Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my review
The death of antagonis is the latest in black library's space marine battles series. Having read all the previous books which range from the occasionally terrible, to the mostly average i.e . The purging of kalidus. To the brilliant battle of the fang I was looking forward to the death of antagonis which deals with the little known black dragons space marine chapter. The...
Published on 8 April 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not original
Received on 15 February 2013 from Amazon

The death of Antagonis tells the story of the second company of Space Marines of the Black Dragons. These are called for help as the planet's population is infected by a plague that transforms its inhabitants into living dead. This starts the Wars of Lamentation which will pitch the Black Dragons and their supposed...
Published on 26 Feb. 2013 by JPS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not original, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
Received on 15 February 2013 from Amazon

The death of Antagonis tells the story of the second company of Space Marines of the Black Dragons. These are called for help as the planet's population is infected by a plague that transforms its inhabitants into living dead. This starts the Wars of Lamentation which will pitch the Black Dragons and their supposed allies against Chaos possessed Space Marines lead by the heretic Cardinal Nessun.

While interesting and action-packed, the story is not exactly original, with the Black Dragons being warped by genetic malformations, attracting suspicion from the Inquisition and generally considered as outcasts by other Space Marine Chapters. Although I will try hard to avoid spoilers, a number of features pertaining to this chapter and its problems and tensions very much reminded me of Ben Counter's Soul Drinkers.

Some features are somewhat original, such as the ability of the heretic Cardinal to manipulate minds, or the Cardinal himself and the Swords of Epiphany, the renegade Chapter who are his Space Marine disciples and the Black Dragons' ancient enemies. Another interesting feature was the existence of deceptions and plots within plots, with nothing being quite what it seems to be. One last bit that I liked was the space ship engagements.

Unfortunately, I also had some problems. First, we never get to learn how and why the ex-Cardinal became a heretic and how and why a whole Chapter of Space Marines chose to follow him. Second, the clashes between the two Chapters opposing the deformed but loyal Black Dragons and the handsome, seraphic but evil Swords of Epiphany appeared a bit too one-sided for my taste, with the latter getting a bit too easily thrashed. Finally, I did not find the characters very "believable". Although not necessarily "bad" or cardboard characters, they mostly felt like stereotypes and did not quite come alive for me.

Accordingly, I would recommend this one to Warhammer 40K fans, although they probably do not need any recommendation from anyone and are likely to buy it anyway. Others may want to give this one a pass and save their money for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my review, 8 April 2013
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
The death of antagonis is the latest in black library's space marine battles series. Having read all the previous books which range from the occasionally terrible, to the mostly average i.e . The purging of kalidus. To the brilliant battle of the fang I was looking forward to the death of antagonis which deals with the little known black dragons space marine chapter. The book doesn't disappoint the characters are well developed and interesting particularly with regard to the conflict between the altered and unaltered space marines within the company and the chapters viepoints on it. The combat is entertaining and well thought out as is the renegade chapter the black dragons face. All in all a well written addition to the series and a indication of the change from the series earlier book that focused to much on the "big picture" in terms of story. The only criticism I could level at the death of antagonis would be a lack of involvement regarding the chapter leadership, still highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced, action packed and intense story, 11 April 2013
By 
Liam Nicholson (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
From the first chapter you're immediately thrust into a high octane 40K novel. The action remains constant throughout the novel, but we're given plenty of downtime between skirmishes for great character development. The writing is fantastic, highly descriptive, and full of interesting metaphors to describe the intense and bloody battles without being too 'wordy'. Annandale is a fine writer of Military Fiction and action scenes judging by this story, which is a difficult thing to get right. The story itself is dark and mysterious, just as any fan of 40K will expect, with plenty of tension building and a few nice twists here and there. I certainly enjoyed reading about the Black Dragons chapter, and their 'differences' from other Space Marines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars like very bad fanfic, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
I had hopes for this, I really really wanted it to be good.
It started with promise, a pseudo zombie plague, Black dragon space marines and what I assumed would be an epic battle for the world of Antagonis (given that thats the title of the book. After a fairly decent opening few chapters and a pretty decent twist behind the zombie everything went down hill.
The meat of the story is really about the interal strife within the black dragons and how the choose to embrace or reject their mutations that turn them into a space marine version of wolverine from the x-men whilst trying to get to the bottom of the true motive behind the death of Antagonis (not really a spoiler it happens pretty soon into the story).
From that point it became cookie cutter fan fic fodder.
Characters are pretty much a single trait rather than any real depth. Fanatic to the point of crazy inquisitor, wolverine clone, evil chaos marines that lack any real motive or developement you can find them all her. The only charcter that stuck out was Setheno,a sister of battle attached to the Black dragons to see that the imperial will is carried out. Shes somewhat fanatic yet resonable, willing to do whatever needs to be done to ensure the survival of the imperium and kicks a lot of ass doing so.
But its all a bit stupid, we have a bit of a fetch quest to unlock the key to a super weapon....a stupid super weapon, we have an amount of deaths that would deplete a chapter let around the company strength for sent to Antagonis and a Mary sue wolverine clone who manages to cut down anything in his path with minimum fuss. The whole thing is laughable and poor editing fails to catch several moments in which David Annadale seems to show a complete lack of knowledge in the background of the universe hes chosen to write in.
Really avoid like the plague
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Black Dragons go to war, 28 May 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
The Black Dragons Chapter of Adeptus Astartes are infamous for the mutation of their Ossmodula implant that causes outgrowths of bone to grow from their bodies in the form of horns and blades. This mutation has attracted distrust and accusations of taint from other Imperial organisations but no proof has ever been found. When the Second Company of the Black Dragons are tasked with pausing the destruction of the plague of undeath on the planet of Antagonis, they are drawn into a series of events that could threaten the very existence of the Chapter.

I have been interested in the Black Dragons for a while now so when I saw this 'Space Marine Battles' novel focused on the Chapter I had to read it and I must say it was quite enjoyable. The book is reasonably well written, although there are a few errors here and there, and the action scenes are nicely paced and relatively easy to follow. The characters in the book are all reasonably well developed and all are interesting but my favourite has to be Canoness Setheno who is a remarkably intriguing character who I would definitely like to see more of. Of the two main characters, I probably prefer the Dragon Claw Sergeant Volos but Toharan also has an interesting and reasonably well written character arc.

The main problem that I have with the book is that while it is relatively competently written there is nothing really that makes it stand out. As well as this some things in the book could probably have done with a little more development.

Overall of the three 'Space Marine Battles' books that I have read, I would say that 'Death of Antagonis' is better than 'Ryan's World' but not quite as good as 'Battle of the Fang' and is worth a solid four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great start.... weird end..., 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
I'd say this book splits into two halves. First half is excellent - the Black Dragons get summoned to Antagonis, a planet seemingly taken over by the undead but all is not as it seems. As the story plays out a tense standoff develops as it becomes clear that the chapter is under investigation by the Inquisition and it becomes a game of politics. This section of the book is great. The second half though I thought was disappointing. It's not massively clear why some of the characters behave as they do and the whole thing loses it's way and if anything just becomes a bit weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BLACK DRAGONS, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
A tough read as characters a described in moderation other than one character in particular.. the author appears to believe that we as readers know who is who before entering the world of the book. I found myself jotting down names on a note pad to refer to and associate with in further chapters... this aside the story is compelling and leaves you wanting more :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my partner, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
This book arrived on time and in good condtion. It was a gift for my partner and he was happy to receive it for his birthday. Having not read it yet he cant tell me if its any good, but, hes looking forward to reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the death of antagonis, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
my youngest son loves these books i ordered this one from his amazon wish list so i know he will love it on Christmas morning he travels a lot with his job and he reads these books on the train and plane so thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well done, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) (Paperback)
well writen story. That draws you in to the world of warhammer.and keeps you thinking and guessing all through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles)
The Death of Antagonis (Space Marine Battles) by David Annandale (Paperback - 14 Feb. 2013)
Used & New from: £10.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews