Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wildly Delicious Read!
Ms. Cole's latest effort is "wildly" delicious and entertaining. She has taken the paranormal genre and created her very own legends and lore...filled with ultra entertaining characters.
Emmaline is half vampire and half Valkyrie. She is known in her coven as Emma the timid. Her family is shocked when she decides she wants to travel to Paris alone to find out the...
Published on 10 April 2006 by Kristi Ahlers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okayish. Bit slow.
I'll put my cards on the table and admit straight off the bat that I usually read thrillers. I was given the full series of Immortals After Dark to read by a woman I know.

Love-hungry teenage schoolgirls may be the demographic for these books rather than middle-aged men, so bare this in mind when I describe it as being a bit amateurish and simple. It had two...
Published 20 months ago by Snowman


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wildly Delicious Read!, 10 April 2006
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ms. Cole's latest effort is "wildly" delicious and entertaining. She has taken the paranormal genre and created her very own legends and lore...filled with ultra entertaining characters.
Emmaline is half vampire and half Valkyrie. She is known in her coven as Emma the timid. Her family is shocked when she decides she wants to travel to Paris alone to find out the truth about her father. While there she is attacked by a handsome, yummy, strong, yummy, scary...oh yes yummy man who scares the stuffing out of her. She is even more shocked to find out that in order to return to Louisiana she will have to help Lachlain MacRieve the leader of a Lykae Clan return to his home in Scotland. She'll do it believing she will be allowed to return home. She has no idea Lachlain is her forever mate and he has no plans on ever letting her get away.
Lachlain has spent the last hundred and fifty years being tortured by the vampire Demestriu. He is slowly going mad and then...he scents his mate. He has been waiting an eternity to find her and he is not going to let her get away now. He is shocked and somewhat disgusted when he finds out his long awaited mate is half vampire. But despite this he can't keep himself from feeling things for the wee little Emma. She fires his blood and he will do what he must to keep her...even if it means to lie to her. Anything to get her home to Scotland where he will be able to keep her safe and protected when he goes to get revenge against Demestriu. But, life doesn't always go according to plan and wooing Emma is just one of those things. Will he be able to keep her safe and with him or will the vampire horde take away the one thing he needs to live?
Lachlain and Emma are wonderfully constructed characters. These two are both strong likeable characters. Their conflict is entertaining as is their way of dealing with what they face. Emma is sassy and quick witted...Lachlain is patient and yummy. This is a great new series and I truly can't wait for the next installment. Ms. Cole has made her mark on the paranormal genre and is an author you need to add to your must read list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG! This is outstanding!, 25 May 2006
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After enduring fifteen decades of torture from the vampire horde, Lachlain MacRieve, king of the Lykae Clan, finally scents the predestined mate he has waited millennia for. He does the unthinkable to escape and track her down. But upon doing so, he is enraged to find that she is a vampire, a bloody leech! It hardly matters that Emmaline is half Valkyrie too. Yet she is the one, no question about it.

Emmaline "Emma" Troy never knew her parents. She grew up with a coven of Valkyries at Val Hall Manor, just outside New Orleans. At the young age of seventy, Emma sets out to uncover the truth about her deceased parents - until a powerful Lykae claims her as his mate and forces her back to his ancestral Scottish castle. There, her fear of the Lykae, and their notorious dark desires, ebbs as Lachlain begins a slow, wicked seduction to mark her as his - forever!

As the Valkyries prepare for war to get Emma back and Lachlain vows to never release her, there is another ancient evil searching for Emma. Will their desire deepen into a love that can bring a proud warrior to his knees and turn a gentle beauty into the fighter she was born to be?

***** OMG! You have GOT to read this one! If I ever find this title in hardback I will not hesitate to buy it. I plan to search the book clubs immediately. But I simply had to spread the word about this enthralling series! Author Kresley Cole has created a world that DEMANDS another visit from readers. I was so engrossed in reading it that my husband asked if I had super glued my eyes to the pages. I can hardly wait until "No Rest for the Wicked" is released later this year. Do not worry, each title is a stand alone story. But the author will have her hands full to top this one. On a side note, my favorite secondary character is Nx. She is a soothsayer. Uh, excuse me, she is "predeterminationally abled". I look forward to seeing her again! *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sizzling!!, 31 Mar 2006
By A Customer
A new paranormal series - Lachlain is a werewolf who has been captured in chains by vampires for 150 years repeatedly burned and reincarnated. Only the knowledge that his mate exists keeps him going, then one day he "scents" her and gets free. The problem is of course that his mate is a vampire - or is she?
This is an excellent new series and the development of both characters and the will they won't they interactions is definately worth waiting for - a good read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet couple!!!, 26 May 2010
I find it disturbing when the majority of romance books I am reading, contains sexual attractiveness, but severely lacking in foundations setting up the falling in love scenario and fall short in characterisation development to create profound connection between the h/h. Needless to say, this book did not disappoint me and the connection between Lachlain and Emmaline was exiting and the author actually spent some time to fully develop their characters as well as their growing feelings to one another. I dare to say, that I was not impressed at first with Lachlan's motives upon Emmaline, but it was after reviled the reason behind it (thank goodness) and I was satisfied with both the hero and heroin's point of views and I could easily relate to the complexity of divergence between them.

Aside from the romance, there is a good plot of secondary characters and adventure in particular, I found interesting, when Emmaline struggled to come face to face with her own father as being her enemy and how she actually managed to overcome her own fears and did the right thing to do. I found Emmaline very innocence, non materialistic, brave and independent and the whole combination was so refreshing! Lochlain was more complex, but that just added the mystery and sexiness to his character which blended well with his softer side, as being protective and determine. My major highlight of the book was when Lochlain actually admitted to himself the mistakes and hurt he caused Emmaline and the immediate remorse he felt it which melted my heart and I could forgive him his flaws. I will mention brefly that the sexual context is spicy but not too overdone to spoil the delicacy of their romance and I quite enjoyed the interactions between the two, prior, that I could feel there was love attached to it and not just sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Immortals After Dark" series book 1, 8 Feb 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emmeline (Emma) Troy (daughter of Helen - I'll let you make the connection) is unique. Not only is she the only remaining female vampire left in the world, she is in fact only half vampire as her mother was a Valkyrie. A young 70 odd years old, for the first time Emma is free of the forceful (and somewhat vicious) personalities who raised her, a bunch of Valkyries who are ironically the enemies of the vampiric race.

Currently in Paris trying to discover who her father is, Emma instead motivates a creature to escape when he scents her, a Lykae (werewolf) who has been imprisoned and tortured by vampires for over 150 years. Lachlain; king of the Lykae will stop at nothing to claim his destined mate, the one woman made to be his perfect match; however he is left angry, horrified and convinced his torture has maddened him when he discovers the woman he has waited for over 1000 years for is nothing more than a leech, a soulless killer and the number one enemy of his people.

Emma of course is not like a standard vampire. She's never taken blood from a source and remains a timid creature until fate lands her with Lachlain; a man she is convinced is nothing more than a beast. One moment he seems to care for her and then the next, he's destroying rooms in a fit of temper, scaring the hell out of her and ripping off her clothes. Yet she can't tamper down her attraction to this man who is obvious in his hatred of all vampires and as she remains with him, she finds within herself a strength and determination she never thought she possessed.

It's always great when you find a book with a fresh approach in a genre you enjoy. "A Hunger Like No Other" has the standard immortal creatures you expect to find in paranormal romance (namely vampires and shape shifters) however with the introduction of the Valkyrie and other creatures of the Lore (which I've never come across before) this book has new dimensions which really interested me, an interest that was maintained by an action packed story line and some hot bedroom action. Kresley Cole's actual first offering in this series was part of an anthology "Playing Easy to Get" published in 2006. Although I gave this short story 5 stars and at that time pre-ordered "A Hunger Like No Other", for some forgotten reason I cancelled this and failed to chase up subsequent releases by this author. Of course I am now jumping on the KC fan club bandwagon several years later than I should have and kicking myself for not ordering this book when it was first released. On a positive note, there are now another five books available in this series which I have ordered and intend to read as quickly as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First in the Immortals After Dark Series, 29 Jun 2008
(Actually I think the short story The Warlord Wants Forever in the Playing Easy to Get anthology is technically first, though some of that story takes place at the same time as AHLNO.)

After enduring over a century of being repeatedly burned to death and then being resurrected, Lachlain MacRieve is perhaps not in the best frame of mind when he escapes to search for his destined mate. He is even more upset to learn his destined mate is the (half) vampire Emmaline, especially as it was the vampire Horde who chained him up in front of a column of eternal fire in the first place. So begins the rocky road of their romance. And just when it seems they have sorted their problems out, Emmaline's past finally catches up with them.

I know some people have a problem with Lachlain, taken at face value, his actions don't show him in the best light. To begin your courtship of someone by sexually assaulting them, is perhaps not the best way to start. But I think this has to be placed in context:- his attitudes are 150 years out of date, he has been tortured in a way that is hard for us to understand, repeatedly being burnt to death with no hope of reprieve - for over a century, so at the beginning of the book he is not in his own mind. He's running on instinct and fury.
Is his behaviour acceptable - no. But I think it's understandable. Plus, this is a man prepared to rip off his own leg to get to his mate.

Emmaline on the other hand is a bit wimpy in the beginning. Half vampire/half valkyrie, she seems to have more of the weaknesses of the two races rather than their strengths. It is through her relationship with Lachlain that she finally begins to stand on her own two feet and ultimately takes her destiny into her own hands.

Lachlain had to be with someone who would call him on his behaviour. Initially he sees and refers to her as 'vampire' and not Emma, as long as he does this, she's just a thing to him - one he can do anything to because she's a vampire not a person. For a lot of the book there is this understandable distrust between them. Not helped by the fact that Lachlain decides what's in Emma's best interests for her to know or not know.

"...Now she believes I'm a liar. Probably because I lied to her."

And whilst most of their confusions could be sorted out if they'd only talk to each other - it's very difficult for either of them to take that first step.

This book sets up the world and mythology of the Lore. Besides Lachlain and Emma we're introduced to numerous characters - Nix, Kaderin, Daniela, Lucia, Bowen - who has some of the best lines during his short appearance in the story. But Kresley Cole manages to keep all of her balls in the air. At the same time teasing us with frustrating hints about who might make appearances in future books.

Each character is well drawn and whilst we might not always like the way in which they behave, it's possible to understand why they choose to behave in that way.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking., 18 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book not really that bothered one way or the other, now I'm addicted to the Immortals after Dark Series.

It is beyond fantastic.

You find yourself immersed in the reality not questioning the existance of werewolves or vampires etc. It truly is magical.

And the heat, oh my. You find yourself holding your breath at the anticipation.

Well worth a 5 star rating :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally unputdownable, 16 Mar 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Wiltshire, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book due to the 5 star fiasco on this page and thought I'd give it a go - and OMG! I'm so pleased I did. I've never read a vampire/werewolf book in my life as I always imagined them being horror based and I'm not good with horror, but when I saw this under Romantic fiction I couldn't help myself and gave it a go. I read this book in 2 days (inbetween baby and work) and it played on my mind so much I couldn't sleep because I couldn't wait to see what happened next!

This is a wonderful love story with erotic scenes that are generally not for the faint hearted - if you are shocked easily then it's not for you, but as a women I think we all need a good erotic book now and then and it really didn't disappoint me. It left me hungry for more! ;)

I won't go into the story, thats been done already and I don't want to give anything away - I just really recommend it and Kresley Cole, I am your fan! I've also just finished yesterday her second book in this new series and that was amazing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh... My....GOD!!, 18 Aug 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dear lord, this is the horniest, sexiest, most unbelievably erotic book I have EVER read! The sexual tension in it is almost unbearable!

I must admit I havent made a habit of picking up erotic fiction and I'm sure there is much ruder more pornagraphic stuff out there (which is not my cup of tea AT ALL). But this was so SEXY!

It was like Buffy or Charmed for adults with hot horny sex and romance thrown in. The book had me gripped from the first page and the characters are well written and 3 dimensional. There is good humour and loveable characters a fantastic hero and a loveable heroine.

I would recomend this book to anyone with a weakness for huge brooding, devastatingly attractive masculine heroes who have been driven mad with misery and longing, searching for a thousand years for "Her" ... "The One".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kresley Cole turned out to be a refreshing new voice!!, 12 Dec 2007
Be prepared to be taken in to a world of Lykae, Valkyrie and Vampires with The Accession that is upon them. Every five hundred years there is a power struggle among all Factions altering the balance of power among all beings of magic. But that is not the only thing that is changing as Lachlain, trapped under the catacombs of Paris, smells his mate. He tears himself free of the chains that bind him to the walls and for the first time in a hundred and fifty years he is free, free to hunt the woman that is meant to be his mate.

Emmaline is in Paris for one thing, to find out more about her birth father but instead is facing a savage beast of a man that has one thing on his mind: complete possession. This does not sit well with Emmaline but what she doesn't know is that she is meant to be the mate of this man who is the King of the Lykae's. Through circumstances they travel to Scotland together but still events unfold the truth...and it is up to Emmaline and Lachlain if they have the strength to handle it.

Kresley Cole has created a refreshing new world with Factions of Lykae, Valkyrie and Vampires and an interesting Accession that happens every five hundred years and is basically a battle where it is survival of the strongest. This is the background for an enthralling love story, it starts with Lachlain recognizing Emmaline as his mate, the tortured feelings of Lachlain, desperate to claim his mate grabbed me from the very first moments and drew me in to a story that I savored from start to finish.

The characterization is strong, presenting me with background information that explains the world and rules to me and shows me where the characters are coming from. This is important to me for the emotions of Lachlain and Emmaline are experienced all the more intense for that very reason. With sparkling and interesting dialogue and a well paced plot this is a novel that you quickly ease in to and before you know it you've reached the last chapter of it, instantly wanting more of this world, more of these characters and first and foremost more of this kind of love and claiming. The secondary characters all bare enough depth to become leading characters in next novels and I for one am very interested which ones it will be.

Though I have already read much in this genre I feel that Kresley Cole has given her own voice to all the myths and legends creating a vibe all of her own that will reverberate with many readers. For all who cherish this genre, this is an intriguing start of a series to watch out for!

With A hunger like no other Kresley Cole has made a strong statement and proves to be a welcome addition to the paranormal genre.

reviewed by Leontine

Courtesy of Realms on our Bookshelves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark)
A Hunger Like No Other (Immortals After Dark) by Kresley Cole (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
5.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews