Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack of a life....
First up I need to declare I am a big fan of Mark Radcliffe- his and Stuart Maconie's Radio 2 show kept me company on the long drive home when I was working late, until their move to 6 Music and I have previously given very favourable reviews to his previous "Showbusiness" and "Thank You For The Days" offerings, so I want to try and avoid this turning into a...
Published on 24 May 2011 by M. McCann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Never Mind
Rather like two naughty school boys on the back row, it seems that Messrs Radcliffe and Maconie have been looking at each other's home-work as well as DJing together. In Maconie's recent new book, "Days of Hope and Glory" he takes a seminal date from each decade of the twentieth century and wraps an interesting state-of-the-nation essay around it. Here, Mark Radcliffe...
Published on 24 Aug 2011 by Roger Risborough


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 1 Aug 2012
By 
hypnobear (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've onlyjust received this but on first look, it seems to be up to Mark's usual high standard. For those of you who enjoy Mark Radclife onteh radio, or who have enjoyed his other books, this will entertain just as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good read, can pick it up as and when, some genuine laugh out loud stuff. Anyone who enjoyed the Mark and Lard humour will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Easy Read, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of Radcliffe's radio work I was keen to read the book when it was published.

I would suggest that anybody who likes his radio work and/or popular music of the last 50 years will find this an enjoyable & easy read.
I also found far less of the over the top self deprecation which slightly ruined his previous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Born to drum, 16 Feb 2012
Really enjoying this one. It could be seen as a bit of an easy/lazy way to write a book - one song representing each year of Mark Radcliffe's life, with a few facts putting the songs in historical/social context. However, the style is so warm, witty and nostalgic that you can't help but love it. The song choices are not the most obvious, which makes for a more interesting read as well. Some of his pen portraits of artists are excellent and reflect the verbal banter heard on his radio shows, especially the much missed Radcliffe & Maconie radio 2 show. It also should put paid to all those rather unkind drummer jokes, as Mr Radcliffe is a keen bongo basher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny and engaging, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Ian Barker (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Part autobiography, part guide to popular culture, Reelin' in the Years has the original approach of taking a pop song for every year of the author's life and using that as the starting point to riff on events of the time.

Radcliffe has a strong voice and is reliably funny. There is the odd overwrought sentence that has you backtracking to get the meaning but that's forgivable. Less so the relentless professional northerner thing where "that there London" is a strange and distant land and Belgium is a place for maudlin reflections on middle age - actually he may have a point there. Overall Radcliffe is an engaging companion for a look at the past five decades, more so if you're of a similar age and share some of the same reference points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The things that pass for knowledge, I don't understand, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Ste Greenall "Jethro" (Huntingdon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is so much to enjoy in this book, and not just the music anecdotes. Being "Northern" helps, but anyone who grew up in the sixties and seventies couldn't fail to smile at reminiscences of Hostess trolleys, cheese and pineapple on cocktail sticks and serving hatches between kitchen and dining room.

Any book which mentions Elbow, Jethro Tull, Nick Drake and Steely Dan can't miss.

Buy it, read it, and recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book!!!!!, 28 Oct 2011
By 
Andrew Milne (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another stand-out book from Radders (see BBC 6M). A fantastic journey through his life with a record from each year of his life as an accompaniment. You can't help but laugh at his recollections of times gone by (though my wife doesn't understand). Hopefully, Mark has more books like this to come in him for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars both interesting and funny at the same time and written in Mark's distinctive, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really entertaining read, both interesting and funny at the same time and written in Mark's distinctive style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much waffle, 22 July 2011
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whilst I admire Mark Radcliffe the broadcaster, I'm not quite as impressed with Mark Radcliffe the writer. Like each of his previous books Reelin' in the Years sounded like it was going to be a good read but again like his previous books it turn out to be a big disappointment.

The idea behind it is fine. Starting with in 1958 he writes about one record (okay, they are not records now but you know what I mean) for each year that he feels best `capture the moment'. Unfortunately instead of sticking to the subject he is prone to veer off at a tangent and start rambling on about things of little relevance like Rupert Bear, Brian Trubshawe or root beer.

Whilst these flights of fancy start off being quite entertaining before long they become tedious, so much so that I found the book a proper struggle to finish. It's a shame really, because in amongst all the waffle there are plenty of nuggets, picked up in his long career in music.

I wasn't keen on this book then; if it had been a radio show I would changed channels long before the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reelin' in the Years: The Soundtrack of a Northern Life
Reelin' in the Years: The Soundtrack of a Northern Life by Mark Radcliffe (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews