Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars At last some focus and (a little) progress
This is volume 29 of the Horus Heresy series and, at last, Horus the Warmaster takes centre stage again, as he had in the two first episodes of the series. The book focuses on Horus’ attack and invasion of the very well defended forge world of Molech, where a huge loyalist army - 100 regiments, plus elements of two Titan legions plus contingents from two Space...
Published 13 days ago by JPS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A series running out of ideas
It is certainly good to see old Horus and his band of merry murderers and traitors take back the spotlight in the now seemingly endless stream of books that have been flooding out under this series moniker. And it is great to catch up with the Son's of Horus both current and former members in the aftermath of the great betrayal.
But goodness me this is a half baked...
Published 13 days ago by Paul redmonkey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A series running out of ideas, 7 Sep 2014
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
It is certainly good to see old Horus and his band of merry murderers and traitors take back the spotlight in the now seemingly endless stream of books that have been flooding out under this series moniker. And it is great to catch up with the Son's of Horus both current and former members in the aftermath of the great betrayal.
But goodness me this is a half baked story at best, As is common with Graham Mcneill's stories you get a multi-layered novel with several core players stories being played out alongside each others all meeting in a final payoff. However in this case for the most part none of the seperate strands really add up to much making the final confrontation anti-climatic.
The parts involving Horus and his men is strained, with battles and events ending in strange and unlikely ways like the book and the series was running out of ideas. The parts involving Loken make no sense whats so ever. As his story is so unlikely and frankly unbeleivable (even for sci-fi)
The overiding immpression I got from this book was of a publisher trying to drain every drop out of a series, a kind of 'we don't want to wrap this up yet so just think of a story no matter how half-baked and lets get it out there'
This is a shame as the two previous books in the series I felt were two of the strongest books that have come out in the last 2-ish years in the series and I thought perhaps the series may be turning a corner and starting to regain some momentum, however this combined with the next book 'The Damnation of Pythos' (which I read though pre-order, and is easily one of the most pointless books I have read in this series) suggest this ship and run aground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At last some focus and (a little) progress, 7 Sep 2014
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
This is volume 29 of the Horus Heresy series and, at last, Horus the Warmaster takes centre stage again, as he had in the two first episodes of the series. The book focuses on Horus’ attack and invasion of the very well defended forge world of Molech, where a huge loyalist army - 100 regiments, plus elements of two Titan legions plus contingents from two Space Marines Legions plus a whole Fleet and space defence platforms – is waiting for him. With Horus and his Sons of Horus are Mortarion’s Death Guard and all the elements and ships attached to their two fleets.

The point here is that you can expect some rather large scale battles to take place and, in this at least, the book does not disappoint, even if some scenes worked better for me than others. However, and as another has already mentioned, you do get the impression that it is all somehow one-sided because despite the loyalist very powerful arsenal, they always lose every encounter. The presence of Titans on both sides, including an Imperator class machine, and the battle between the giant machines, will remind some readers of one of the author’s best titles (Mechanicum).

In fact, the book is full of allusions to previous events and full of characters found in previous books, often some the author’s one production. A couple of these are Garviel Loken, who is apparently a miraculous survivor of Isstvan V, and Iacton Qruze. Another is Severian, whom we last saw in the Outcast Dead, and whom, together with his two fellow Luna Wolves and a bunch of other Space Marines from multiple Legions, embark on a suicide mission.

Another general feature of the book is the numerous and multiple apparitions of primarchs. In addition to Horus and Mortarion, we get a glimpse of Fulgrim (and a few allusions to the author’s book on the Phoenician as well). On the loyalists’ side, you will see something of Rogal Dorn and of Leman Russ, not to mention a few hints about a handful of others and even a bit about the Emperor’s previous stay on Molech, and the secret that he left hidden there. You will also yet again come across one of the Immortals whose task is precisely to protect this secret from falling into the hands of Horus.

Another interesting feature is the murderous and treacherous rivalry within House Devine, the ruling clan of the Knight world of Molech, and whose most senior member if the Governor of the planet. I was particularly taken by their mechanical Knights which were perhaps the most original feature of the whole book.

There are however some inconsistencies and a few features that do not quite work. One was a piece about Horus flattering Fulgrim into coming to Molech on his own with his two brothers (Horus and Mortarion) because his presence is needed even if his Legion is not. Fulgrim is duly flattered, agrees to come, and you hear nothing more about him over the next few hundreds of pages.
Another is that it seems a bit incredible for a general, however talented he may be and however exceptional his soldiers, to engage a vastly superior enemy without even waiting for half of his forces to turn up. There are a few other similar glitches as well although, contrary to another reviewer, I found it just about barely possible for a company of Space Marines belonging to a particular Legion to commit mass suicide in order to avoid becoming possessed by Chaos.

Quite a good read for a longer than usual book which brings together a number of lose threads and takes half a pace forwards towards Terra. Four stars, despite some hesitations...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The last two books were good and finally the plot seemed to be gathering pace ..., 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
A very disappointing entry into the Heresy series.

The last two books were good and finally the plot seemed to be gathering pace again. Now we're back into the slump.

Filled with pointless asides, references to events that have happened 'off screen' and get no further explanation and the mystery at the stories heart, why is the Warmaster so interested in Molech?, that's wrapped up in a few paragraphs!

Graham McNeill is actually a good writer so why this book falls so far below par is somewhat of a mystery. For me the central problem is that 'historically' we know how most of the main characters meet they're various ends. Assuming you are a Warhammer 40K fan and lets face it to make any sense of this, the 29th book in the series, you'd have to be. This robs the narrative of any punch. The other characters I'm really not made to care about. The best of the other books have gotten around this by offering fresh perspectives on established 40K lore. Not so this book which is a real shame as it could have explored how the corrupting power of chaos is affecting Horus.

And is anyone else fed up of the loyalist legions being made to look like idiots yet again?

In my opinion if you skip this book you wont be missing out on any major plot points for future books in the series.

A real missed opportunity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The authors done way better, 4 Sep 2014
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Disappointing really, it promises Horus in action after istavan but delivered little, they could have shortened it dramatically. The battles weren't really exciting, when one side has no chance and lose everytime things become very boring, and I hate the concept of perpetuals, they are a bridge too far for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horus is back and bad ass as ever, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
A real return to form at last, we get more Horus and Sons of......No spoilers here but definately worth getting this for characters old and new get a bit of a re-boot !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
By 
Mark E. Colton "Colt" (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Simply Brilliant, long may the story continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book worth a read, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Good book worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars you've been warned*** Cant say i enjoyed this book, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
***Following review contains slight spoilers, you've been warned***

Cant say i enjoyed this book, in fact, for the first time i just stopped reading (page 433) because so far this book has been a bit of a joke. Filled with miraculous plot twists turning things magically into Chaos victory, loyalist marines killing THEMSELVES while they could fight on. While im usually one who cheers on the scale on wich death is dealt in Warhammer 40k. Battle in this one goes on and on and on without end that you just find yourself saying "boring boring boring while reading after the 10th megahugegiant baddy shoots his megahugebaddygun into a megahuge army but since everything is "megahuge" it doesnt matter blaaaaaa bla bla .... no ... sorry. This lacks all soul, all reason and i truely felt the need to give this book a low rating. They even had the balls to actually give voice to the emperor for once (there are lines that are spoken by Him in the book) and they fall short of any expectation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy)
Vengeful Spirit (The Horus Heresy) by Graham McNeill (Paperback - 31 July 2014)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews