Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars57
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2006
Mary Higgins Clark is a technically excellent writer. "No Place Like Home" starts off with an improbable event, linked to a decades-old murder, linked to heroine Liza Barton, linked to... This is intriguing, page-turning stuff, full of twists and mysteries as the heroine is faced with one trauma and life-threatening situation after another but battles on against adversity. An enjoyable, hard-to-put-down mystery thriller.

Downsides: none, if you like fast-moving thrillers set in small-town America. People who like a wider canvas may find Liza Barton's world a bit parochial.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2006
This is a truly fantastic book. I was gripped from the first page and finished the book the very next day! From the start you are drawn in by the characters and their lives. I have recommended this to all my friends. Wonderful.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a fantastic book that gripped me from the beginning. Although a little slow in places it still remains a definite page turner, and the book certainly picks up the pace in the last hundred pages or so as everything happens! A downside is people who have read a lot of thriller books are able to work out who did it quite easily so the ending was ruined for me as I worked it out but nonetheless an enjoyable read with a heart warming ending.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When Celia Nolan's husband Alex buys a new house, Celia is horrified to discover it's her childhood home. Celia has a past - she killed her mother and tried to kill her stepfather in this house when she was a child. Now with a new identity, a new husband and a four-year-old son, Celia is thrown back into the community she thought she had left behind. And as murders begin to happen around her, it seems the past is determined to catch up with her.

Higgins Clark writes smoothly and well. This book is part murder mystery, part thriller and part romance. Another reviewer has compared her to Agatha Christie and this is a valid comparison in some respects. Like Christie, her main characters are well off, living in affluent areas. There's no graphic violence or language - the book almost, but not quite, falls into the 'cosy crime' genre. But unlike Christie, the plotting is loose and transparent. The bad guys are obvious villains and the heroine is one-dimensionally good. This means that there's very little tension or mystery and the ending comes as no surprise.

Overall, however, a reasonably enjoyable, undemanding read that pleasantly whiled away a few hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2006
As usual Mary higgins clark has me enthralled.Just when i thought I had the plot all wrapped up she jerked the rug from under my feet. Nail biting reading; well rounded characters, loved it
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
I loved this book and read it a few times and enjoyed it every time. Celia Nolan is a lady with a secret she'd do anything to keep hidden. Even murder? Emily is married to Alex, a busy lawyer. He buys her a house as a present for her birthday, but this house has a history attached to it. A murder took place there twenty flour years ago and was committed by a ten year old girl. The house is called "Little Lizzie's Place". When Celia and Alex move into the house the house is vandalized. Could this be connected to Celia's secret from the past?

Very good book. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2012
I had read another Mary Higgins Clark in paperback and enjoyed it so I tried this one on kindle and couldn't put it down. The plot centres around the events in a house known as 'Little Lizzie's place' and the happenings years later affecting a child who had killed her mother there. (It's not that dark). Although some of the events are predictable, there is a twist at the end that I didn't suspect. I'm definitely looking out for more by this author!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have read most of Mary's books and loved them all and this one is no exception I had read ir before a few years ago but was just
as thrilled with it as before. please Mary write some more books soon. every book of hers has a completely different plot there is no samey about any of them , they all surprise and keep you guessing A Happy reader
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
At £1.99 this was a Kindle bargain. Great pity more of Mary's books are not offered at this price. Really enjoyed this story despite it's patricide theme. Recommended. Hope all of Mary's books will be available and affordable on Kindle soon, including the really early ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
The suspense and intrigue keeps you on the edge of your chair. I have always loved her books and can recommend her books to anyone.

Keep up the good work and I look forward to reading more of your books..

I give this book five stars
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.