Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower...
When I first started this book I was a bit unsure about the style of the writing and found it hard to get into. However I finished it within 24 hours of the purchase and I think it is longer than most romances! I really enjoyed it and sat here in my very pregnant state crying my eyes out a parts of it!

I don't like to give spoilers about books, so I will just...
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by RegencyAddict

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well but flozzled out for me ......................
I enjoyed the beginning of the book, the usual Milly humour and funny lovable characters but after a while dopey Cherrylips began to grate on me and I put the book down for approx two months, just didn't have the normal enthusiasm for this storyline that I usually have with Milly's books. I finally speed-read to finish it. Milly is a really good author and this will not...
Published 5 months ago by Freda Livery


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower..., 10 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Kindle Edition)
When I first started this book I was a bit unsure about the style of the writing and found it hard to get into. However I finished it within 24 hours of the purchase and I think it is longer than most romances! I really enjoyed it and sat here in my very pregnant state crying my eyes out a parts of it!

I don't like to give spoilers about books, so I will just say that it is a really enjoyable read, with several main characters and I would definitely read another Milly Johnson book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get a crush on this book!, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
Instead of having one lead character, An Autumn Crush actually features 4 characters who are all equally important in the book. Juliet Miller is looking for a flat mate and comes across Floz Cherrydale, a greetings card writer who is recently out of her own relationship and the pair quickly decide they'd be perfect flatmates for each other. Juliet is a great character, quite outspoken and brash but has a heart of gold underneath that exterior. I recently liked her and found she was the perfect person to bring quiet Floz out of her shell. Floz was very shy and we don't get to know too much about her, she's a bit of a mystery at first but Johnson's great story-telling allows her story to unfold slowly and surely, explaining to the reader why she is the way she is and I was certainly surprised by some of the revelations.

The male characters were actually fantastic which makes a nice chance, as quite often in chick lit they're either the hero or the cruel swine that you're meant to hate. Guy is Juliet's twin brother, has a huge crush of Floz but is showing it in the worst ways possible which is actually quite funny for the most part! I really liked him though, again he has something in his past affecting his present and I thought he was a lovely character, although not quite as lovely as Steve! Steve is a wrestler/plasterer and a funny, lovely Northern bloke who is so obviously in love with Juliet, I don't know how she hasn't seen it for all this time! It was lovely though to see nice male characters in chick lit, nice people that you want it to work out for and not hate, or that act really stupidly. All of the characters felt really realistic, like normal people and I really liked them.

Milly has clearly looked close to home for inspiration when writing this book which was quite nice, albeit strange to read about at times! Milly herself was a greetings card copywriter before becoming an author, and that is the job of Floz in the book, so I wonder how many of her jobs were taken from things Milly had to do in her own job! Also, Steve (and Guy) are wrestlers, although in Britain rather than a big American scene, and Milly is a big fan of wrestling, so again has looked to her own life for inspiration there. It's unusual for me to see so much of an author in their book, perhaps they do it more without us realising but it was obvious to me from the start the connections this book had with Milly's own life, and it was quite nice to read that.

This was a really enjoyable book with loveable characters, a great story, and it had me consumed from start to finish. I actually really liked the pace of this book as well, Johnson keeps things moving at such a pace you aren't sat waiting for the inevitable for too long and instead, it allows the story to progress further with these characters, which was highly enjoyable. Wrapped up in the sweet love stories however, are more serious issues, and I felt these were well handled by Johnson and the characters, and it goes to show that chick lit isn't all the light and ditzy fluff that has been bandied about lately. Yes, this is an undeniably fun read but with a witty and warm heart that is extremely easy to read and keeps you coming back for more. Fans of Milly will love this, and if you haven't yet read Milly's book, you wouldn't go far wrong as to start with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 24 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
I have loved all of Milly's books and picked this one up with great trepidation. I always have a book on the go and started reading this after finishing the first book in the Shardlake series by CJ Sansom. I don't know whether I found it hard to get going because the two books were so completely different (one a historical thriller and one a chick lit) but I started reading this book about 5 times before I finally got going. Once I did get going I really enjoyed it - I loved the quirky wrestling sideline and was pleased with the way the book panned out in the end. I have given it 4 stars as in my humble opinion it wasnt as good as 'Here come the girls' which is one of my alltime faves and is a definite 5 star recipient, but I did enjoy it - and it was exceptional value for money. I did love the fact that it was set in Autumn which is a highly under rated season - and I think I would like a Christmas book one year if poss please Milly?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, loved it!, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Kindle Edition)
I read Johnson's A Summer Fling over the summer and loved every page of it. Johnson's next book An Autumn Crush is no disappointment. I read it in one sitting, which is unusual these days with a book of this thickness. I was lucky to have a day to sit in the glorious sunshine in the garden and soak up every word. Johnson writes some of the best chick lit there is; she lures you in and then immerses you fully. You'll smile constantly (in fact, I think my cheeks ache from smiling too much) and I did shed a fear tears at the end.

This book is packed full of warm and energetic characters. Guy melted my heart - the perfect gentlemen. I often found myself holding my breath, waiting for something to happen and Johnson does make you wait. She builds up the anticipation perfectly, so that when things start to come together, they do so perfectly. And boy, is it worth waiting for. There are plenty of unexpected twists and turns along the way, but these will lead you to a seriously satisfying ending.

Perfect - get yourself a copy, and immerse yourself immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goddessofblah - LAUGH OUT LOUD!!!!!!, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
This is the type of book that manages to make you feel for your characters, laugh at them and believe them. Not any of the characters are the general "chic lit" variety and therefore believable.

Be prepared to laugh out loud until you cry. Its that type of book. For a light read, its everything that you want. It has enough depth to prevent it from being superficial, romance that will make you saw aaawwwwww, a strong dash of reality that prevents it from being gushy and cheesy, and a set of characters that you'll love.

The only thing that is negative is that some plot parts took ages to get to and others were to fast. But otherwise a good, mature and funny chic lit without the cliched nonsense.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fan flipping tastic........xx, 25 Nov 2011
By 
don (east yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
I just can't put into words how good this woman is.......After reading milly's first book i was completely hooked with her way with words......I now have the full collection and this last book an autumn crush was both funny yet heart wrenching tackle.....i just cant put her books down until of course they end.......I was laughing my socks off one minute next i was in floods, but i love the whole happily ever after endings with Milly's books and i sooooooo can't wait for the next one to come out......Milly if you are reading this....keep up the great work and hurry with the next book.....xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crushingly Different!, 18 Nov 2011
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
I had never read a Milly Johnson but was looking forward to it after a combination of seeing the cover, reading the synopsis as well as the rave reviews on Amazon. It took me less than two chapters to absolutely fall in love with the brutally honest but loveable Juliet Miller. Her quest to find a flatmate works out well as we meet the second female character of the book Floz Cherrydale. Floz is the polar opposite to Juliet as she is quiet and a little bit withdrawn but a lovely girl.

We also meet Juliet's twin brother Guy and his best friend Steve. Guy is a chef that is working for a pig of a man and in his spare time he wrestles with his friend Steve. Steve is a wrestler who would love to do his job all of the time but with the declining interest in the sport has to settle for plastering as well. Steve and Guy are fabulous characters and with the unusual nature of the wrestling in the story it made it that littler bit more interesting.

The book flows really well and at an easy pace where you become wrapped up in their normal world with a little bit of excitement added when the girls watch the wrestling matches that Guy and Steve take part in. After seeing Juliet and Steve's disastrous night where they get drunk and end up in bed the story gets that little bit funnier too.

I loved the characters and the fact that this story was about four normal people who have different goals and their personalities make it very interesting. The one element of the story that surprised me was the one involving Floz and her secrets from her past, and this extra nugget of information made me read much quicker in an attempt to find out what it was all about.

When I reached the ending I was smiling from ear to ear as the book panned out exactly as I had hoped. I thoroughly enjoyed my first Milly Johnson book and have already got another couple waiting to be read. It reminded me slightly of Carole Matthews in her early days and I am really looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant read from Milly!!, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
This was a lovely book, felt quite empty when I finished it! the characters were excellent, and it had a brilliant/different story line ~ Milly's books never dissapoint ! ~ looking forward to the next one :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book to snuggle up with!, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Jess Hearts Books (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
An Autumn Crush is a complete breath of fresh air in the chick-lit genre. My bookshelves are groaning with summer reads, and cosy Christmas stories yet An Autumn Crush is my first book that celebrates the beauty of the season. I think autumn is by far our most beautiful season with the warm, golden tones of the leaves, the dazzling fireworks and sparklers and there's that woody, cinnamoney smell in the air. Some days are beautiful with the last sunshine of summer and some crisp and fresh with the promise of winter. I absolutely love this time of year and enjoyed snuggling down as the early nights drew in with this book that really captures the beauty of the season.

An Autumn Crush is such a lovely read and completely heart-warming. The story centers around loveable divorcee Juliet, her gentle giant of a twin brother Guy, Steve- Guy's best friend, and latest addition to the group Floz Juliet's new flatmate. As you can imagine the foursome get thrown together quite a lot! But even though Juliet and Steve, and Guy and Floz are perfect for each other- something any reader can see from the start!- the boy's huge crushes on the girls lead to many a mishap and clumsy misunderstandings making them less than desirable to Floz and Juliet! I really loved all four of our main characters but Steve and Guy really stood out to me which was a nice change for a chick-lit novel. They were both total sweethearts and I became so endeared towards them as they tried and failed to impress the girls. Each character in this book has had a really tough time of it each with a less than perfect past and so I really wanted the best for them and for them to find a bit of happiness- especially with each other!

As well as the fun and vibrant foursome there are some really fantastic secondary characters in particular Juliet and Guy's parents and Juliet's gay best friend Coco. The book also tackles some difficult themes such as alcoholism and mental illness but that is also counterbalanced with some very funny and heart-warming moments and doesn't take away from this books ultimately uplifting feel.

An Autumn Crush is my favourite book that I've read by Milly Johnson so far. Although this book is ultimately a romance it also has strong themes of parenting, family and friendship too. The book is written like a dream with some gorgeous Autumnal imagery. An Autumn Crush was an absolute joy to read and the perfect book to celebrate the season with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Started well but flozzled out for me ......................, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: An Autumn Crush (Paperback)
I enjoyed the beginning of the book, the usual Milly humour and funny lovable characters but after a while dopey Cherrylips began to grate on me and I put the book down for approx two months, just didn't have the normal enthusiasm for this storyline that I usually have with Milly's books. I finally speed-read to finish it. Milly is a really good author and this will not put me off reading her other books, in this case (as with some of my other reviews) this book just didn't suit me. Sorry Milly! I am intent on reading all of Milly's books and sincerely look forward with enthusiasm to reading my next one xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Autumn Crush
An Autumn Crush by Milly Johnson (Paperback - 29 Sep 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews