Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully- written fusion of past and present
The Dream House is a truly great read which had me chuckling one moment and crying the next. It's a book which, in the lightest and most enjoyable of ways, compares the predicaments faced by two women living a hundred years apart. One minute you are busy empathizing with the modern day dilemmas of Kate as she seeks to juggle being a successful career woman and a...
Published on 13 May 2006 by Vince

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This could've been quite an enjoyable story - I'm prepared to go along with some incredible coincidences, but this is also littered with cheesy cliches and ugly Americanisms which are really aggravating. The writing is pretentious (although the parts set in the 1920s seem better), and so are the characters.

The writing is also fairly bland, partly because there...
Published 15 months ago by ethics girl


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully- written fusion of past and present, 13 May 2006
This review is from: The Dream House (Paperback)
The Dream House is a truly great read which had me chuckling one moment and crying the next. It's a book which, in the lightest and most enjoyable of ways, compares the predicaments faced by two women living a hundred years apart. One minute you are busy empathizing with the modern day dilemmas of Kate as she seeks to juggle being a successful career woman and a successful mother. The next, when Kate finds her dream house in the country, you are being whisked back in time to witness the Victorian predicaments once faced by its now elderly inhabitant Agnes. Agnes' story is both tragically gripping and fascinating in its detail - can you imagine watching the first traffic lights being put up on Oxford Street??! The two eras are cleverly linked in a story that is intricately woven and keeps you guessing to the very end. I really couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 May 2013
By 
ethics girl (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream House (Paperback)
This could've been quite an enjoyable story - I'm prepared to go along with some incredible coincidences, but this is also littered with cheesy cliches and ugly Americanisms which are really aggravating. The writing is pretentious (although the parts set in the 1920s seem better), and so are the characters.

The writing is also fairly bland, partly because there is no sense of place, other than 'placename-dropping'. The author mentions the 'landscape' and 'light' of Suffolk once or twice, but does not actually describe them, and there are very few references to architecture - despite the book being called 'The Dream House', there is no real description of what this is, other than 'the sort of house you draw as a child'. It was quite disappointing to finish this book having virtually no idea of the style, period, architecture, or even general appearance of Kate's dream house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent blend of historical detail and real life situations, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Rachel (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dream House (Paperback)
I'm a fan of historical novels and family-sagas so this book was right up my street. I was a bit cautious when starting this novel as it was a gift from my mum and I've sometimes found some of her favourite books to be a bit flat and predictable. Thankfully, this book exceeded my expectations as I really found myself connecting with the protagonist and was completely immersed in the story.

Kate is eight years into her marriage to Simon when they decide to move to the country to rekindle their love and reconnect with their children. While Kate leaves her high-flying publishing job to become a stay-at-home mum, her husband commutes to London during the week. Eventually they begin to see less and less of each other, and although Kate and the kids are settled in Suffolk, making friends with their neighbours and creating a new life for themselves, Kate and Simon's marriage still seems to be on the rocks. I think that any woman would sympathise with Kate's situation, and it even made me - a nineteen year old, unmarried university student - realise how difficult "commuter marriages" are. Her life also struck a chord with me as I'd love to work in publishing, but know that ultimately, I'd want to stay at home when I have children. My long term boyfriend is also called Simon...spooky!

While exploring her new home area with her children, Kate discovers a beautiful old house - one that she thinks she's dreamed about - which belongs to a long lost relative. Whilst dealing with her new life and the difficulties with her husband, Kate also discovers a long-ago unsolved mystery surrounding her new-found Aunt Agnes that she is determined to solve. Here, the "narrative within a narrative" style of writing takes off as Kate discovers secrets about her Aunt Agnes, and her own family, in her old diaries. This style will be familiar to fans of Kate Morton's The House at Riverton or The Forgotten Garden, although this novel isn't so evenly split between the modern and past narratives. It was fascinating to dip into the 1920s and experience life through the eyes of Agnes. Although I didn't become so connected to her as I did to Kate, it was exciting to uncover the mysteries surrounding her and her family.

I'll admit that it did take me a while to get into the story, but in the end I really cared about the characters and wanted them to achieve happiness in their lives. This is a book with happy endings all round, so if you're looking for a serious novel with absolutely nothing predictable then this might not be for you. But if you like a splash of romance, a dabble of mystery and good dash of historical detail and family problems then I'd recommend this author. 4.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an easy read but a bit predictable, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Dream House (Paperback)
The Dream House

This was an interesting easy read, but maybe there were too many disasters fitted in to be very realistic

Add to that recurrent dreams of a house in days past, miraculously found in the present. It was sometimes very obvious what was going to happen - and who was going to end up with whom

Having said all that I did quite enjoy this, but I doubt I will re-read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 Jun 2007
By 
CL (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dream House (Paperback)
I never thought I would like this book. But it actually turned out to be one of my favourites! I read a lot of books, all kinds of books, and this one really took me into its story, charachters and wonderful world! I wish I'd written it, that's how much I love it! Buy it because of its amazing story and very affordable price! A perfect summer read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, slow to start and lacks detail, 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Dream House (Paperback)
I liked the sound of the story, but found it slow to start with and nearly put it down. The story does get better, but it's terribly predictable and lacks the detail to really bring the story to life. There are some references to the style of the house and the surrounding countryside, but not enough.

The break down of the marriage is glossed over, possibly because there are so many other storylines going on. The description of the 1920's era is slightly better, but still lacking. The end is completely predictable and so many of the strangers finding out that they are in fact long lost relatives is unrealistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing reading, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream House (Kindle Edition)
Disappointing reading; Kate and Simon's marriage was obviously going to be a problem from the beginning, and the twists in the plot were predictable. I disliked most of the main characters, Kate was irritating, Simon unpleasant, the children badly behaved to the point that it was annoying reading about them. The entire cast were cliched, two dimensional and uninteresting. The plot was far fetched and unconvincing. It took me days to read this book, because I pretty much knew what was going to happen, and wasn't really interested anyway. If you want something to read that isn't too demanding, when travelling for example, this book would do but for a good read I wouldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream House (Kindle Edition)
Having read two books by this author and thoroughly enjoying them, I was looking forward to a real treat with this one. It wasn't to be... Whilst the story in principal is a sound one, there are just far too many coincidences, which leave the reader in the early stages with no doubts as to what will happen at the end. Every loose end is tied up all too neatly, the mystery is dispelled too soon. What a shame....
Also whoever edited this book for kindle has done a poor job; there are countless formatting errors, including random words which have no place in the text. Very strange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream House (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful easy reading. I will definitely be purchasing more Rachel Hore novels. Good holiday or bed time book. 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dream House (Kindle Edition)
Yet again Rachel Gore does not disappoint. An excellent story which keeps you enthralled from start to finish. Cannot wait for her next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dream House
The Dream House by Rachel Hore (Paperback - 22 Nov 2012)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews