Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read for cricket fans
Ian Botham always seemed to be a bit of a comedian to me anyway, but in this book of his, he proves it.

This book features about 50 guest contributors, all cricketers past or present, who tell their amusing stories. For each guest, Botham starts with a piece basically saying how good they were at playing cricket and what fun they were to be with. The guest then...
Published 16 months ago by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beefy's cricketing tales.
This was purchased for my second cricket mad grandson. Likewise I also read it before handing it on. A touch disappointed withy the content. but there again you cannot win them all. Not a patch on Gowers Endangered Species! Idle so and so my grandson has not as yet opened it. Oh well onwards and upwards.
Published 14 months ago by Howard Fagan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun read for cricket fans, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beefy's Cricket Tales: My Favourite Stories from on and Off the Field (Hardcover)
Ian Botham always seemed to be a bit of a comedian to me anyway, but in this book of his, he proves it.

This book features about 50 guest contributors, all cricketers past or present, who tell their amusing stories. For each guest, Botham starts with a piece basically saying how good they were at playing cricket and what fun they were to be with. The guest then tells whatever story they choose to tell (occasionally more than one). Some of the stories are about what happened on the pitch (Gooch reminisces about handling the ball), some are about what happened in the dressing room (one unfortunate cricketer wasn't ready when he was needed after wickets fell quickly; he was actually stark naked) and some are about episodes that happened away from play (such as when Botham almost ate elephant dung).

This is obviously not a book to take too seriously, but it is great to dip in and out of when you need a laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beefy's cricketing tales., 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beefy's Cricket Tales: My Favourite Stories from on and Off the Field (Hardcover)
This was purchased for my second cricket mad grandson. Likewise I also read it before handing it on. A touch disappointed withy the content. but there again you cannot win them all. Not a patch on Gowers Endangered Species! Idle so and so my grandson has not as yet opened it. Oh well onwards and upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beefy tales, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Lancing, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved the book. has many anecdotes and funny stories of England cricketers past and present. some stories have heard before but reading the book makes you wonder what goes on when professional sportsmen get together. some players I had forgotten about that have played for England were quoted so nice to read some of their experiences in the national shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NOT AS GOOD AS HIS PAST BOOKS, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry, but some of the stories are very good but others are, in my view, only remotely funny. Sorry Sir Beefy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dog Lover, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best cricket book I've ever read, but not the worst either. Some of the stories are excellent and others aren't all that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars most amusing, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bundling a laughs with a lot of men behaving childishly and apparently they still are. Gotham was as entertaining off the field as on. Gareth Jones Dorking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ripping Yarns, 9 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, not quite Ripping Yarns, but some good ones. Nothing very new here, just a bit of fun from dressing-rooms over the years, but a pleasant read. Each is preceded by a page from Ian Botham himself, about the player in question, and in some ways it is what I like best about the book, because each one shows Beefy's genuine generosity towards other people. Whether you are rich, famous or just an ordinary person, you get the impression that it really doesn't matter to Ian Botham. Not many people with his ridiculous amount of talent are generous towards mere mortals, but Botham is. And, of course, many of those features in this book are themselves people who play, or have played, the game at the very highest levels. Read as a dip-into book, rather than a read-straight-through-book, because the latter course becomes too 'samey', it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
HeadPith "Chris" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some very funny stories, a few mundane stories but all in all well worth a read. Be warned though these are stories from Beefy's friends and colleagues over the years, there are few stories from Beefy himself but don't let that put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beefy's Cricket Tales: My Favourite Stories....., 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beefy's Cricket Tales: My Favourite Stories from on and Off the Field (Hardcover)
This was purchased as Christmas present for a member of my family. I do not know a lot about cricket but saw Ian Botham talking about his book and TV and thought it would appeal to this particular person and who seemed to appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beefy's Tales, 23 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beefy's Cricket Tales: My Favourite Stories from on and Off the Field (Hardcover)
From the reviews and personal comments I am looking forward to reading this well written book. It came highly recommended to me and I would not hesitate to recommend it to sports lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beefy's Cricket Tales: My Favourite Stories from on and Off the Field
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews