Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

64
4.9 out of 5 stars
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 29 January 2009
I write this review assuming you have read the first two books in the Immortals After Dark series. Although these books can be read out of order, because they cross over chronologically, I would recommend you go back and read from the start of the series. 'A Hunger Like No Other' is first, followed by 'No Rest For The Wicked'.

You are first introduced to Bowen in 'A Hunger Like No Other' and then again in 'No Rest For the Wicked'. In both books Bowen is a dark and tormented character pining for his lost mate Mariah. As a Lykae he only gets one mate and has mourned Mariah's loss for centuries. He blames himself for her death because she died running from him. On the night they were to mate and seal their bond, Mariah falters and flees from Bowen. During her frantic escape she tragically dies. Not able to cope with the loss Bowen changes and becomes a shell of his former self.

When Bowen meets Mariketa in 'No Rest For The Wicked' they are both competing in the Talismans' Hie, a mystical version of the Amazing Race, where the prize for winning is the chance to go back in time. This is Bowen's chance to get his mate back. However while competing in The Hie, for the first time since Mariah he is attracted to another woman. Mariketa is a witch, and because of this Bowen assumes his feelings for her are due to a spell she has cast on him. By the time you finish 'No Rest For the Wicked' Bowen has caused Mariketa to be trapped as retaliation for her sorcery, cursing him not only with feelings for her but also restricting his ability to heal from the gruesome injuries he's sustained in The Hie.

'Wicked Deed on a Winter's Night' is an immediate follow on from ' No Rest For The Wicked'. Bowen discovers that his entrapment of Mariketa is about to start a war between the Lykae and the House of Witches. He is tasked with retrieving her by the next full moon in order to avoid war. Upon his return to Mariketa he finds that in spite of her power she was not able to escape as he had assumed she would. In fact nothing about her is as he assumed. The book continues as they race against time to get Mariketa out of the jungle and back to The House of Witches. Can she remove the spells she placed on him? But more importantly, will Bowen want her to remove her enchantments? Can he go against everything he knows and forsake his one true mate and truly fall for Mariketa?

Mariketa the Awaited is a powerful witch and it is prophesised that she will be the most powerful and biggest asset to The House of Witches. However she is only 21 years old, has not yet been set into her immortality and when she tries to cast a spell she tends to blow things up more often than she would like. When she is confronted with the gruff Lykae he acts as a tuning fork for her spell casting but only on spells she casts at him. Once she is freed, she finds herself still trapped, only this time it's by a Lykae who treats her as his mate. Will this free-spirited witch flee him at first opportunity?

Kresley Cole has a wonderfully fluid style of writing which keeps you hooked as you progress through her books and series'. I always find it very hard to put her IAD books down and have re-read them several times. If you are a fan of paranormal romance I would highly recommend her to you.

I love this book - it's is one of my favourite Kresley Cole books. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 15 March 2009
And Bowen? he's to die for!
Let me say after the last book 'No Rest for the Wicked ' which I didn't like, I wasn't sure what to expect in this one. All I can say is that I couldn't put this book down until I finished, and what a climatic ending. Absolutely loved it.
The romantic aspect of this book was so very believable. Bowen and Mari were perfect together.

At 1200 years, Bowen, a ruthless warrior who had lost his mate grew even colder, never taking another to his bed, until a smoldering encounter with his enemy, Mariketa the Awaited reawakens his darkest desires. And finds his Instincts kicking up soon after meeting Mari much to his horror since Bowen as a deep hatred of witches.
Mari is a fiery red-haired witch only 23 and mortal.
Bowen's only aim in life is to win Thrane's Key, that will allow him to go back in time to save his mate who died almost 200 yrs ago. Hence his taking part in the 'Hie'. All the while doing this he tries to fight his insane attraction to Mari, accusing her of enchanting him with a love spell.

Bowen is one gorgeous Lykae, with a big chip on his shoulder. Finding out how this couple fight every obstacle, sometimes apart and sometimes together, to finally overcome the enemy and get together makes for enthralling reading.
You feel the emotions they go through, when things seem to come apart. This book is a fast-paced fantasy adventure, filled with rage, anger, passion and finally love.

Absolutely great story! Can't wait to start the next book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2008
I wonder as I close the third novel, Wicked deeds on a winter's night: Can the Immortal after dark series get any sweeter then this?

Bowen is desperate for the prize of The Hie, his heart knows and feels only one yearning: the return of his murdered mate Mariah to his life, to his body, to his heart. There isn't much that he wouldn't do to reach that goal. During the hunt for the artifacts Bowen meets a witch Mariketa and instantly passion ignites. Still Bowen focuses on his goal and raises his natural barrier of hate for witches and refuses his hunger which is thrumming through his veins. In the end he traps Mariketa with a few others in the cave not knowing something evil lurks in the dark....

In the next weeks both Bowen and Mariketa find out what torture can be like and through circumstances their paths cross again. Though it was a matter of weeks much has changed as the Lykae inside of Bowen roars: Mine his mind roars: No! Yet as they both travel they cannot escape their Destiny, whether it is one they experience together will demand the strength of love, the healing of hope and the power of forgiveness.

With Bowen's story I was thrown back in to the last days of The Hie, only witnessing it from a different perspective this time. Though it felt a bit awkward in the beginning as I knew certain things would happen and the why of it all. It made me feel a bit torn up as Kresley Cole took me to the other side, to the side of Bowen. He grabbed my heart so early on in this series and with his story it only amplified. With a masterful skill in setting up a story and giving voice to devilishly good developed characters she gave me a tortured hero whom evolved throughout the story in such a man any reader of the paranormal genre would pine for. I could do no other then fall head over heels for him, his gruff attitude, his sometimes tactless behavior and then suddenly being utter seductive or thoughtful, all this reflected a great and powerful Lykae whom still made mistakes.

Mistakes Mariketa could not always forgive so easily and there is one time that I actually empathized with Mariketa. She is an interesting mixture of vulnerability and awakening strength which made me attach myself to her with very little effort, I enjoyed her every moment as she had her own Destiny to grow towards. Mariketa and Bowen together are equal to a Bonfire, hot, scorching and consuming, teased with small erotic encounters they fill the pages with heated interaction and a sensuality that is tantalizing slow working its way up to crest in to a possessive passion that I longed for.

The characterization skills and the way Kresley Cole makes it all come alive is something that I revel in as a reader. The investment of time she put in the research is evident in her world building, the set up of each novel in her Immortals after dark series, with each separate thread of Lore, Faction, The Hie and The Accession she interlaces it all into a spectacular background for the characters to shine in. With a solid quality and maybe with a quiet grace the author won me over instantly wanting the next entry in this series!

Another thing that had me rapidly reading the pages is the plot in Wicked deeds on a winter's night, though the start of the book was a crossover with No rest for the wicked it quickly took me in to another direction with Mariketa being the accelerator. There are a few twists and turns that I just didn't see coming and had a huge effect on both me and the story. I dreaded the fact that the ending of this novel came into sight knowing that the author gave Bowen a worthy story and a incredible HEA. The only thing that lessens the frustration of ending it is that I can re-read it and that other novels are in the works.

Immortals after dark is as addictive as dark chocolate!

Reviewed by Leontine
Courtesy of Realms on our Bookshelves
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Bowen MacRieve, the Lykae (werewolf) who appears significantly in the first two books of this series has lived the last 180 years in misery and all consuming grief since losing his mate; a beautiful Elven princess. Determined to win a supernatural contest in order to gain the use of a key to turn back time, he will ruthlessly stop at nothing to eliminate his competition; even the beguiling young witch who seeks to enthrall him with her magic.

Mariketa the Awaited is a 23 year old witch on the cusp of immortality and a great destiny; the latter unfathomable to her considering she is unable to control her volatile and extremely powerful magic. Trapped for three weeks in a cave with crazed incubi; she dreams of killing the immortal responsible for her predicament; Bowen. He in turn has been cursed by Mariketa and has lost his ability to rejuvenate from injuries, so by the end of the contest he is in pretty bad shape; yet still travels to South America to release Mariketa for several reasons. He discovers she is still mortal, possibly the re-incarnation of his lost mate and the future leader of the witches who are now on the brink of war with the Lykae should he fail to return her unharmed.

Yet Bowen's prejudices against witches runs deep and despite his attraction to Mariketa he consistently says the wrong thing or acts inappropriately; leaving the woman he could potentially love either hating him, in tears, or using her impressive magic to angrily throw him around. The taciturn Bowen may have been a charmer several centuries before; however since the loss of his mate he has become increasingly abrasive and finds it difficult to deal with a woman not only over a thousand years younger than him, but a type of immortal he despises.

Again KC has created a stunningly brilliant and passionate paranormal romance. The petty squabbles and down right ferocious battles between Marieka and Bowen are captivating and certainly draw the reader into their intense relationship. Even after Mariketa is "marked" by Bowen, he ends up saying something incredibly stupid and then doing something even worse; an act that could break the heart of the most loving of partners and destroy a long term relationship let alone the new and still fragile bond forming with Mariketa. At this point I could have quite happily stepped into the pages of this book to shake some sense into Bowen, as I was so completely caught up in their relationship.

At the risk of sounding repetitive when reviewing this author's books, I again I have to point out that this book warrants far more than the maximum five stars. Lastly the prologue of book 4 "Dark Needs at Night's Edge" found at the end of this novel had me compulsively ordering it as soon as I closed the pages of "Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night". I've got to say it looks absolutely fabulous and I have no doubt KC will continue to enthrall me with her wonderful immortal characters and adventurous plot lines.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
This is the third book in the Immortals After Dark series which I originally purchased and read for the first time 5 years ago and have just recently re-read. If you are thinking of reading this series for the first time then I can highly recommend it as it just unbelievably gets better and better each book on when you think that it can't possibly do so. I would definitely advise reading the series in order as although you can read them as stand alone books they make much more sense when read as the series. At the time of writing this review the series is onto it's thirteenth full book (and a few e-novella's/short stories too) and unlike some series the writing is still fresh and new feeling.

The premise of the Immortals After Dark series is that all the mythical beings you thought were make believe are not and that they all exist; Valkyries, Vampires, Werewolves aka Lykae, Fey and Witches. They call their world the Lore and live amongst us but they don't all get on and the good side (Vertas) wars with the bad side (Pravus). Every five hundred years there is an accession which is a time where both sides are destined to fight and destroy each other and only the strong will survive.

This book is a follow on from the second book as we first met both love interests there where the were competing in The Hie and Bowen MacRieve had locked Mariketa (Mari) in a cave believing that she has cast a spell on him. Bowen is sent to free Mari when it becomes clear that she hadn't managed to escape the cave and there will be all out war between the Lykae and the Witches if he doesn't. Mari is not the only one in the cave as she has been trapped with others and a whole load of Incubi too so I think Bowen does feel very guilty when he eventually frees her. Can Mari forgive Bowen for locking her up and will Bowen listen to his inner wolf and accept that Mari is his mate.......

A brilliant second installment and the Hie again really makes the book different to the rest of the series and stand out. A definite must read series for fans of paranormal romance and one of my still favourite series alongside The Lords of The Underworld by Gena Showalter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 22 April 2014
Wicked deeds on a winters night begins during the events of the hie contest introduced in the last book and is the story of mariketa the awaited and bowan mcreive. Mariketa is a witch who is briefly introduced in the previous book and bowan is a werewolf who was introduced in the second book and has been a constant character ever since. Both of these characters are competitors in the hie contest and enter a tomb after one of the relics for the competition. Having found the relic bowan takes it and than does a runner sealing the cave behinde him leaving mariketa trapped inside. However before bowan escapes he is hit with a spell by mariketa taking away his healing abilities. Mariketa however isnt just any witch she is yet to become immortal and is the most powerful witch that any of the covens have seen for centuries. So when her coven finds out she is trapped in a tomb filled with incubi they don't take it lightly, neither do any of the other immortals who have also been trapped along with mariketa unbeknownst to bowan. Once all of the immortal clans are aware of there trapped comrades within the cave they demand that bowan gets them back or its an all out war between the Lyke and the other clans. So bowan goes after her and so starts the on off love story of mariketa and bowan. What I love about these books is that there is such a great balance between the romance and action/adventure. Anything is possible within the pages of the books as they cover all immortals therefore any creature or mythical place is in the realm of possibilities to explore. New central characters are introduced for future books and future stories. For anyone who is a fan of the IMAD series this is a brilliant edition to the series full of everything that makes Cole's books so addictive passion, action, adventure and characters you just wish were real.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 11 May 2011
I really enjoyed the main characters love hate relationship. Mariketa is a witch of great power, only she's a bit of a klutzy witch and often ends up blowing stuff up by accident. So, why not join a deadly immortal race?

Bowen lost his mate in a tragic accident long ago and has been slowly withering as the years pass, until he hears about the Talisman's Hie; an immoral race where the prize is a key that can take you back through time to right a wrong. Well, what do you think Bowen wants that for?

He is determined to win the race, but from the start is attention is drawn to Mariketa. Bowen despises witches due to past history that I will not go into. Just know that he hates them a lot. So when he finds himself in a sexy embrace with the little witch, he instantly accuses her of enchanting him. At first Mariketa thinks she might have enchanted him by accident, because she's so clumsy with her magic.

Bowen winds up locking her inside a dangerous cavern where a clan of trapped incubi attack her and the others that are trapped with her. The group fights for their lives for three weeks, while Bowen loses the race. If you read the previous book then that wasn't a surprise.

Later, when Bowen learns that Mariketa has not made the transition into immortality he races off to save her, finding himself more worried than he should. Gee, I wonder why.

And that's when the fun really begins. If you don't know about Kresley Cole and her immortals after dark series, then you have been living under a rock. Read it, you won't be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 25 April 2011
Bowen MacRieve was nearly destroyed when he lost his one fated mate in a tragic accident, and he has spent years mourning his loss. Now he's presented with the opportunity to win her back by competiting in a scavenger hunt alongside a witch who tempts him like no other before. Mariketa the Awaited is the most powerful witch for generations and after a smouldering encounter with Bowen, she is left trapped. In order to stop a war between the witches and the Lykae, Bowen is forced to rescue Mari and he is left wondering if he truly lost his mate...or if he was mistaken all along.

This is the third Immortals after Dark book (after Hunger Like No Other and No Rest for the Wicked) and has a slight overlap with the previous book in that it begins during the Talisman's Hie (a supernatural scavenger hunt). I was really looking forward to this as not only have I liked Bowen since the first book, the last book leads directly into this one. The ending of the previous book means the first couple of chapters here are almost like backstory, but it doesn't detract from the book.

Bowen has always been presented as this broken hearted man desperate for the chance to reunite with his lost mate, and watching him fall for Mari was brilliant. He is a bit pushy and screws up frequently which is funny to read. Mari is brilliant and unique as the first mortal heroine to feature in the series so far. I loved the insight to the witches of the IAD world and it's different to anything I have read before. The romance is well written and carefully developed, and there is a big twist to the ending I didn't see coming.

I really liked the supporting characters introduced in this book, especially the demons Cade and Rydstrom. Having glanced at the backs of the other books in the series I know that their stories are coming up (in books 5 Dark Desires After Dusk and 6 Kiss of a Demon King respectively) and I can't wait to read them. It was also great to be introduced to multiple species of character at once, rather than just focusing on the hero and heroine's races.

The glossary of Lore (supernatural) creatures and terms has moved to the front of the book, and has been expanded again to include the new species and new information on previously included ones.

All in all, this was a great read and I'm really looking forward to Dark Needs at Night's Edge.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 7/10

Overall: 47/50
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Bowen is taking part in the Talisman's Hie (the immortal version of the amazing race) hoping to win a prize that will let him go back in time to save the life of his mate Mariah who died in a tragic accident years ago. Bowen has grieved and searched for a way to save her ever since but this is the closest he has ever come to making his dream come true and he is determined to win at any cost. Mariketa (Mari) is a witch who is also entered in the contest, hoping to prove her ability to the rest of her race. When Bowen is attracted to Mari, the first time he has felt something for anyone since he lost is mate, he believes she must have cast a spell on him. Disgusted with himself for feeling attracted to her he traps her, along with other participants in the Hie and leaves her. When her family threaten war against the Lykae (werewolves) if she is not safely returned to them he has no choice but to rescue her and bring her home. Can he get her back in time? Will she remove the spell she has cast on him? Will he find a way to bring Mariah back to him or will his attraction to Mari win over the desire to find his lost love?

Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night is the third book in the Immortals After Dark series by Kresley Cole and I would recommend reading the series in order. We have already met Bowen in the previous books and this book does actually start before the ending of the previous one allowing us to see the same events from a different perspective. If you've not already read book 2 (No Rest for the Wicked) this story would include spoilers.

I have to say that I put off starting this book because I didn't think I was going to like Bowen much from what I've seen of him in previous stories. I wish I'd read it sooner because I actually found myself really liking him. This is one of my favorite books in the series so far & Bowen is up there with the best of Kresley Cole's heroes. I also really liked Mari, she is a powerful witch but is still young and learning how to use her powers. She comes across as quite vulnerable at times but she is also prepared to fight back when she needs to. I enjoyed watching the relationship developing between them and there were times when I really wasn't sure how they would manage to sort things out.

I have to mention how much I liked the demons Rydstrom and Cade, I'm really hoping that we'll get to read both of their stories later on in the series! Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night was a great installment to a series that I'm liking more and more with every book. If you've not yet discovered the series then I'd recommend it to all fans of paranormal romance, especially if you like an action packed plot to go along with the romance. Although I felt the series got off to a bit of a shaky start it is improving with every book and I'm looking forward to seeing where Kresley Cole takes us next.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 10 November 2010
I'm loving this series more and more. I gave it a five because of the original humor, the unpredictable events, and the seriously hot sex. Kresley Cole writes delayed gratification in its finest.

I didn't expect much from this one since I wasn't familiar with Mariketa The Awaited, and Bowen was a minor character in the first and second book (excluding the prequel about Myst and Nikolai). I loved both characters equally since they tugged at my heartstrings. They had their own issues and I especially liked Mari's strength and how she played her witch's tricks on Bowen. There's a scene here where my heart really went out to her, but I still can't hate Bowen after that.

I've always loved insanely jealous and possessive males and all of the Lykae are like that especially towards their mates. I don't wanna spoil anything here but there were a lot of shockers about his mate Mariah, whom he lost before.

I loved how the story progressed and how their relationship developed, not to mention their growing sexual attraction to each other. As I mentioned before, the humor really did it for me, I'm a goner for laugh-out-loud scenes.
I'm still fascinated by creatures from the Lore and I look forward to reading them, I'm especially amused by their titles "Bowen the Bitter", and I liked the "Father Time" quip. 5 stars
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark, Book 2)
No Rest for the Wicked (Immortals After Dark, Book 2) by Kresley Cole (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Oct. 2006)
£5.99

Dark Needs at Night's Edge (Immortals After Dark)
Dark Needs at Night's Edge (Immortals After Dark) by Kresley Cole (Mass Market Paperback - 19 May 2008)
£5.99

Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark 9)
Pleasure of a Dark Prince (Immortals After Dark 9) by Kresley Cole (Paperback - 3 Mar. 2011)
£7.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.