Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful English Style
I've known about Ben Pentreath for quite some time, his shop and his blog. I was delighted to browse my amazon and find a book written by him! The book arrived well packaged and delivered before the date expected! What a beautiful book! The cover is only an indication of the secrets of English style that lie beneath the covers. It is filled with beautiful photographs...
Published on 21 Sep 2012 by bluebellgirl

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, but almost no different to the blog
I am addicted to Ben Pentreath's blog, which is beautifully written and photographed, and updated every few days. I love his shop in Bloomsbury, with its ever-changing and joyously displayed stock. His interior decorating style - minimal structural alteration, the restoration of period detail, and an eclectic and unpretentious layering of modern, retro, vintage and...
Published 23 months ago by Third Time Lucky


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful English Style, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
I've known about Ben Pentreath for quite some time, his shop and his blog. I was delighted to browse my amazon and find a book written by him! The book arrived well packaged and delivered before the date expected! What a beautiful book! The cover is only an indication of the secrets of English style that lie beneath the covers. It is filled with beautiful photographs of grand and simple homes all with interiors that have not had the hand of an interior designer touch them. There is plenty of text at the beginning and during the different sections of the book; Introduction, English Decoration, A Sense of Arrival, Comfortable Rooms, Eating and Cooking, A Quiet Retreat, Rooms of Utility, Rooms of Display and Afterword. There is a style directory at the back of the book listing resources for wallpaper to antiques and pictures. I haven't put it down since it arrived! It's a how to book, but it's also just a beautiful, readable coffee table book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Decoration Wherever You Live, 5 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
This book is well written and the photographs are scrumptious. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in interior design, or who just wants ideas for their own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, 11 Oct 2013
By 
L. Harwood (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
This book was a real treat.
The thing I enjoyed most was the lovely warm, insightful, elegant text which really enlivened the beautiful photography. Ben Pentreath comes over as a sensitive, spiritual and thoughtful person.

I highly reccommend this lovely tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB BOOK..., 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
I love this book. While I am not a great fan of "English style" in decoration, Ben Pentreath writes so well and is so passionate about his subject, that the book sings. Great images and excellent text. A lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous & Inspirational, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
A wonderful book full of beautiful photographs of proper stylish English home interiors.
The eclectic mix of styles is a personal and fresh approach when compared to so many interior books that are styled and unreal. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic english interior style with a modern twist, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
I could almost see on the cover that this would be a book just after my taste.
The book draws on the best from Hicks, Mlinaric, Colefax and Fowler, but Ben
as does Robert Kime do their style with a modern unfussy touch. I just love
the book - visit his blog too - inspiration all over. Next time I'm in London
his shop is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
Not remotely disappointed unlike others despite loving the blog. Lots of unexpected hints and tips in there too. Makes you want to get in love with clutter again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, but almost no different to the blog, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
I am addicted to Ben Pentreath's blog, which is beautifully written and photographed, and updated every few days. I love his shop in Bloomsbury, with its ever-changing and joyously displayed stock. His interior decorating style - minimal structural alteration, the restoration of period detail, and an eclectic and unpretentious layering of modern, retro, vintage and antique furnishings and artwork - is gorgeous, comfortable and practical. I want his country parsonage, his London flat, and his garden. In fact, I want to live his life.

I had hoped this book would introduce me to Ben's wider design portfolio, but unfortunately I was really disappointed. It contains only images that are already available on his blog, or duplicated in other interiors books, notably Farrow & Ball's bestseller 'Living with Colour'. (Property porners will even recognise one house as a long-term listing on Rightmove, yours for a mere £3m). Moreover, the pictures are actually less appealing than they appear on screen. Looking over the blog on an iPad brings Ben's use of vibrant colour and contrasting textures to life; here it's evident printing technology is now a poor second to pixel perfection.

'English Decoration' was a present from Father Christmas and so naturally I'm very grateful. But those of you contemplating purchasing for yourselves: why would you pay for something you can read for free on the internet? I'm still happily buying books, but it's time publishers realised that we readers expect original content, not just screenprints in hard covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, wonderful photos as you would expect, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
Excellent book, wonderful photos as you would expect. Thoroughly recommend, there are fab ideas whatever size your home is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE book, 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: English Decoration (Hardcover)
This is the book that's helped me figure out what my style was. I have a husband with very firm ideas about how he wanted our house to look, while I knew what I didn't like, without quite being able to say what I did like. Needless to say the house entirely reflects his tastes. Some which I like, some less. Thanks to this book, I now have a portfolio ready for whenever we move to another house we need to do up. I am ready for comfrontation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

English Decoration
English Decoration by Ben Pentreath (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2012)
£8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews