Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant acerbic whit of a real sporting hero
Straight from the pages of the telegraph, with all his acerbic whit on all aspects of sport. Where the grass roots stand for something and our supposed masters, the governing bodies, try to drag down the very sport they are supposed to support. We'll done, an excellent reminder of who should run sport, us the participants!
Published 6 months ago by Richard M

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad , but you can tell Mr Moore used to be a lawyer.
'The Thoughts Of Chairman Moore' is an engaging enough read and at 308 pages long is none too taxing whatever your level of interest in sport.My main issue with the book however is how Moore seems to view everything with his lawyer's hat on and that means that often the book begins to feel like a law manual given the amount of times the text slips into 'legalese'.I also...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by Mr. Paul M. Sheehan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad , but you can tell Mr Moore used to be a lawyer., 4 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Paul M. Sheehan "paulsheehan26" (Coventry , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'The Thoughts Of Chairman Moore' is an engaging enough read and at 308 pages long is none too taxing whatever your level of interest in sport.My main issue with the book however is how Moore seems to view everything with his lawyer's hat on and that means that often the book begins to feel like a law manual given the amount of times the text slips into 'legalese'.I also feel that Moore's battle with water suppliers with regard to the amount sports clubs are charged should have been covered in less than the 27 pages he devotes to it.This in turn makes it the most tedious part of the book by a mile.On the plus side , Moore's humour comes through at points and I agreed with his attitude towards the elitism of the Lawn Tennis Association which he gives both barrels.In writing proficiently on football , cricket,athletics ,tennis and much more he shows that he is far more than just a rugby man.All in all a decent effort from Moore, but I felt this book was just the right length as I don't think I could have lived with another update on the water charges situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hit and Miss, with More Miss!, 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Thoughts of Chairman Moore: The Wit and Wisdom of Brian Moore (Paperback)
Brian 'Pitbull' Moore is clearly a very educated, intelligent person. However, I found his application of such brainpower rather hit and miss. Sometimes Brian will pose a brilliant arguement that has you nodding in agreement but then sometimes Brian comes across as an overly-verbose, pompous smart-alec. Unfortunately, with this book, it's more of the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant acerbic whit of a real sporting hero, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Straight from the pages of the telegraph, with all his acerbic whit on all aspects of sport. Where the grass roots stand for something and our supposed masters, the governing bodies, try to drag down the very sport they are supposed to support. We'll done, an excellent reminder of who should run sport, us the participants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great 'toilet' book - for when you have 5 mins to think about sporting issues. Prompted discussions in our house re politics of sport
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK Book on various subjects., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok book, much of it is articles from Daily Telegraph. some I have already read. I am still a good fan of Moore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some chapters were good, some fair but quite a few were poor. The most disappointing ones contained less sporting content and more about organisational failure. Some themes were boring rambles.

I have read other very good books by Brian Moore which made this one very poor in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be amazed!!, 7 April 2012
By 
Peter Senior (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was one of the best reads I've had in years. I've bought a lot of Autobiographies of Rugby and Cricket players and Musicians. And this is right up there with the best!!! I spent a playing life packing down behind front rows and the general view was that they were not what you might call the sharpest knives in the drawer. This book proves how wrong you can be. Incisive comment on the game and players. I read this just after an autobiography (alleged) of a current Rugby League player. And there was no comparison in quality of writing. Brian deserves to be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine, 12 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a collection of his newspaper columns. As i don't read a newspaper that he contributes to its a book worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little disappointing and pretentious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thoughts of Chairman Moore: The Wit and Wisdom of Brian Moore
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews