Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhibition at the Tate
A must for visitors to this wonderful exhibition at the Tate. I think he is an important British artist, showing the culture of our country and at last given an important
exhibition to show his work at its best. Well written and the contents give us a
catalogue of plates and list of works. Another addition to for the History of Arts books!
Published 12 months ago by Pamela Bourne

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a serious critique with decent illustrations
bought as a gift for son, so haven't read it yet.
When he's bored with it and gives it back I'll do another review
Published 6 months ago by S. Bloxham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhibition at the Tate, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
A must for visitors to this wonderful exhibition at the Tate. I think he is an important British artist, showing the culture of our country and at last given an important
exhibition to show his work at its best. Well written and the contents give us a
catalogue of plates and list of works. Another addition to for the History of Arts books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
I bought this after visiting the Lowry Gallery in Salford. I have always loved his work and wanted to know more. A good concise book with good plates of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lowry, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
Excellent book showing a great deal of Lowry's painting. I bought it for a friend's birthday and he was delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See it, own it, love it!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
comm88 "comm88" (Chester, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Based on the Tate showing of Lowry 2013 this is a sumptuously gorgeous book - a must own for every Lowry fan. The professorial essays lend authority to the paintings and to Lowry's life introducing engaging and enlightening perspectives that I never knew or didn't realise. It is a joy to read from start to finish and the plates are a stunning memory of the show. Curl up and give yourself a real Lowry treat and I guarantee you will feel enriched for having read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small catalogue of Lawry 's work by Tate Publication, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
This a cataloque of the Lawry exhibition. It covers most of his works in the exhibition and provides a wide range of Lawry 's works. It is a shame that the publication is on small for shiny papers . The colours are not any near to the real thing. There is a hint of blue in every photo. Looking on the back of the book it had the hall mark of Tate . That explain the source of wrong format and prints. The price of 19.95 is a high.
Despite of the above shortcomings it is a good source of information about Lawry since lots of small books would be the alternative sources for getting an overal picture of what this great painter has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
An excellent portrayal of Lowry, his background and life and, most importantly, his works. Read before visiting his exhibition at Tate Britain this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a present for my wife who loved the book and was extremely happy with it and the many pictures it contained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most interesting book, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
This is an excellent book, full of detail of the man and his work. It also gives a good insight into the life and times of the region where he grew up and worked. It is not a monotonous group of pictures but a serious comment about the social climate of the Industrial times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
I enjoyed leafing through the various Lowry paintings. I have liked Lowry's work since they were called Matchstick Men and Matchstick Cats & Dogs! A very well produced book and something to look at again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lowry, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life (Paperback)
A very nice keepsake to remind me of an artist that I like a lot and as I am unable to get to the exhibition this is a good thing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life
Lowry and the Painting of Modern Life by Anne Wagner (Paperback - 25 Jun 2013)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews