Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
I found this book slightly different to Rachel Hore's earlier novels which I have also read, I found that this one concentrated mostly on the story set in the past, with only a little bit of it about Lucy in the present day.
Lucy's father has recently died, and she discovers that he had been looking up an uncle she has never heard of. On holiday in Cornwall she...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by JM

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
As others have said, this was an OK read, but nothing more. I found the characters somewhat two-dimensional and, at the end, was unsure as to whether my sympathy lay with Angie or Beatrice. the "secret" was obvious from about page 4 so I'd rather hoped for a twist later on! Surely the story could have been constructed differently to make this a "reveal" at the end...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by Alison Hart


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 1 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
I seem to have found a new author - Rachel Hore has a remarkable talent for telling a story and her research is immaculate, I loved this book and look forward to reading more or her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Journey through time, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the clever and seamlessway this novel moved from the present to the past and back again. It held my interest and made me want to keep reading. The timeless quality of Cornwall provides a contrasting but constant backdrop against wich the novel is set. This is an easy read but touching and thought provoking at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tenderly Written - A Real Page Turner, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
I must write to say that I really enjoyed this book and have found it difficult to put it down. The retrospective sequences are so tenderly and carefully written. I haven't read any Rachel Hore previously but she really brings the horrors of blitz to life as well as the idylic 1930's Cornish countryside. The characters are realistic and very well drawn. I was pleasantly reminded of the Cazalet books by Elizabeth Jane Howard which I think are absolutely brilliant. If you enjoyed this book, definately check those out as they go into much more detail about the period and the myriad interwoven strands of the experiences of different adults and children during WWII.

If I have any criticsms of this book it's that the present day characters and situations are a bit more 'pat' and less realistic than the thirties passages curiously enough. They sometimes feel as if they are a bit tenuous and only there to link Beatrice's story together and to gradually reveal it. That said, it didn't detract from my enjoyment of this book, it's a delicious read which sucks you in from the beginning to another place back in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
This book is a must read for all! i loved every word and mourned it once i'd finished it! Rachel writes it brilliantly - i wont destroy the book by giving away the storyline but please please read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 14 Nov 2011
By 
J. Griffiths "reading demon" (South Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
most enjoyable story, well written. Combines family saga with adventure, mystery and romance. I thought this was the author's best novel so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gathering storm, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
a gathering storm is a fantastic well written book which i could not put sown.this is the first rachel hore book i have read and now im ordering the rest of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
Having read all Rachel Hore's books and thoroughly enjoying everyone, was lookding forward to A Gathering Storm. I was not disappointed. It is an excellent read in her usual style of going from now to past times. You will not be disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 17 May 2012
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
I dont know how anyone can call this story boring, it was lovely and very well written.there was a lot packed into the story and alright it wasnt on the edge of your seat stuff but a very well crafted tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a gathering storm, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. J. Wakeham "tybalt" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
A good read focusing on the work of the SOE - an under-explored element of the female contribution during WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gathering storm, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: A Gathering Storm (Paperback)
it arrived promply and in the condition i was expecting so very pleased about that but as yet have not read this book although another of her books was really great to read, very much a page turner and hard to put down . it was also not too heavy going and kept you really interested in what was happening to the story. with this in mind i'm expecting this to be just as enjoyable a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Gathering Storm
A Gathering Storm by Rachel Hore (Paperback - 15 Sep 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews