Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars another piece falls into place
Wonderful twists and turns that carry on the Dune saga and help shape and complete the story for the reader
Published 8 months ago by J. Varney

versus
59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hot air of Dune
Apparently Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson aren't finished milking Frank Herbert's cash cow. First prequels, then sequels, and now a midquel.

In this case, "The Winds of Dune" explores the months after the blinded, grief-stricken Paul Atreides aka Muad'Dib wandered off into the desert. While Anderson and Herbert conjure some touching moments as the people...
Published on 5 Aug 2009 by E. A Solinas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Dune, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Kindle Edition)
The Winds of Dune by Kevin J Anderson.
This is an elaboration of the original Dune saga by Brian and is well done as are all of Kevin's stories. I know there is something lacking from Brian's way of telling a story,but I feel it really is an improvement and that modern is better. The narrative is clearer and runs at a more even pace and is not in contrast with scientific progress as you would expect in a novel written so long ago. Things have changed a lot since Brian's day and it shows. So I find it easy reading when compared with the first Dune stories. Even so it gets a bit boring at times and it was with some relief that I finally finished the Dune stories. I agree there are some interesting ideas here. The axolotl tanks,and the scheming priestesses. Enjoy the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The winds of Dune, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Kindle Edition)
It appears that I skipped a book but with the story flashing back I managed to maintain the storyline. This is smothered of the seat, must keep reading book, well done authors.no
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Version Typos, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Kindle Edition)
I think that all of the above reviews will describe the good and bad bits of the plot/characterisation/story, so I will leave that alone (I haven't quite finished reading it yet anyway).

What I would like to talk about is the way that the book has been translated into a Kindle format. I don't know how this process works, but whatever it is, it hasn't been edited since. There are an irritating number of words which are hyphenated from time to time Cal-ladan, Ar-rakis, the House Cor-rino etc etc. They are not supposed to be hyphenated and they are not consistently hyphenated. Sometimes they are, and sometimes they're not.

This is becoming massively irritating to me while I am reading. At a rough estimate I would say there is one of these errors on nearly every page (maybe 1 in 2 or 3, in reality). There are one or two normal spelling mistakes too, but they are infrequent and certainly no worse than other books. I haven't read the paper version, so I don't know if it's the same. I also understand that in S/F, there are a lot of difficult names (a bit like pop-stars and TV actors), but the poor consistency doesn't help.

This is my first Kindle read, so I don't know if it happens elsewhere; I will certainly be keeping a watch on the spelling in future. Is it spoiling my read?; well yes; or I wouldn't be deliberately searching out the book in Amazon, just to write about the faults.

To sum up, outside of the debate about the quality of the work, the editing certainly leaves a lot to be desired, and anyone who has read a lot of the Dune novels will get irritated with all the errors with the names.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is Dune, so I`ll buy it, but c'mon guys....., 22 Jan 2010
By 
Teresa Sinclair (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Paperback)
I`m a Dune addict so i`ll buy anything that's remotely related to the canon. So this book was instantly added to the collection!
Unfortunately, as other reviewers have commented, the authors are basically getting money for old rope. Fan fiction is probably the best description; these books are certainly not in the same league as those written by his Dad!
There are some intriguing concepts that are never fleshed out, and the proofreading leaves a lot to be desired. As other people have mentioned the authors repeat themselves too many times, and use keep telling the reader things they already know, not only conceptually but from the previous sentence. IF you took all the repeat stuff out the book would be the length of a graphic novel...
Perhaps the authors should spend longer on these books, as i`ve come to the conclusion, much as i hate to say it, that they're just capitalising on our voracious appetite for the Dune universe, and so to that end they are just churning these out.
So c'mon guys, these books are lightweight compared to the machinations and writing of these originals. My intelligence hasn't dulled over the years, so please go back to the intelilgence of your earlier work. The House books were much, much better.

Having said all that, i will buy your next one, so you can carry on putting your kids through school..... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Paperback)
Christmas present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the tradition of Dune, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Kindle Edition)
Keeps the Dune saga going if a little short. Fans will enjoy but will hunger for a little bit more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new Dune books, 10 July 2011
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Paperback)
Like some other reviewers, I have despaired at the juvenile quality of some of the writings. I completely disagree about this one - I think the story is perfectly inserted in the Dune timeline, it's interesting, well written and I read the book several times. Definitely an improvement on the others. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good read, 1 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Paperback)
The prequels and sequels to the Dune books are not inthe same league as those written by Herbert Sr but, nevertheless, they are mainly welcome additions to the range.

This particular volume is one of the better ones. The storyine itself tends to be alittle weak but the characters (old and new) are well crafted and consistent with what we already know.

A somewhat smaller book than most but a good read anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to top form, 5 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Winds of Dune (Paperback)
I was getting a little concerned about how KJA books were starting to continually repeat themselves throughout to remind the reader of what was going on. Thankfully, this doesn't insult your intelligence by doing so. A great story, well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winds of Dune
The Winds of Dune by Brian Herbert (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews