Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book which is interesting as well as beautiful to look at (obviously!). To any illustration enthusiast, I would heartily recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Quentin Blake., 21 Oct 2013
By 
Old Stubbo (CAMBRIDGE, Cambs, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
This is an edition for the serious book collector, do not open it it must be kept pristine. Buy the cheap version, as well, to read to your grand children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
QBs beautifully packaged, constructed and formatted book is a pleasure to hold, read and contemplate. A book of genius from an irreplaceable character. An inspiration to me as a would be illustrator and a generation of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent coffee table read, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
A beautifully presented book provides a special mixture of
information for the devote and inspiration for the graphic art lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin Blake's work after year 2000, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:21 Mins

Before this book, there was another one called Words and Pictures which collected Quentin Blake's illustrations from the previous fifty years. That book was published in 2001.

This new book Beyond the Page looks at his work from year 2000 onwards. As the title subtly suggests, it features work that does not just appear in on the page.

While Quentin Blake continues to illustrate books, he also has many projects and many bring his work to places such as galleries, museums, hospitals and other public spaces. That's the focus of this book. He writes in first account of the stories behind these projects.

It's interesting to read and see the other side of him. Many of the illustrations included have his distinctive style, but there are also many drawings that you won't see, especially in children books. There are sketches, work he did for reading campaigns, and even nude drawings, for hospitals.

Since the book focuses on work from 2000 onwards, there's mention of his earlier works only when he has to provide new art for updated editions of books, such as those for Roald Dahl.

So if you want to find out what Quentin Blake has been up to the last ten years, get this book.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More then I expected!, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
This book was so much more than I expected!!! It has al lot of interesting information inside and much, much more beautiful drawings then I thought it would be offered. I highly, highly recommend this book to everyone who is a fan of Quentin Blake. 5 Stars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
J. Levesley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
Excellent book good keepsake thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely collection of Quentin Blake's recent works, 19 Jan 2013
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
I got this for my mum who takes a great interest in the works of Quentin Blake's recent works with hospitals and people with mental health problems. This book features a wide range of works dealing with an array of problems faced by people in their lives. I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in art that reflects real life problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun!, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
A very interesting book about Mr Blake's later work, richly illustrated. Mr Blake's work is always such fun to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real interest for Quentin Blake fans., 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Page (Hardcover)
This is an interesting book for any followers of Blake's work. Both my daughter of 11 and my husband loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond the Page
Beyond the Page by Quentin Blake (Paperback - 3 Oct 2013)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews