Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, passion, fascinating characters: great
You've gotta love Kresley Cole as a fantasy author. She certainly knows how to make characters lovable and fascinating. Our boy, little brother to Nicholai Wroth, is Sebastian. He's been skulking about this old castle (a bit like Angel after he got back his soul), scaring some ignorant villagers and Kaderin, the Cold Hearted Valykerie comes to end his torment...
Published on 30 Nov. 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sebastian deserved Better!!!
I was looking forward to reading this series. The first book 'A Hunger Like No Other' was really good.
And couldn't wait to start reading 'No Rest for the Wicked'.

The first few chapter were fine but then after that, it went downstream fast.
Kaderin was an awful heroine, I thoroughly disliked her. She was basically abusive to Sebastian, every time...
Published on 12 Mar. 2009 by Lulu


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventure, passion, fascinating characters: great, 30 Nov. 2006
You've gotta love Kresley Cole as a fantasy author. She certainly knows how to make characters lovable and fascinating. Our boy, little brother to Nicholai Wroth, is Sebastian. He's been skulking about this old castle (a bit like Angel after he got back his soul), scaring some ignorant villagers and Kaderin, the Cold Hearted Valykerie comes to end his torment.

Anyway, Kaderin finds that she cannot kill this beautiful vampire, and the next thing you know, he's been blooded (read the book to find out what I mean!) and passion explodes between them. Kaderin flees rather than face her feelings, but Sebastian is determined and very intelligent, and comes after her. Sebastian is quite wonderful as modest, clever, determined and very sexy.

Kaderin has entered an exciting race, with all sorts of Lore creatures and immortals, to win a prize that could save her sisters' lives and the way Sebastian helps her without ever making feel incapable is very cool.

There's a great subplot with the gorgeous Bowen, the werewolf friend of Lachlain from A Hunger Like No Other. It's the next book, and I'm waiting eagerly for this installment.

Don't miss it. Packed full with humour, adventure, passion and characters you just want to read more of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 29 Jan. 2007
First things first if you are thinking of buying this book , stop now if you haven't already read A hunger like no other. These books can be read alone, but you will not enjoy the book half so much, if you haven't read the first. I would advise you to buy them both together , because if your anything like me then it'll save you having to get fast track delivery for the next one!.

I absolutely LOVED this second book of the series.Kresley Cole has now earned a place on my fantastic romantic writers list. This book does not dwell on the "love scenes" as much as in the first book , but they are every bit as steamy and wonderfully woven into a great plot. I loved the whole Hie game (which is a competition all the Lore can enter hosted by a goddess)running throughout. Kresley Cole doesn't patronise the reader in this book and has naturally moved on from "A hunger like no other" where she concentrated on and explained the drawing needs of finding your one true love as an immortal. With that established she moves on with her plot , in this book weaving in her characters from the first book brilliantly. Although she concentrates on the relationship between the two main characters , you find yourself being interested in Bowen and other characters and I cant wait to find out what happens to him , in her next book.

Was sorely disapointed to learn that this hasnt already been published but it'll be worth the wait im sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good and more indepth than the first!, 20 Mar. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought both Kresley Coles dark immortal series books together (A Hunger like no other and No rest for the Wicked) and I'm really pleased I did as it was the best 3 days I've spent reading in a long long time! I had never read any books previously by this author and noticed the 5 star fiasco between both pages and thought it would be worth a shot - and it really was!

It's hard to define which book was my favourite as they were both very different which I found to be incredibly refreshing!

In this book, 'No rest for the wicked' we see a Valkyrie and a Vampire story unfold (bearing in mind Vampire's are the enemy of the Valkyrie), but it wasn't just all about getting in the sack to put it mildly, the sub plot was exciting and riveting with the Valkyrie entering a series of challenges to win a very special prize at the end that can make her change series of events that happened in the past. Think Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire but the tasks are 20 times deadlier and no kids allowed! ;) Yes, the passion is hot and the Vampire male is loveable. I would have happily pulled him out the book if I could and claimed him myself!

This series is a great one to start with if you love all things supernatural and passionate! I'm a big fan of Sherrilyn Kenyon's Dark Hunter series too, and so if you like them books, you'll like these I'm sure!

Can't wait for the next book in this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good nights read., 26 Nov. 2006
By 
Chessy "CHESSY" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kaderin is a Valkyrie known famously for her coldblooded, revengeful. sword slaying of vampires after losing her two sisters to a vampire whose life she mistakingly spared during a bloodied battle-leaving her emotionless.

A thousand centuries on she is on a small erand to a desolated castle to evenge the world of one less vampire the villages are scared of-Sebastian Wroth. Except this lonely vampire is willing to die as he sees no reason to live, though inadvertently she saves him instead as they are drawn to each other, Kaderin finds she is destined to be his bride.

She immediately runs from him not bearing the idea that a blood thirst vampire is meant to be her husband yet after three hundred years alone sebastian

is willing to live and fight for her and won't stop until he claims her as his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second in an epic series that is still amazing 13 books on, 21 Sept. 2014
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second book in the Immortals After Dark series which I originally purchased and read for the first time 5 years ago and have just recently re-read. If you are thinking of reading this series for the first time then I can highly recommend it as it just unbelievably gets better and better each book on when you think that it can't possibly do so. I would definitely advise reading the series in order as although you can read them as stand alone books they make much more sense when read as the series. At the time of writing this review the series is onto it's thirteenth full book (and a few e-novella's/short stories too) and unlike some series the writing is still fresh and new feeling.

The premise of the Immortals After Dark series is that all the mythical beings you thought were make believe are not and that they all exist; Valkyries, Vampires, Werewolves aka Lykae, Fey and Witches. They call their world the Lore and live amongst us but they don't all get on and the good side (Vertas) wars with the bad side (Pravus). Every five hundred years there is an accession which is a time where both sides are destined to fight and destroy each other and only the strong will survive.

This book sees Kaderin the Cold Hearted Valkyrie sent out to kill a lone vampire who has been scaring the local villagers with his roaming around the local castle. Kaderin loathes leeches as one was responsible for the murder of her two sisters and is her coven's top vampire slayer. Sebastian Wroth was turned against his will into a vampire by his elder brothers when they returned home to find him and their other brother fighting for their lives after a bunch of marauding Russian soldiers murdered the rest of their family. He has never come to terms with being turned and craves the eternal death that this Valkyrie now offers him. However when he becomes blooded from her and his heart starts to beat again for the first time he realises that she is his fated bride. Kaderin runs from Sebastian as what can be worse than being a vampires fated mate? When she enters into the Hie which is a supernatural contest with a very special prize of a key that can take you back to any point in time and her sole way of going back to save her sisters from their deaths she is surprised when Sebastian also enters. It soon turns out that Sebastian is there to help her though even though he does so without her knowledge. But when she has to choose between him and saving her sisters who will she choose?...........

A brilliant second installment and the Hie really makes the book different to the rest of the series and stand out. We meet the stars of the third book during the Hie too (Mariketa the awaited and Bowen MacRieve) and this is the first book where you start to see the Lore character's stories start to intermingle. A definite must read series for fans of paranormal romance and one of my still favourite series alongside The Lords of The Underworld by Gena Showalter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow somebody needs to make these books into a tv or movie series now, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second book in Cole's series looks at the story of kaderin the cold hearted and Sebastian wroth. Kaderin is a valkeyrie who was once known as kaderin the warm hearted until she showed mercy to a vampire in the last accession who than went onto kill two of her sisters. After feeling guilt and sorrow for the loss of her sisters her emotions stop and she becomes known as kaderin the cold hearted. She becomes the valkeyries deadliest assassin and dedicates her life to killing vampires which is how she meets Sebastian. Brother to nikoli wroth Sebastian hates his existence as a vampire which was forced upon him by his brothers murdoch and nikloi Sebastian has cut himself off from his brothers and the rest of the world, until he meets kaderin and she awakens him. The second installment of TIAD feels so much bigger in scale than the last book as the hie takes center stage for this story. This is a stroke of brillance by cole as it allows the reader to travel the world rather than being tied to one place. With the competition of the hie in place we are given a load of the new creature to add to the lore and new characters to become immersed in. All of the characters from the previous book apart from lachlyn are also present in this book giving a sense of familiarity and flowing continuality from the last book as well as setting the scene for the next story involving Bowen. Just as awesome as the first book and building upon an amazing mythology that sure to get bigger and more complicated cole blends just the right balance of the supernatural, action and romance to tell a cracking story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The melting of the ice queen, 24 April 2011
By 
C. Manning (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Kaderin freed a vampire out of mercy, she didn't realise that he would soon be responsible for the tragic deaths of her two beloved sisters. After that happened some benevolent force deadened all of her emotions turning her into Kaderin the Cold Hearted, the deadliest valkyrie alive who lives to destroy vampires. Sebastian Wroth was turned into a vampire centuries ago against his will, and when Kaderin comes to kill him he welcomes death. But Sebastian awakens Kaderin's lost feelings and she runs from him. Soon Kaderin and Sebastian are competing in a scavenger hunt that could change history forever.

This is the second in the Immortals after Dark series by Kresley Cole (after Hunger Like No Other) and it is better than the first. I love the idea of the plot being split between the romance and the story of the Talisman's Hie - a supernatural scavenger hunt organised by Riora, the goddess of impossibility. The world is expanded with new races of creatures and lots of weird items on the list for the Hie.

The Hie adds a layer of action throughout the entire book, and I really enjoyed watching Kaderin and Sebastian compete, along with Bowen (a Lykae introduced in the previous book). Bowen's book (Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night) is next in the series and this one does a brilliant job of setting it up.

Unlike with the previous book I liked both lead characters from the very start. Sebastian is sweet and a bit of a nerd, while Kaderin pretty much exemplifies the idea of a kick-butt heroine. Sebastian isn't pushy or cruel like Lachlain, and he tells Kaderin that she is his Bride when they first meet. This book deals more with Kaderin's reluctance to fall for a vampire than the heroine being pursued, and I found it more enjoyable to read.

Oh, and the handy guide to creatures of the Lore (basically anything not human) at the back of the book has been expanded to include the new species introduced in this book.

All in all, this was an awesome read and I'm really looking forward to Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 7/10

Overall: 47/50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Immortals After Dark book 2, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Kaderin is a cold hearted Valkyrie who has made her life's work killing vampires ever since loosing her sisters a thousand years ago. Unable to cope with the sorrow of their deaths she prayed to be spared and ever since has felt no emotions - either good or bad. Sebastian was turned into a vampire against his will and has spent over 300 years wishing to die. When Kaderin is sent to kill Sebastian it should be simple but for the first time ever she finds herself unable to kill a vampire. Sebastian almost immediately recognises Kaderin as his Bride (soul mate) and finds in her a reason to live again. Kaderin on the other hand is horrified to find herself attracted to a vampire - one of her sworn enemies and tries to run away from her feelings.

Taking part in the Hie - a quest for immortals that includes all kinds of difficult tasks - Sebastian wants to win to prove his worth to Kaderin. Kaderin is the champion though & doesn't want anyone's help, having won the last 5 competitions on her own, but this time the prize is something that she is desperate to win - a way to save her sisters - and it looks like she is going to need to work with Sebastian if she wants the prize.

Although I liked A Hunger Like No Other I found I enjoyed No Rest For The Wicked even more. I liked Sebastian immediately and found him a much more lovable hero than Lachlain. Kaderin I found harder to like but she did grow on me as I learnt more about her history and as she began to change with the return of her feelings. I thought the developing relationship between Sebastian & Kaderin was very well done and I loved the passion between them both. I liked the fact that even though Sebastian knew she was his Bride he wasn't immediately confessing undying love for Kaderin but felt they would grow to love each other in time.

I enjoyed the action in the sub plot of the Hie, it added an extra element to the story and made it different from any other paranormal romance book I've read before. As with the first book there is still a large cast of characters but I'm finding it much easier to keep track of who everyone is now now I'm more immersed in the world Kresley Cole has created. Overall I felt that No Rest For The Wicked was a great continuation of the series - one I enjoyed even more than the last book & I'm looking forward to seeing where the series goes from here. I can't wait to start the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd book in the series, more exciting than the first, 18 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This second book switches focus to Kaderin the Cold Hearted, whom we met in Emmaline's story in book one. She hasn't felt any emotions for as long as she can remember for reasons that she calls "The Blessing". This has proven useful in her chosen profession of slaying vampires. When we meet her at the start of the book, she find herself hesitating to kill a vampire (Sebastian), something that has only happened to her once before and that time it resulted in the death of her sisters. This time, the encounter results in a rush of feelings for the first time in centuries and the shocking discovery that her presence has "blooded" the vampire (causing his heart to beat again). This can only mean that she is his bride (vampire's mate for life) even though she is not of his kind. Despite temporarily giving in to the new feelings of lust, she knows that she must get away from him, a vampire that could succumb to bloodlust at any time.
The story follows Kaderin as she tries to keep Sebastian at arm's length while she competes in a dangerous competition which, if she wins, will allow her to change the past and bring her sisters back.
This book is every bit as good as the first. In some ways, it is more exciting particularly because of the competition element and Sebastian's desperation to win her over. He is a more endearing hero than Lachlain in many ways, less forceful (although he can be when he wants to!) and more broken. We also learn more about Kaderin and Emmaline's family- particularly Nix the fortune teller and Regin. We also get introduced a little better to Myst and her vampire husband, Nicholae, who happens to be Sebastian's brother. Bowen, who also appeared in the first book competes in the competition against Kaderin which is a good lead in to book 3 which, I believe, focuses on him.
It's a really good book and could be read on its own but I would read book 1 "A hunger like no other" first personally because it introduces a lot of the characters that you meet again here. I would recommend it and have read it twice in 2 days. Shame about the awful book covers. It's really worthy of something more modern and less trashy looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Immortals After Dark" series book 2, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kaderin the Cold Hearted is aptly named since witnessing the deaths of her sisters by a vampire centuries ago. This Valkyrie received "The Blessing", the ability to block out all emotion; leaving her isolated from the pain of her sisters' deaths, but also joy and love. A vicious killer, Kaderin is determined to wipe out all vampires and never imagines she could become the "Bride" of one of the very creatures she hates so much.

300 years ago Sebastian Wroth was turned unwillingly into a vampire by his brother. Although this saved his life, Sebastian despises what he has become and when a beautiful woman enters his isolated castle he is ready to die at her hand. Kaderin in turn finds herself unable to swing the killing blow, and rather than behead this vampire she instead feels his heart beat for the first time since he was "turned", a sure sign he has met his destined mate; his Bride.

One moment Sebastian is ready to face death, the next he is offered life by a woman who hates what he is as much as he does; yet he remains determined to woo her. If this means entering a supernatural contest and keeping her out of danger (disregarding the fact she has won this competition consistently) so that she can win some fabled key to turn back time then so be it; but his Valkyrie seems unwilling to accept his help during the most life threatening of situations whilst successfully keeping him at arms length and denying her attraction to him.

Amazon needs to introduce a new rating system so I can fairly award this book. I loved the first of this series "A Hunger Like No Other" and gave it the top 5 stars; however this book "No Rest For The Wicked" is soooooo much better. The contests Kaderin and Sebastian face, along with significant supernatural opponents including "werewolf" Bowen (who takes the lead role in the next book "Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night") and siren Lucindeya are highly risky yet Kaderin remains determined to win the key at any cost; even if she loses the respect and love of the vampire she is reluctantly falling for. This book is one intense adventure or escapade after another with no downtime to relax; even the passionate encounters between the leading lovers are profound as Kaderin tries to deny her feelings for Sebastian; whilst he in turn will do pretty much anything to win a commitment from her and desperately searches for any sign from his Bride that they could have a lasting relationship. That said, do not mistake Sebastian for some down trodden love sick fool; this vampire is alpha all the way as he tries to capture Kaderin's heart; yet he certainly captures the heart of the reader long before she admits her feelings for him. If this series continues in the same vein, I'll need to award book three 10 stars, book four 20 stars etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark)
No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark) by Kresley Cole (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews