Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ADDICTIVE, COMFORTING READ
possibly the best book i have read for a decade, so very comforting to read (over and over again!!)Cannie is observant, confident, witty and reassuringly not a size 2, not all of us are built like wire coat hangers with lipstick, the book is so very accurate in so many ways, particulary when dealing with society's obsessions of perfection, I also thought the ending was...
Published on 20 May 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend
I'm surprised that this book has such high ratings - I found the plot inconsistent in tone and increasingly unbelievable as the book went on, with no decent story arc to follow from beginning to end. The semi-tragedy awkwardly chucked into the latter part of the story struck me as incongruous, and it didn't help that the main character in my opinion provoked the whole...
Published 2 months ago by Emma Niklasson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ADDICTIVE, COMFORTING READ, 20 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good in Bed (Paperback)
possibly the best book i have read for a decade, so very comforting to read (over and over again!!)Cannie is observant, confident, witty and reassuringly not a size 2, not all of us are built like wire coat hangers with lipstick, the book is so very accurate in so many ways, particulary when dealing with society's obsessions of perfection, I also thought the ending was unpredictable, but the best bit was Cannie's own article written after her daughter was born refering to the fact that there are worst things in life than having an ample figure, namely the health of her daughter, her article really puts everything into perspective as does the entire book..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and thought provoking, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Good in Bed (Paperback)
Oh....my......god.....!! I just loved this book so much. You can almost believe you're actually in the scenes. It's so funny yet in places I cried my eyes out. I can totally relate to Cannie and it's great that at last we have a heroine that's above the standard Bridget Jones size 12 yet smart, attractive and witty but isn't totally flawless. Read it all in a day and recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CANNY AND COMEDIC DEBUT, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Good in Bed (Hardcover)
Newspaper columnist Jennifer Weiner's debut novel is a canny and comedic look at the tribulations of a plus size gal in a size 2 fixated America. Cannie Shapiro is astonished to find her ex, Bruce Guberman, writing a column called "Good In Bed" for a major women's magazine. His opener is titled "Loving A Larger Woman," in which he tells all about his relationship with Cannie - their sometimes good, sometimes so-so sex life, and her obsession with her Raphaelesque dimensions. After venting to her best buddy, Samantha, then to her otherwise absorbed mother who has just come out of the closet and cohabited with another woman, Cannie has an unsuccessful, brief reconciliation with Bruce who is soon trumpeting in print his relationship with a not especially intelligent but reed-thin woman. Suffering from public embarrassment and the low self-esteem visited upon her by a father who was mostly absent, Cannie signs up for a Weight and Eating Disorders Clinic. There's more than diet on the menu for her there. "Good In Bed" is a boisterous banquet of a story making it clear that a woman's worth isn't defined by her girth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Written - predictable second half, 3 July 2002
By 
Jaq (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good in Bed (Paperback)
This is a story about a woman who is overweight, how she deals with it and feels about herself. After a supposed 'break' from her boyfriend, he writes an article which makes him out to be a martyr because hes dating a fat girl. It follows her indecisions, unlikely friendships and major life changes. I thoroughly enjoyed the first half, the plot became predictable towards the end but im glad i read it and will look to read more books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, wise and thought provoking., 15 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Good in Bed (Paperback)
Jennifer Weiner has certainly written a novel, which provided me with moments of reflection, humour and enjoyment, which I dearly needed after a long stressful day in the office.
This is a novel about a year in the life of a twenty-eight year old woman. Cannie Shapiro is a smart, sharp, well-rounded lady who works as a journalist on the staff of the Philadelphia Examiner. She loves her job, her friends, her dog - Nifkin and her life, but she also recently broke up with her boyfriend of three years. Cannie also loves her apartment, her commodious, quilt-lined bed, made tenuous peace with her body and even thought that she felt all right about ended her relationship with her ex-boyfriend Bruce Guberman.
This novel has enough originality with an overweight heroine, a mother who has recently moved in with her lesbian lover Tanya, with numerous funny moments, humour and sensitivity with Cannie as a larger lady and her most unusual family. Her ex-boyfriend Bruce has written an article in a national women's magazine, talking about their sex life and his feelings about her body in a column titled 'Good in Bed.' Cannie is plunged into despair, public humiliation and now the most amazing year of her life begins.
This story is both emotional, extremely moving, compelling and utterly unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A crowded, funny, sad, realistic fantasy of a book!, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Good in Bed (Paperback)
Jennifer Weiner has it just right. She perfectly captures how the "queen sized" woman can be sailing along feeling happy, healthy, glowing, athletic, sexy...any number of things...and then have her day ruined when a stranger, or a friend, calls attention to her heft.
Her book's heroine, Cannie Shapiro, is a big girl, successful in her career; warm and loving but weighed down with a lot more than just fat issues.
"Good In Bed" chronicles a year in which she is finally forced to deal with her feelings about her weight, but also the other sad memories of her life, primarily the emotional abuse inflicted on her with sadistic glee by her father.
It's a wild ride of a year with incredible ups and crashing lows, occurring just days apart. Relationships are created, nurtured, mended and some, with great sadness, ended.
At the end of the book we see Cannie in a place she and we couldn't have imagined her being just 12 months after the story began. Her "story", it seems, is now beginning anew. And yet the tale seems complete because as the events have unfolded, we've been there with her for the struggle. She's in such a calm, centered place by the end that we can believe she'll be okay.
I have just ordered a copy of this paperback to be sent to my friend in Basingstoke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would not recommend, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Good In Bed (Paperback)
I'm surprised that this book has such high ratings - I found the plot inconsistent in tone and increasingly unbelievable as the book went on, with no decent story arc to follow from beginning to end. The semi-tragedy awkwardly chucked into the latter part of the story struck me as incongruous, and it didn't help that the main character in my opinion provoked the whole situation herself.

All in all, not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read and genuine story, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good In Bed (Kindle Edition)
I fell across this book as you often do but I must say compared to some of the stuff I have read recently this was a pleasant surprise. Yes is has a heroine who isn't that confident about her appearance, and most of us can relate to that but through life's trials and tribulations she finds out that appearance isn't what is most important but those around you and you the person and she gets her happy ending but is not the usual formulaic stuff its life and that is what makes both the story and the character believable, we can relate to them as its real ! Good bedtime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read, 7 Aug 2013
This review is from: Good In Bed (Kindle Edition)
Candice (Canny) Shapiro is the main character and the book is written through her eyes. She is approaching 30 and is a journalist on the local newspaper. We learn that Canny is on a break from her boyfriend of 3 years Bruce Gruberman who is also a writer in an affair that appears to be going rather stale. Canny is humiliated by Bruce when an article appears in a magazine about her stating how challenging it is to love a larger woman, she and those who know her realise it is about her. Canny has issues with her weight and the belief that no one really loved her and the book takes the reader on a journey of her self awakening and acceptance of who she is.

It started off so well, I really thought it was going to be fast paced and funny instead it turned out to be a lot more serious for me. Most of us have had had weight issues and many people can identify with that but it was just not the light read I had expected. Because of this it seemed to be heavy going in parts and somewhat difficult to pick it up and carry on to the end.

Jennifer Weiner has a great sense of humour which comes through well in this novel allowing Canny to make light of the hurt and betrayal she feels by Bruce. I did feel that the character was a little self-indulgent and she wallowed a bit in self pity but despite this it was a good read although predictable. It had plenty of laugh out loud moments and also some sad and poignant moments.

The first half of the book did dwell a lot on self pity but it livened up towards the second half thankfully making it overall an enjoyable book. I particularly liked her humour which made me want to continue to the end, without it I probably wouldn't have wanted to finish the book.

When I did finished I had to think how it made me feel; I was glad it all worked out for her in the end and that she learnt to love herself but it didn't have the `feel good' factor, it didn't make me feel I would rush out and buy another of her novels, it kind of left me a bit flat, it was OK, written well with good humour but a great chick lit? I think it was a bit too heavy for that.

Because it was well written and there were some really very funny moments I would rate this book as a 4 star, it didn't quite have the light and carefree feel that it seemed to promise at the start which was disappointing.

For this review and more please visit:
Mrsbbooks2011.blogspot.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripped from the start, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good In Bed (Kindle Edition)
Right from the very first page this this book has had me hooked full of witty one liners well written would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good In Bed
Good In Bed by Jennifer Weiner (Paperback - 17 Mar 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews