Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice balance of academic rigour and anecdote!
I have been interested in 'The Crusades' since I did a general studies course on the subject 40+ years ago (during my Physics degree, of all things!).

I don't propose saying anything more about the excellence of this book - the other 29 reviewers (so far) have said it all - absolutely excellent book about the Crusades!

What I would like to draw out...
Published on 29 Mar. 2013 by CaptBirdseye

versus
10 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No thank you
I was put off before reading 25% of the book - the author seems to be very biased against the westerners. Not really what I would expect from an historian, who are supposed to present factual neutral reports. Aren't they? (Within reason)
Published on 29 April 2013 by AgentMulderUK


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice balance of academic rigour and anecdote!, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crusades: The War for the Holy Land (Paperback)
I have been interested in 'The Crusades' since I did a general studies course on the subject 40+ years ago (during my Physics degree, of all things!).

I don't propose saying anything more about the excellence of this book - the other 29 reviewers (so far) have said it all - absolutely excellent book about the Crusades!

What I would like to draw out is the fact that this book falls very neatly (and nicely!) between such relatively short introductory texts such as 'The Cross and the Crescent' by Malcolm Billings(*), and 'The Crusades' by Anthony Bridge(*) and more academic studies such as 'A History of the Crusades' by Steven Runcieman. It's a perfect general, but detailed introduction to the Crusades with a nice balance between academic rigour and entertaining anecdote. Wonderful!

(*) Both of these books are excellent in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction, 14 April 2011
This is the first book I have read on the crusades and I have to say I was a little intimidated by it's length. As it turns out, there was no need to worry. Somehow Asbridge manages to pack in a remarkeable amount of detail spanning several centuries, without overwhelming the reader. The book is packed full of memorable details, - such as Saladin's troops sneaking supply ships into besieged Acre by placing pigs on deck, thereby tricking the crusaders into thinking that they were Christian ships - thrilling accounts of bloody battles, and fascinating big picture analysis of the religious and political motivations of the key players on both sides. The author has managed something that few other historians do: a comprehensive account of a complex period, which is still a joy and easy to read.

An excellent introduction. My only fear is that I may now struggle to find other books on the subject which match up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Crusades From Both Sides, 5 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to admit having had this book a while and I kept putting off reading it. Reasons: By an 'academic', quite a heavy read by the looks, and just a general worry that it would be too much to end the day with. But that was swiftly dispelled on getting into the first chapter.

Asbridge literally not only takes you on the crusades he then turns the tables and shows you the Islamic face of it all. You do see the two sides of the fight.

No spoilers here in this review, but certainly it opens up so many questions. Was it the desperation of an 11th Century Pope that really opened up the wound that today we face, that shows itself in so much terrorism and hate?

Just the fact that Jerusalem was a sacred place to Muslims as well as Christians was something new to me. The contrast of the slaughter carried out by the First Crusaders that was not repeated by the jihad leader, Saladin, many years later speaks volumes.

There is enough background into the politics, geography, battles and, yes, some gory details to make this an actually entertaining as well as educating and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A War for Faith, 16 Jun. 2010
Thomas Asbridge's book on the crusades was an absolutely incrediable read. I must tell you that since Ashbridge was an academic, I was afraid that this book would be unreadble; just a list of facts on top of another.

I was entirely mistaken. Asbridge wrote with such drama that it was hard to put the book down. I took it everywhere, and when i was determined to finish a chapter, and put the book down, I often found myself halfway through the new chapter and instead of doing my work. A superb book.

The best part was the character of the participants: pious Godrey, greedy Baldwin, sickly King Baldwin IV, awe-inspiring Saladin, courageous Richard the Lionheart, and decitiful Fredrick II. Great men, a great story, and a great storyteller. What more could be asked of a book? Asbridge deserves 5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an absolutely first-rate intro to the Crusades, 10 May 2012
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Crusades: The War for the Holy Land (Paperback)
This is a popular introduction to the Crusades that strikes a perfect balance between academic rigor and the expectations of a lay audience. It offers solid narrative and some analysis, while avoiding excessive proofs and obscure controversies. Best of all, it is simply fun to read and never unacceptably heavy.

The Crusades began as a kind of idealistic call to arms. When you look at it, the entire enterprise looks insanely impossible: a bunch of aristocrats, knights and their support infantries decide to travel to nearly the end of the world, to dislodge the far more numerous Muslims from Christian holy sites (Jerusalem, etc.) Against all odds, the first Crusade essentially lives up to its ideals, conquering a huge swath of territories and establishing independent kingdoms and Duchies in the mid east (largely in the territories of modern Syria and Israel). It is simply amazing that, virtually without supply support and lacking coherent leadership, they charged into battle with little plans and won. Many said it was God's will.

In a way it was colonial, but the author is at pains to prove that it was their ideals that drove them. He demonstrates the changes in theology required, including "just war" by Christians, but also promises of salvation from sin to varying degrees and under more or less clarified obligations. The twists of logic and the hypocrisy of land-hungry princes, I was convinced, were outweighed by their religious purpose. After all, what they wanted to do was far too ambitious, though to be fair they lacked clear and practical knowledge about the areas they were attacking; besides, God and the talisman of the "true cross" supported them. Their faith offered them an inarguable rationale to plunge head first into hopeless battle for glory and to fulfill their vows. For a short time, they were triumphant. The second Crusade was a catastrophic bust: exhausted from the logistics of arriving in the mid east, it imploded upon arrival in spite of the presence of Eleanor of Aquitaine.

Of course, the muslim side had begun a decline that has proceeded more or less until the present day. They were not unified when the first crusade arrived and so were easy to divide and pick off kingdoms one by one. After being beaten, they did begin a long process of unification, eating away at Christian gains, but the process took more than a century. A series of great leaders did emerge, most notably Saladin, who strove to appear just and equitable, but had an instinct for amassing political power through military conquest. Nonetheless, the original dynamism of Islam was never regained. His duel with Richard Coeur de Lion is the centerpiece of the book: their portraits are wonderfully informative and psychologically deep. Both come off well, though Richard ultimately fails - Richard exerted extraordinary leadership, but it slipped from his grasp as over-zealous knights squandered the gains he had so painstakingly put together over a decade away from home and constantly worried about the machinations of his rivals back in Europe.

The fourth Crusade never gets beyond the shameful sack of Constantinople and the remaining ones blur together as desperate attempts to reclaim lost territories with the aid of enhanced theological clarity, i.e. what knightly vows consisted of and what precisely had to be done for salvation to be achieved. At this point, the Mamluks - Turkic slave warriors who took over Egypt and then the entire mid east - took over Saladin's empire and eventually triumphed over the Christian forces decisively. Europe then abandoned the enterprise without much thought and the Renaissance blossomed.

The entire process covered a span of approximately 200 years, a daunting tableau to paint. I often regret getting big fat history books because the degenerate into the driest of academic exercises. This one never does. Recommended with enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History brought to life, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crusades: The War for the Holy Land (Paperback)
This book is excellent. I can read a 680 page 'Stephen King' in 3 days, but this 680-pager will take a bit longer. You can't rush it. There's fascinating stuff on every page, and it's so well written. I certainly didn't know that the first crusade was drummed up by Pope Urban in 1095, who told horror stories of slavery, torture and desecration by the Muslims in Jerusalem. This was not true and in fact the different religions in the Holy Land were getting on quite well, yet thousands of western soldiers, men women and children were urged to march to Asia Minor to win back Jerusalem. Asbridge tells both sides of these battles, in easy-to-read detail. My only problem is remembering it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, balanced and compelling, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whether you come to this mammoth volume having already read Asbridge's account of the First Crusade, or as a stand-alone, this book is compelling. If you've read the First Crusade don't worry too much; he rattles through it in a couple of chapters and while there is inevitaby some repetition, there is in fact some material in this volume which doesn't appear in the other.

Overall, though, it's comprehensive. Asbridge concentrates on taking a pan-European perspective, always setting the scene of the Crusades in the context of European politics and religion which were inevitably closely associated and by no means simple. Crammed with quotes from primary sources, mostly European but occasionally Muslim (he explains why there is an imbalance), Asbridge is not afraid to challenge accepted contemporary opinions, but at the same time this doesn't have the feel of a willfully provocative account. It's not all about battles, either: he goes into great detail about the foundation of the Crusader states - the struggle to get Western society established in the Near East in the decades following the First Crusade, and all the associated problems.

With lots of detailed character development, well-informed comment and just the right pacing, this is an excellent summary for someone who wants a bit more than just a brief introduction but can't handle anything too heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battle-scarred!!, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a good deal about the Crusades and have visited the Middle East where most of the action took place. I started out reading what many regard as the standard work by Runciman and went on from there. This is clearly a well researched book, easy to read and which covers the subject in a concise yet informative manner.I thought it stood well in comparison to other similar works. Very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New Kind of History, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Crusades: The War for the Holy Land (Paperback)
While many history books focus on The Crusades from just one view point, the Christians or the Muslims, Thomas Asbridge has decided to convey the epic tale of The Crusades from both perspectives. This is a fantastic way to educate your audience as you avoid a large proportion of bias. It also allows the reader to assess the situation from both sides and then make an informed opinion on why something happened. While the book is rather brief towards the end, compared to the vast detail on the First, Second and Third crusades, I believe that the book serves as a great gateway to explore the various other crusades as well as those undertaken in the Baltic and modern-day Spain. If you want to educate yourself about The Crusades then I thoroughly recommend you buy this book, it fills you in on the necessary basics and allows you to explore other areas in greater depth. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and insightful piece of work., 25 Oct. 2010
By 
Benito (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I completely agree with every other review - this is an outstanding book that covers the whole crusading era from both the Islamic and Christian point of view. It discusses the social, political and religious aspect of the crusades in great detail. All the main characters of the time (plus many of the lesser known ones) are brought to life. The book is well researched, very well written and unbiased. It has enough maps to keep me happy and there are 16 pages of photographs/illustrations. The only down side for me was that Mr Asbridge didn't go into enough detail on the military tactics used by the armies involved and gives comparatively brief descriptions of the battles that took place. Please don't let that put you off this masterpiece of a book. It still thoroughly deserves the five stars awarded by me and the other reviewers.
I'm not sure how useful the book will be for students studying History and such like, but for everyone else who's interested in this era - you won't find a better alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Crusades: The War for the Holy Land
The Crusades: The War for the Holy Land by Thomas Asbridge (Paperback - 19 Jan. 2012)
£9.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews