Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great tale of the hersey
one of the best Horus Hersey books I have read with a gripping tale and great interaction between the Iron warriors and Emperors Children and their Primarchs , Perturabo is very nicely portrayed (with a full and complex character not just bolter porn) and despite being a villain you have real empathy for him and the real contrast of Fulgrim who has been now fallen deeply...
Published 15 months ago by T A Dugdale-Pointon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bolter porn - iron warriors edition
Somewhere within this mess there is a good story.....Its about Perturabo, master of the Iron Warriors...Its about why he choose to side with the warmaster and betrayed his oath, how he became typecast as a siegemaster, a breaker rather than builder of wonders....Its about Fulgrim and his dreams of acesion to a higher form of existance
Sadly its mostly Perturabo and...
Published 13 months ago by Madmarx


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great tale of the hersey, 2 Sep 2013
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
one of the best Horus Hersey books I have read with a gripping tale and great interaction between the Iron warriors and Emperors Children and their Primarchs , Perturabo is very nicely portrayed (with a full and complex character not just bolter porn) and despite being a villain you have real empathy for him and the real contrast of Fulgrim who has been now fallen deeply to chaos. Fulgrims excess and hedonist legion is portrayed well and various famous characters are shown in detail (at times very grisly detail) some twists and turns and some very interesting good guys too with insights into survivors from 2 loyalist legions following the drop site massacre, for the gamers among you several you will be itching to model and convert after reading this. Adds some real background to fans of this period which I cant go into detail without spoiling the story but I was gripped all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
I own all of the Horus Heresy Novels so far (and most of the Black Library) and think this is one of best.
Some of the other portrayals of the Primarchs make them seem.... less than I imagined (Corax) but Perturabo is really an unfathomable demigod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - finally we get to see Perturabo, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
I agree with the 1st review - you really do care about them, even though they are the bad guys. Interesting ending though - I wanna know what happened next! This really did grip me and I would automatically buy the follow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Well I don't care what some people say about this one - I loved it! Only trouble is, it ended too quick. This really reminded me of McNeill's False Gods - you know its the 'bad guys' but the characters are great and you tend to feel sorry for them haha!

A real return to form for the series and hope the next few continue to be as good. I must say I find Black Library's new schedule to be rather cynical - making us wait months and months for the 'legacy' paperbacks because they are cheaper - Ive collected the whole series since they came out and I don't like those stupidly large paperbacks and they don't match up with the older ones either of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bolter porn - iron warriors edition, 5 Nov 2013
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Somewhere within this mess there is a good story.....Its about Perturabo, master of the Iron Warriors...Its about why he choose to side with the warmaster and betrayed his oath, how he became typecast as a siegemaster, a breaker rather than builder of wonders....Its about Fulgrim and his dreams of acesion to a higher form of existance
Sadly its mostly Perturabo and Fulgrims wacky cosmic journey to find a weapon that will turn the tide of the war but totally isnt what Perturabo expect it to be (but dont worry reader you will totally see it coming because Mr Mcneill is keen to spoil any potential twist for his readers).
So whats good about the book, well Perturabo is well developed, he far better than the moody rage monster that kills its own men that John French had written about, hes far more human, somewhat likeable and tragic, he has faith the Horus is doing the right thing and that all the Imperium does is tear down the human spirit. He has respect for his men, wont sell their live cheaply and seems wounded by the idea of killing his brothers and their legions.
Sadly this leads to the bad. Perturabos legion seems to be made up of characters from Grahams early 40k novel "Storm of iron". It pretty much makes every character story proof, nothing can happen because you already know they are still alive thousands of years after the end of the book. It takes away any sense of threat or suspence from any of the many battle scenes.
Then we come to Fulgrim and his emperor's children. They are pretty much laughable parodys of saturday morning cartoon badguys. Grahams previous HH book fulgrim did a good job at showing how pride can before their fall and made the monsters they became all the more tragic...but no its just so much comedy bad guy banter and being weird and nasty for the sake of it. Quite why the Iron warriors dont see how theyve picked the wrong side and massacre their "allies" is quite beyond me.
And then come the subplots, we have survivors from the broken legions out to avenge Ferrus Manus, they are pretty much forgetable and seem to consist of little more than Angry marine, Tech Marine and Ninja Raven guard Marine dont worry folks they have magic plot armour and can do whatever the story demands of them.....and then there are some eldar....and a do hicky that can heal mortal wounds in statis...and some more elder
and then thats it...Mr Mneill hit his required page count and wraps things up.
Honestly note sure aside from Fulgrims story arch if this book need to exist.
Sure the battles are well done and atleast the iron warriors got some background and page time but in the end....its little more the another volume of bolter porn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
a good price and arriving in good time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
WELL PLEASED NO PROBS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy)
Angel Exterminatus (The Horus Heresy) by Graham McNeill (Paperback - 18 July 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews