Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to an ever expanding universe.
Sisterhood of Dune is a novel of multi-level complexity and yet is simplistic enough in it's vision of an as yet untold history within the Dune universe.

I really liked the focus on the story, following a number of decades after the Butlerian Jihad, where humanity rose up and threw off the long years of Machine rule.

But as one power vacuum is...
Published on 14 Feb 2012 by Marshall Rathar

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dune (heading for the bin)
Having been engrossed for years by Franks work, and then enjoying Brian's follow up (especially with the thinking machine wars) I have to say that this book has lost a little something. The continual need to summarise over and over again at the commencement of a chapter storylines from the book you have only just read in the previous chapters, has had me almost tossing it...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by wtsmyth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sisterhood of Dune (Audio CD)
I rather enjoyed this as I do the entire Dune series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story has reasons for being the legend, 20 April 2012
By 
Mr. K. J. Fielding "Film Lover" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More explanations of past history that fills in the gaps and lets the reader understand why the Dune Universe is what it is when first we start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent 'lite read', 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best book, and not in the vain of the original books at all anymore (really). But a decent light read and filled the time on a beach holiday nicely. The Sisterhood has always been intriguing, so it is fun to find out more about its history in a Daily Mail kinda way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 8 Feb 2012
For all you Dune fans out there this is a must. Had me gripped from beginning to end. Some interesting twists and only one downside - I can't wait for the next one!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good follow on from the Dune
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont care what the others say , I loved it!!!, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the reviews for this item , (some of which were written before the book was published), I have to say that I for one, am a fan. 30 years ago when reading the original Frank Herbert Dune series I grew increasingly bored and annoyed in how the latter books degenerated into a sociological statement rather than a sci-fi story. When the "House of " trilogy came out , I very soon warmed to the style of Messrs Herbert and Anderson and found the story lines intriguing and interesting and they brought more substance to the Dune Universe.
For those that constanly compare with Frank Herbert's original , my advice is dont bother , judge these as separate entities and you will be a lot happier with yourself
For those who claim the two writers are exploiting the Dune saga then so what , as long as we get more stories from this fascinating story, I couldnt give a flying Lucas!!!!!
Keep it Brian and Kevin.....cait wait for the next instalment ( and Hellhole part 2 for that matter!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great instalment in the Dune universe, 11 Jan 2012
Another really enjoyable instalment in the Dune universe - no it's not the original, but KJA and Brian Herbert know their stuff and this bodes well for the rest of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really excellent book in the best tradition of the Dune series. I was actually upset when it ended, I wanted to know the rest of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to follow on with a brilliant set of books, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always enjoyed the first Dune books, it has been taken further by another top writer. I hope there is plenty more to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sisterhood of Dune (Dune Schools of Dune Trilogy 1)
The Sisterhood of Dune (Dune Schools of Dune Trilogy 1) by Brian Herbert (Paperback - 3 Jan 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews