Del and Sloan. What I loved the most about the book was the feeling I got which was same when I read likes of Rules of Prey and Sudden Prey. A definite read for a Davenport fan...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I haven't enjoyed the last few books as much as the earlier books but this one is a welcome return to form. John Sandford has used the currently very fashionable flashback technique to show us a young Lucas and to link the past and present. The case involves the disappearance of two young girls years prior to the discovery of their bodies. I enjoyed this - the mystery and the banter but the twist in the middle was shocking and I didn't see it coming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
Well up to the standard of previous Lucas Davenport novels. Sandford has been silent for some time but is now writing again not only Davenport "prey" novels but also other variations (eg Virgil Flowers).I have always considered Sandford an excellent writer in the Raymond Chandler mode. As long as his re-burgeoning output does not deteriorate, and he doesn't go down the route of "collaboration" a la James Patterson with his sausage-machine output, I shall continue to admire him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
The distant past returns to haunt the life of Lucas Davenport, a homicide detective in Minneapolis, when some workers discover in the debris of a building they were about to wipe out of the face of the earth, the bodies of two girls that disappeared a quarter of a century ago. For their abduction and certain murder the cops arrested back then a homeless man that went by the name of Terry Scrape, now deceased, who from the very first moment protested his innocence.
Lucas at the time was just a young patrol officer who harbored dreams of becoming a detective, and due to a string of coincidences he got involved with the case right from the beginning. And it was he who discovered Scrape's hide out and orchestrated his arrest. However, apart from an eye witness who said that he was the one behind the crime, the police didn't really have any evidence against him, so they just had to let him lose. A few days later he'd be dead and the case would slip into a cold status. Besides, everyone, apart from Lucas, was convinced that he was the perpetrator, and they no longer thought that they could find the girls alive. Lucas, despite his objections, did nothing to pursue the case, because he didn't want to go head to head with his future boss, who had already made up his mind.
Now, as the middle aged and experienced detective remembers those days, he cannot help but think that everything could have been different. If he didn't back down, if he kept investigating, maybe he could have saved the lives of the girls after all; and prevented some other crimes from being committed as well. The way the killer buried the bodies told him a lot. He was a highly intelligent individual who really knew what he was about, unlike the homeless, kind of stupid and definitely schizophrenic Scrape.
A big part of the story takes place in yesteryear in the streets of a city where crime was a way of life. At the time thefts, big or small, drug trafficking, murders and armed robberies were taking place on a daily basis, and the cops did everything they could to keep a fragile peace between the various gangs. They even investigated the killings of gang members, even though they knew that most of the time they had to do with revenge; most of the time, not always. It was while investigating one of those cases, the murder of a gang-banger, that Lucas caught a break in the case. As it seemed that murder was, in a way, connected with the kidnapping of the girls and, he just couldn't for the life of him believe that Scrape was able to pull off something like that. But that wasn't just it. It also had to do with a guy called John Fell, who tipped the police about Scrape in a roundabout way at the start, and now was nowhere to be found.
Lucas, feeling guilty about the past, he decides to do everything he possibly can to close the case once and for all. However, in order to do so, and quite unintentionally, he starts drifting away from his family and friends, and draws himself into a world of solitude and quiet. It's as if he's trying to atone for his actions, or rather inaction, by punishing himself. His wife though, along with his adopted daughter and his buddies, will do everything they can to stop him from sliding into the dark.
This book can be read as an adventure, but also as a psychological thriller. The author takes a good look into the psyches of his heroes, spots their powers and points out their weaknesses, and describes in full detail their inner worlds. This is a crime novel of high quality and a must for the fans of the genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Another great case for Lucas Davenport. Great characters and plenty of humour to keep you from getting too down. Nice to get a bit of background on Lucas from his early days as a detective. A great read from a great author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
I am a die hard fan of John Sandford and the Prey series. Sure at times the novels don't quite meet the 5-star rating but they all add to the mix. Buried Prey is certainly a 5-star with Sandford bravely going back to the beginnings and providing a little insight into Davenport. Although the best way to do that is simply to start from the beginning of the fine series. In this book Sandford still manages to build the suspense despite it being reasonably obvious who was behind the ancient killings. For Sandford fans this is a must - all newcomers start at the beginning of this great series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
Interesting blend of prequel and present in Davenport's character showing why he developed a morality based on end justifying means.
Prey is the best police procedural series ever written but enhanced by character study and the closeness between the criminal mind and those tracking them. Harris explored the theme in Red Dragon but Sandford takes it to another level.
Davenport stays marginally within bounds only because of restrictions imposed by his team and family otherwise the cannon would be loose with a vengeance.
How close does a writer need to be to the criminal mind Sandford?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
This is for all readers who read the prey novels, you dont need me to tell you about them, instead let me say I highly recommend "Buried Prey" I found the usual humour, the terrific story, and a catch up with Weather and Letty, with Weather urging caution and Letty urging Lucas to take out the bad guy, great stuff, what more could you ask? This author delivers time after time and we get 390 pages, a page turner all the way through.
If you are new to the Prey novels try and locate the earlier ones and read in sequence, or start as near as you can to Lucas and Weathers start of their relationship, dont get me wrong these are not love stories but the relationship makes the stories more interesting.
Enjoy.
Marrianna
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£11.41

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.