Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what the title says
I am a semi professional baker and teach baking.

This is not a cake baking book - simply patisserie as it's best. Sweet delights that you see in shop windows in Paris.
Of course there are more sophisticated items too but this book is for the amateur / home baker. There are still challenges to master like Chocolate and pear buche de Noel, Chocolate and...
Published 16 months ago by B. Berry

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY
As previously noted, the quantities on at least one of the recipes are indisputably incorrect and this means there is no way of knowing how any other recipes are incorrect. Shame on the author and publishers for poor proof reading.
Published 14 months ago by Joy McCann


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what the title says, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
I am a semi professional baker and teach baking.

This is not a cake baking book - simply patisserie as it's best. Sweet delights that you see in shop windows in Paris.
Of course there are more sophisticated items too but this book is for the amateur / home baker. There are still challenges to master like Chocolate and pear buche de Noel, Chocolate and caramelized banana gateau or Tarte croustillante aux abricots.

I have baked the Honey and vanilla madeleines and they were wonderful. Even skipping the recommended 30-40 minutes to refrigerate before spooning into the pan. Got 12 as stated. Very moist. Needed more time in the oven as stated but that always depends on your oven. Right?
Did also the Fraisier but with a pistachio Creme Patisserie. Worked brilliant on two Swiss roll pans and went off the greasproof paper with such ease.
Like the Sachertorte recipe which differs a little from mine adding ground almonds but with adding the egg whites at the end to make it fluffy instead using baking powder. Very Austrian indeed.

Thank you Will for using the correct word 'Viennoiserie' instead of Danish pastry.

I wish I would have written such a great book when I was your age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
As previously noted, the quantities on at least one of the recipes are indisputably incorrect and this means there is no way of knowing how any other recipes are incorrect. Shame on the author and publishers for poor proof reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet to be convinced, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
The beer and chocolate has been a hit. Creme Patissiere recipe is incorrect. I was not convinced of the quantities of dry ingredients to wet to create a cream and was proved right. You could resurface the M25. Will use the book for ideas only and adapt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yummy, 5 April 2013
By 
Lillian Benson "Nutty Nanna" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
I have many many cookery books but this is absolutely outstanding. The section on technique is very clear and explains everything well. Made palmiers already and can't wait to get cracking on the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Patisserie at Home by Will Torrent, food for thought!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
Not worth buying, unless you just like photographs. Instructions on some recipes are wrong, plus the timings are wrong.
Tried to make Croissants not good results. We then checked other Recipe books and found instructions for kneeding very different.
The proof reader did not do his or her job correctly. If I put my name to a book I would want to have checked everything. Shame on you Will Torrent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy, 28 May 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
Warning: Even if you don't make anything from this book it is more than capable of contributing towards weight gain. You will be thinking of wonderful cakes after looking at just a few pages from this richly-illustrated book.

The raison d'être of this book is to help take the fear factor out of French patisserie and get you making some masterpieces along the way. It manages this with aplomb yet it does not feel like a cold, heavy book that is rich on the theory. Straight away you are schooled in making key staples such as croissant pastry and ganache before being let loose on a host of many classics from the chapters covering patisserie, tarts, petits fours, gateaux & desserts and Viennoiserie.

To get the most out of this book and its easy-to-read teaching style, you should really go through it sequentially at least once as there are little hints and tips throughout that, if applied, will surely help take your culinary expertise to a new level. Of course, you can dip straight in and get good advice, but you will be missing out on a lot of things. As well as classics there are many other recipes worthy of closer scrutiny, such as chilled lemon soufflés and chocolate and beer cake (!). An index at the end of the book is fairly detailed and lets you dig deep into the book.

About the only slight concern was the quality of this book's binding, at least on the example under review, as after relatively light use it felt like some of the pages were ready to fall out of the binding. That would be a shame as this reviewer can see this book being a regular companion in the kitchen and one doesn't really want to have to resort to sticky tape in such a wonderful book.

There are certainly no shortage of books that will show you how to make such goodies yet this one has managed to carve a bit of a niche through its accessibility, informativeness and relaxed learning style. A book certainly worthy of further consideration, unless, of course, you are trying to diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more, 29 April 2013
By 
L. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
This book failed to enthuse. It had standard recipes that I have found in other books, so nothing new. sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patisserie at Home, 23 April 2013
By 
Andrea D. Druian (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
A great book to have regarding all this great Patisserie!
Very Enjoyable to read and to use the super recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars style over substance, 27 April 2013
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
First up I'm a semi professional baker, so I'm writing off personal crapness is the kitchen here. I bought the book and have baked the financiers (a recipe I've made countless times before). For a start using the mini loaf tins as specified they made only five, at 60g each (raw) rather than the stated 8 - 10. They were underbaked at the time given, greasy and heavy when they were finally done.

I'm so dissapointed, it's a very pretty book, but I'm afraid it's not enough to be pretty, the recipes have to work or it's all just window dressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professional patisserie at it's best!, 7 April 2013
By 
Mrs. A. J. Norfolk (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry (Hardcover)
Patisserie that you think impossible to make, made possible at home with Torrant - easy to follow recipes with flare and sparkle. This is the book to use for any special dinner party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patisserie at Home - Step-by-step recipes to help you master the art of French pastry
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews