Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cain is just so addictive
Whilst a lot of the universe in the future is deeply dark, there's something of a carefree attitude with any Caiphas Cain title as its not only full of humour but a hero of man, with no super powers (apart from getting into trouble and a good dash of common sense which if we're honest these days pretty much is.) The writing is fun, light in places but also gives the...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the last book..but only just....im getting bored now
Oh dear.The first half of the book kept a formidable pace as it set the scene and then it happened again.I got bored...only a bit mind you but it was boredom. The book ends and i was left feeling once again that the formula of cain and jurgen with the comedy that made these charecters so amazing to begin with has dried up. The last three books so far in the adventures of...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Robin G. Symons


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the last book..but only just....im getting bored now, 3 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh dear.The first half of the book kept a formidable pace as it set the scene and then it happened again.I got bored...only a bit mind you but it was boredom. The book ends and i was left feeling once again that the formula of cain and jurgen with the comedy that made these charecters so amazing to begin with has dried up. The last three books so far in the adventures of cain have been par,sub par and par where as the others were amazing. I suppose it was new and fresh and now it just doesnt seem to work aswell any more.The interuptions in the text by amberly are more annoying than clever now and im so bored of frequent end of chapter 'if only i knew' and 'i should have known how wrong i was'. Also im bored of some of the plots. Its becomming obvious that jurgen will blast the bad guy with his meltagun or kill its power with his special 'gift', or blow a hole in a wall to freedom with his melta or a grenade he keeps in his pouches for such occassions. Look im not saying it wasnt ok but its just so bla! now. I want a new guants ghosts book as dan just keeps hitting the mark time and time again. Also is it me or are the tyrnids used alot. Genestealers, genestealer cults ,im just bored.Strange because gaunt just fights chaos human cults with occassional traitor marines and deamons thrown in for good measure.The point is sandys work to me is getting boring which is such a shame.The books of cain just seem to be loosing something.Im jumping ship to read about the ultramarines in the horus heresy but i am disapointed with the last ditch and if you are a cain fan you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a bit tired., 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love reading the Cain novels, so when this came out in Hardback only I was prepared to spend the extra cash rather than wait for the paperback copy.

I have to say this is disappointing work from Sandy Mitchell. There's nothing new in the pages, the comedy element has dropped considerably and you feel like the later campaigns of Caphias Cain should be best left untold if this is anything to go by.

Sandy don't go out this way! I would prefer to read about his very early days rather than the end of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cain is just so addictive, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whilst a lot of the universe in the future is deeply dark, there's something of a carefree attitude with any Caiphas Cain title as its not only full of humour but a hero of man, with no super powers (apart from getting into trouble and a good dash of common sense which if we're honest these days pretty much is.) The writing is fun, light in places but also gives the reader a story of combat, glory and smarts as he ends up this time in the middle of an Ork/Tyranid sandwich with himself and Jurgen often being that little worm on the big hook.

Add to this Sandy's writing style that has you gripped, great use of pace and action sequences, it never fails to entertain and a series that stands out for completely different reasons in the Warhammer 40K universe. Tons of fun for the reader and whilst my own Dad isn't glued to a lot of Science Fiction he can't wait to get his hands on the latest exploits of the Commisat's greatest hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a stocking filler for my son (aged 23!). It arrived about a week after Christmas and I had forgotton I ordered it! Book was appreciated and enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a good book but storyline is getting a bit too similar., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I still enjoy reading these Cain novels and will continue to but the new ones as I like the style of writing, the characters and the action in the books. The humour, action and story of the book is good, but unfortunately is followed a similar theme to previous novels, with Cain once again on a snow covered world hunting orks, only to run into another unseen foe. This has been the format of several of Sandy Mitchell's Cain novels and although still enjoyable it is starting to get a bit to similar, with little separating the different novels. However, many novel series follow a similar story path in each book and it does not stop them been enjoyable and successful.

I would still recommend this book to fans of Warhammer 40K and Ciaphas Cain, full of the action, suspense and humour your would expect from the hero of the imperium!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another entertaining Cain book, 29 July 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) (Mass Market Paperback)
'The Last Ditch' sees Ciaphas Cain and the Valhallan 597th Imperial Guard regiment travel to the ice world of Nusquam Fundumentibus to tackle an infestation of orks. Things begin to go wrong for the Hero of the Imperium and his colleagues before he can even arrive at his destination as their ship is endangered and then their eventual fiery arrival on Nusquam Fundumentibus leads to the awakening of a threat far more deadly than the orks.

This eighth book in the 'Ciaphas Cain' series is another entertaining instalment of one of the best Warhammer 40'000 novel series. As with some of the more recent books in the series, 'The Last Ditch' is probably less comedic than some of the books from the beginning of the series and personally I feel that it is a better book because of it. The book is as well written as you would expect from Sandy Mitchel with relatively easy to follow battle scenes, good settings and interesting characters. Of the new characters for this book, Commissar Forres and the Planetary Governor are both nicely written.

The main downside of the book is that the plot is probably a little simple and somewhat predictable but personally I feel this is only a minor irritation as, despite this, I still found 'The Last Ditch' to be compulsive reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Same story different setting, 30 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ciaphas Cain must be both the luckest and unluckest man in 40k, in each book he is able to survive more and more extreme disasters with little more than dirt on his leather coat, yet at the same time everywhere he goes ends up ruined and devastated.
As is traditional in a Cain novel our Hero is sent to a world to fight one type of enemy, but due to his good/bad luck ends the book fighting another one, this is to be expected as in almost every book he has been in this has happened, Tau/Genestealer, Ork/Necrons, Ork/Tyranids etc, etc, in only a couple of books has our hero managed to remain focused on just the one enemy. This book is more of the same turn up to fight rebels end up with a massive Genestealer infestation. For a bit of change Space Marines are involved in this one at least, but are painted so drably and in most cases 1 dimensionally to make them an almost pointless addition.
It is fair to say large chunks of this book feel like they could have come almost word for word from one of the previous books with only minor changes. Something which is very noticeable whenever Jurgen is around as even if there is no action the same tired jokes about his poor turnout, BO etc are rehashed again and again
In summary a book that is well written and discriptive, but one which will bore most Cain readers pretty quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) (Mass Market Paperback)
Sandy Mitchell has provided another great anecdote from the Cain journals, plenty of laughs in the story but that never down plays the seriousness of what's going on and always looks to the bigger picture. The Emperor protects [Those who protect themselves]!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ciaphas does it again, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) (Mass Market Paperback)
Keeping up with Ciaphas is always fun and this novel continues the glory and humour of Ciaphas Cain! Well written and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Last Ditch certainly not last ditch for Sandy Mitchell, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) (Mass Market Paperback)
Commissar Cain is on the road once again, and true to his style, neck-deep in trouble because of his reputation and taking the easy way out, only to end up in the deep end unintentionally.

The book was a fast read with fun and exciting sections equally spread throughout. The only things that made me give 4 stars to this book instead of 5 stars were the continuous apologies and external quotes of the fictional character who collects the commissars memoirs (that gag's been old since a few books already), and the main antagonists of the book, which are once again the same as in a few earlier books. Luckily the next book will have a new antagonist group, I believe, so I trust it will be at least at the 4-star rating, perhaps even at the 5-star rating level.

tl;dr : Great book, with some repetition in regard to earlier books, but fun read in any case. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain)
The Last Ditch (Warhammer 40,000 Novels: Ciaphas Cain) by Sandy Mitchell (Mass Market Paperback - 29 Jan 2013)
Used & New from: £73.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews