Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT THRILLER by Mary Higgins Clark
Once again a great story by Mary Higgins Clark! Kept us guessing up to the end as to who the murderer was.
Published 20 months ago by Kathleen

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars on the wane
I have loved Mary since the first days of Where Are The Children? We've grown older together.
I think she's on the wane now though. All to formulaic, repetitive sentences, over familiar description
and a loss of originality. This one isn't bad, it's just not the Mary we knew. Agatha Christie went off
in her dotage and I fear Mary is too. Time to end the...
Published 19 months ago by R. Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars on the wane, 2 July 2013
By 
R. Wilkinson (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daddy's Gone A-Hunting (Hardcover)
I have loved Mary since the first days of Where Are The Children? We've grown older together.
I think she's on the wane now though. All to formulaic, repetitive sentences, over familiar description
and a loss of originality. This one isn't bad, it's just not the Mary we knew. Agatha Christie went off
in her dotage and I fear Mary is too. Time to end the annual churn out of novels and snuggle up to
John Conheeny. It's like Bruce and Strictly, time to call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who's My Daddy?, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Joan Pretorius "Lougheed" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was confused by all the characters and new ones cropping up half way through the book. The plot was awfully complicated and sub-plot after sub-plot... I felt that the book could be a lot shorter and get to the point. I don't know if it was because of so many very short chapters, but it seemed to limp along. One thing I did like about the very short chapters was that there were so many opportunities to stop and lay the book down. (I don't normally like stopping in the middle of a chapter.)
I often feel that books with so many characters should have a list of character and who's who at the back or front of the book, or maybe a family tree..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not classic clark, 13 Jun. 2013
Ok if you like MHC, but nothing like the writer in her heyday !
A little bit formulaic, not much suspense, but an entertaining read all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointing, 17 Sept. 2013
I believe I have read all MHC's books and have thoroughly enjoyed them all so far but this one is so disappointing. Lots of characters who are only superficially explored, barely interact with each other and keep you wondering which way the plot is going (and I don't mean in a good way). I will finish the book but it will take me a while as I cant read more than a chapter or 2 at a time. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT THRILLER by Mary Higgins Clark, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again a great story by Mary Higgins Clark! Kept us guessing up to the end as to who the murderer was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tired, 14 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. J. M. Thomas "Julia" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit disappointed with it - good plot but the prose was a bit laboured and the characters were one dimensional. I think she was a bit bored with it herself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She never lets you down, 24 May 2013
By 
C. Grimmitt "Book lover" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mary Higgins Clark never fails to keep me hooked. I can't get enough of her books, have read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable easy read, 15 Oct. 2013
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Daddy's Gone A-Hunting (Hardcover)
Mary Higgins Clark produces a new book once a year but in spite of many great books over the years, she now seems to have settled almost on a writing-by-numbers formula, the last few have been very similar, wealthy main female character with a family in jeopardy, numerous male suspects that it's difficult to distinguish from each other. This latest book is again very formulaic, but it is a bit better than the last few, and there weren't the identical men in suits suspects which was a bonus. The plot was ok but I thought the twist became apparent about halfway through, and the characters are all a bit one dimensional. If you're a long time fan then it's worth a read but not on a par with the early ones.
Mary was once one of my favourite authors but I think perhaps now the time has come for her to bow out gracefully, she has written some superb thrillers but is letting her own good name down with the predictable ones she's been churning out lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Left Me Guessing....., 20 May 2013
By 
Shirley (S.W.England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will not give anything away but this book really kept me guessing right to the end. In fact I did wonder how Mary was going to tie up all the ends, but she did it in her usual great style. Only twelve months to wait for the next one, I wish she wrote at least two a year. Thank you Mary for another classic.

A general question....why is "Pretend You Don't See Her" still not back on Kindle????????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars and she came highly recommended, but I can't bear her prose style, 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know this author is very popular, and she came highly recommended, but I can't bear her prose style. She is very repetitive, as if she thinks we can't remember details of her characters or plot and when she repeats herself it feels as though she had a thesaurus to hand. Too irritating for words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daddy's Gone A-Hunting
Daddy's Gone A-Hunting by Mary Higgins Clark (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews