Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and not just for weddings!
In a way it's a pity if the title of this book makes it seem rather specialised and could put off people (like me ) who think they're never going to make a wedding cake for themselves or anyone else. True it tells you how to do all that very clearly at varying levels of difficulty right up to the sort of luxury that has a touch of madness about it, but with plenty of...
Published 19 months ago by kentian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hand to have a basic reference with lovely pictures.
Lts of nice pictures and and some really good recipes. I paticualy like the conversion of recipes for different sized and shaped cake tins.
Published 8 days ago by Sanita Kaur


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and not just for weddings!, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
In a way it's a pity if the title of this book makes it seem rather specialised and could put off people (like me ) who think they're never going to make a wedding cake for themselves or anyone else. True it tells you how to do all that very clearly at varying levels of difficulty right up to the sort of luxury that has a touch of madness about it, but with plenty of common sense advice to back it up. If you like cake at all and want to experiment with cakes for smaller occasions or no occasion at all it's all here. Quantities are given for all sizes. not just fruitcake but other flavours such as choc rum truffle,apple & calvados, orange polenta, peanut butter & choc chip etc etc. As you're encouraged to experiment further who knows?- you might find yourself with the confidence to attempt a wedding cake one day after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for wedding cakes., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
Delighted with this book it is very informative and will be well used. Every cake has ingredient list for all sizes of cakes tins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice ideas!, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
As a professional cake maker, I'm always on the look out for new ideas and inspiration and my bookshelves are sagging under the weight of cake books. This is my latest addition and I'm very pleased. There are some lovely, unusual cake recipes (white choc and cardamom; green tea, apple and calvados etc) with the usual handy tin size conversion charts at the back. There are some great design ideas, from the stunning but simple 'Brighton Rock' cake to the gorgeously modern (and fairly tricky) 'Royal Ballet' themed cake involving plenty of tempered chocolate. Deducting a star because some of the instructions are a little bit vague, and do rely on a bit of experience to crack on with the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're thinking of buying it just buy it, you won't be disappointed!!!, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
This book is absolutely amazing, definitely my favourite cake book at the moment and I do have a lot! What I love about it is that each design of cake has a different flavour of cake. Most cake books have a vanilla cake recipe with 5 variations, a fruitcake recipe and a chocolate cake recipe but this book has loads of different recipes which in my opinion as important as the decorating side of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
I love this book. Ive tried multiple recipes from it and the cakes tasted amazing. Ive also decorated wedding cakes using the intructions provided and achieved great results. You need to sit and read the information provided at the front to get an understanding of what could go wrong and if you bare that in mind, nothing should. Im not a professional but have self taught to make cakes recently and made impressive cakes using this book. Have also used as inspiration for making other cakes. Very good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab - u - las !!!!!, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
What a glorious book, fab. pictures, scrumptious recipes. A fantastic book for any baker, new to the art or an experienced wedding cake maker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
I am really pleased with this book which shows how to create simple wedding cakes and has given me the confidence to have a go myself. The instructions are easy to follow and the cakes shown are modern but elegant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
Just what I needed, a little inspiration to spark ideas of my own, easy to read and a good book to build on for your own ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boutique wedding cakes., 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
Arrived within the specified time. Book as described. Details within the book are simple, easy to understand and well laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decoration aside this is a solid cake book, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boutique Wedding Cakes (Hardcover)
I cannot speak for the decoration of the cakes but every single one I have baked from this book has been delicious. The sticky ginger cake is an absolute winner. The author includes a lot of helpful tips and instructions on levelling and icing cakes. The decoration of the cakes (beyond putting fondant icing on cakes) seems quite advanced and needs specialist kit; having said that the instructions are detailed and include photos of worked examples. My only gripes about the book are: 1) whilst the author includes alternative measurements for each of the cakes so you can make them for different tin sizes, it would have been better to include every tin size; and 2) I do not believe the author ever refers to sugarpaste as fondant icing, which is confusing as they are the same, and there is no recipe for it. Having said said that it's easy enough to buy from most supermarkets! Overall a solid cake book, which shows there is more to wedding cakes than fruit and sponge cakes. I definitely be making my wedding cake(s) from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boutique Wedding Cakes
Boutique Wedding Cakes by Victoria Glass (Hardcover - 1 Oct 2012)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews