Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic self development book
"The Charge" provides a clear and effective framework for all those seeking to enhance their performance and fulfill their potential. I found the "Activators" outlines in each Charge point a very practical and they can often be applied immediately. The book is more of a manual, a guide which is easily understandable and who's effectiveness you can immediately test. The...
Published on 12 Nov 2012 by Mr. T

versus
27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seriously flawed book that fails to deliver
In "The Charge" Brendon Burchard presents a model of personal development designed to help you lead a more fulfilled, energetic and enjoyable life - "The Charged Life" as he calls it. Whilst most of the content is not new the presentation and the model are a novel way of arranging the material.

In spite of some good content and interesting points the book has...
Published on 15 Oct 2012 by Mark G. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic self development book, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive (Paperback)
"The Charge" provides a clear and effective framework for all those seeking to enhance their performance and fulfill their potential. I found the "Activators" outlines in each Charge point a very practical and they can often be applied immediately. The book is more of a manual, a guide which is easily understandable and who's effectiveness you can immediately test. The principles and aspects discussed are applicable to people working in different fields, for example it has relevance for business people just like it relates to students. Like any self-help or self development book, however, the change and effort has to come from you. There's no magic solution, The Charge is incredibly useful in narrowing down what you need to focus on and suggesting methods of increasing your inner drive - however, the effort has to come from you in order to really benefit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read Book, 3 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive (Paperback)
I've read several self help books in the past so wasn't expecting anything revolutionary.

Boy was I wrong.

This book is packed with many insights and new perspectives that you're bound to come away inspired in some way. There's too many things to try at once. I've taken a few things on board and have already had the resolve to make some life changing changes in my life.

I'm sure it's a book I will keep referring back to as I make further changes and become more charged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passionate, Thorough and Endearing, 19 Jun 2012
By 
Heather Craik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I first got my copy I wasn't expecting much. In general, you don't with these sorts of books. You might buy them anyway in the hopes that something somewhere makes sense and fills whatever void you think needs filled (not telling what mine was!), but you never really expect it to do much for you.

I was wrong.

Brendon, despite being almost annoyingly cheery at times (in a charming way) has discovered something that will actually make a difference in your life if you apply it. Already starting to improve mine, and I've only implemented a few little things here and there. It has a permanent place on my bookshelf, or on the corner of my desk, or in the hands of any hapless loved one I happen to corner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to become an individual important for the world and person satisfied with your life, 27 Jan 2014
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive (Paperback)
“The Charge” written by Brendon Burchard is a book that helps sincere answering on some of the most important questions - whether we as individuals are important for the world, to people around us, whether we are satisfied with ourselves - and if you believe that the answers to both questions are negative, the author offered his version of the explanation of why is this so, and his help in try to change it.

Burchard starts with the assumption that there are ten instincts that make us human being – desire to control, competence, congruence, caring, connection, change, challenge, creative expression, contribution and consciousness - and precisely (better) control over them will allow improving the quality of our lives, the perception of others, but also our own opinion about ourselves that results with our happiness and success.

His book is titled “The Charge” because by activation and maintenance of these ten drives will lead to living a life that is fully charged. And to do that certainly it is not simply because the very essence of instinct says that these things are sometimes done against our will, unconsciously; therefore, the author offers his assistance in the form of true activators, some simple though powerful actions anyone can do in order to increase energy level, involvement and contentment in our life.

Nowadays it seems that every other book on the shelves is some form of self-help literature, it looks as though everyone has something to say on this issue and help others, and yet generally most of us feel bad and miss the good old days.

Although I read it a year and a half since its worldwide release, it is equally fresh and inspiring to read such well-written, researched and well-though book that provides answers to psychological issues in an easily readable form, in which the author makes no effort to always talk in the literary and ornate way, instead addressing to the reader in everyday language.

The author himself went through a kind of metamorphosis after he suffered a serious car accident, which was a kind of turning point in his life. Therefore, this book is a kind of manual that can help anyone to try doing the same while Burchard for each of the drives that are the subject of his book goes in depth, starting with short introduction in form of some case study, and then moving to its importance and appropriate techniques that can be used to influence it.

“The Charge” is a good book that on its 200 pages provides a lot of useful tips to improve life presented in an easily understandable way. But, on the other hand do not expect that reading it will itself mean the start of a change in your life because it is not about a few quick tricks that are easy to use, but of philosophy that needs to be lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brendon is right up there with the best., 15 Jun 2012
This book is easy and enjoyable to read, but do not let that fool you. The message within is profound and emotional. It will re-connect you with your internal drives, your emotions and will leave you energised. I was not aware of just out of touch I was with myself...it came as a bit of a shock. This book will completely change your life, if you let it. Buy "The Charge" today, do not hesitate, you will be transformed and inspired. Thank you Brendon for such a wonderful work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seriously flawed book that fails to deliver, 15 Oct 2012
By 
Mark G. Harris (Chelmsford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive (Paperback)
In "The Charge" Brendon Burchard presents a model of personal development designed to help you lead a more fulfilled, energetic and enjoyable life - "The Charged Life" as he calls it. Whilst most of the content is not new the presentation and the model are a novel way of arranging the material.

In spite of some good content and interesting points the book has a large number of serious flaws and there are many better personal development books on the market. The book's promise sounds good; it falls down when it comes to delivery.

Possibly the most irritating flaw is the authors tendency to sweeping generalisations. For example, "In the most recent eye blink of our history, our human experience and our collective culture have transformed in every imaginable way". Every imaginable way? Unfortunately the author has a tendency to use "universal quantifiers" a lot, thus the book is littered with the authors sweeping generalisations about what "everybody" wants, that "everything" has changed and what we "all" think and feel. Clearly the diversity of our human experience is not something that troubles him.

The author also perpetuates the modern day canard that we are all more and more stressed out due to ever present change in everything. Change which now happens at extreme speed due to technology. He particularly focuses this on the workplace where he argues recent and all consuming change is endemic. Yet surely in reality there are just as many if not more continuities than changes? Is the job of the teacher, dentist, taxi driver, accountant, lawyer, fashion designer, hairdresser, vet, salesman etc. really that different from a few years ago, 10 years ago or even longer? Perhaps the author's only real focus when he talks of the workplace is the middle and upper layers of management in large corporations?

Rather more alarming than these two points are the authors repeated preference for imposing his map of the world upon us. Yes, he is putting forward his model for change but he also seems to put forward his map of what change we want and values we should have. This he does usually in his own sweepingly generalising style. For example, (to have what) "we all want love, security, respect abundance and a career of creativity and meaning." That we all aspire to these things is simple nonsense. I have met many for whom "security" is meaningless - they prefer Helen Keller's dictum that "Security is largely a myth, life is either a daring adventure or nothing". Those who are internally referenced would tend not to be concerned by "respect" while we all know many who would not have a fulfilling career on their wish list!

Although the author makes frequent references to research, science and specifically neuro science in his work he fails to provide any references in the text, in footnotes or at the end of the book (there is no bibliography or suggestions for further reading) as to what this research is, who conducted it and when it occurred. In fact not a single specific research project, scientific researcher or research institution is mentioned or credited in connection with the author's claims. He does mention Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi's book "Flow" at one point to support a particular assertion but I am not sure that the autotelic personality Csikszentmihalyi talked of has much in common with BB's charged personality.

Perhaps the most annoying flaw in the book and the one which would lead me to tell people new to personal development to look elsewhere is the fact that whilst the author spends much time telling us the whats (What we should be doing) he has very little practical info on the hows (how to do it i.e. what are the tools.) Yes, he has his charge points and activating points but these are again mainly "whats" e.g., "You need to focus on this" is not the same as "hows" e.g. "This is how you develop the skill to focus on this."

Poor editing has also let the author get away with some terrible contradictions, which in places are so brazen that they border on the comical. For example the author waxes on about the need to always "see the good in people", "project positive traits and expectations onto others" and that when you "live your life believing that people are generally good and interesting you will find the good and interesting aspects of every person". He caries on for several pages in this vein exhorting his readers to be positive and ignore the cynics. "It is hard sometimes but you need to do it" However, a few pages later he states, "The sad truth is the world is full of bitter complaining, finger pointing energy vampires who suck all the joy and ambition out of life" If ever there was a case of your own lessons not learnt then surely this is it! Such blatant contradictions seriously undermine some of the valuable points the author is trying to make.

As a final critical point the book is filled with stories from the author's experience meant to serve as inspirational examples. These have a tendency to grate. The author admits in the introduction that these are only loosely based on fact (they are distorted/fictionalised) and given this it is a shame he could not have come up with more elegant, subtle and stylish metaphorical stories. Something I think a more gifted author would have done which would have made a deeper impact on the reader.

Overall BB's model is not simplistic and could be useful in whole or in part, however the shortcomings detailed above (there are many more not detailed!) are such that they are likely to grate on and frustratingly impede the progress of the reader. Of course the book is much hyped but I would invest your money in something else in the personal development field. There are plenty of well written titles out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy and valuable read, 7 Jun 2012
This is a very easy read. It's like a practical life manual (should be handed at birth!)..but as it's not handed at birth, we all become wired/programmed into our different habits.
The Charge can perhaps be viewed as "re-wiring" -- bringing together the seemingly obvious, simple and common sense things that makes the reader think "oh, yeah...i should have known that!".
The real test for the reader is in its practical application. To this end, Brendon provides practical steps ...but ultimately, it's up to the reader to attain a charged life (through conscious direction and repetition).
Thanks Brendon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully Charged, 6 Jun 2012
This is quite simply the most inspiring personal development book I've ever read! The pre-introduction was truly moving and I've read it to several of my friends to encourage them to buy this book. I read the entire book non-stop in just a couple of days and now intend to re-read it, taking in every word and doing all the exercises. I've also persuaded my partner to work through the book with me. I love the way that Brendon has brought the whole concept of personal development right up to date and noted how we have changed as a human race and how our expectations have changed. No matter whether you're new to personal development or been around the block a few times, with many personal development tomes on your bookshelf - this is one book you must not only buy but read, re-read and immerse yourself in. Thanks Brendon for inspiring me to re-charge and move to the next level in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, go for it!, 15 May 2012
The Charge is not a motivational book, although you will be motivated when you read it. It is a transformational and interactive guide for understanding who you are and what drives you. There is so much practical and immediately applicable information in this book. It fills in the gaps that have been left by most personal development and self-help books. It is easy-to-read and entirely transformational...if you do the simple yet profound exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brendon Burchard is relevant and unique!, 1 July 2012
This review is from: The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive (Paperback)
Just finished reading brendons book and it is a great life checker, very relevant for the 21st century and gets you asking yourself all the right questions to recharge your life with renewed vigor. Must read if you want more from life and more from yourself (or are they the same thing?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive
The Charge: Activating the 10 Human Drives That Make You Feel Alive by Brendon Burchard (Paperback - 15 May 2012)
£12.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews