Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undead and vampires!!
Great book full of death, war , love , epic story all round with hordes and hordes of undead and vampires!! Worth a read even if you don't enjoy or follow warhammer stuff. Can be bit slow in the middle but is a epic read and a bit sad ending!!!
Published 16 months ago by Lewy4422

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Dodo
I liked the faux Egyptian setting and the premise of the liche type necromancer. But the timeline is utterly confusing, the chapters skip from past the future and back again with silly dates. I became utterly confused in what should have been a fantasy page turner, so I gave up. The author has potential and if you're more patient than me then maybe you'd like it.
Published 5 months ago by The Goat


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Boring--don't waste your time!, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of the Warhammer old world stories. I've read many of them, and never been disappointed because normally they have very good storylines. This book couldn't have been more of a disappointment. Battle after battle, almost no character development or story in between. Boring, boring, boring. Don't waste your time or cash on this crappy book. Makes a great door stop, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dodo, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the faux Egyptian setting and the premise of the liche type necromancer. But the timeline is utterly confusing, the chapters skip from past the future and back again with silly dates. I became utterly confused in what should have been a fantasy page turner, so I gave up. The author has potential and if you're more patient than me then maybe you'd like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undead and vampires!!, 5 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Rise of Nagash (Time of Legends) (Paperback)
Great book full of death, war , love , epic story all round with hordes and hordes of undead and vampires!! Worth a read even if you don't enjoy or follow warhammer stuff. Can be bit slow in the middle but is a epic read and a bit sad ending!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise of Nagash (Time of Legends) (Paperback)
The package arrived early, and with zero damage. The book itself is fantastic, a huge omnibus of the stories of Nagash. Definitly recommend for those with an interest in the history of the Warhammer universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Evans-crane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rise of Nagash (Time of Legends) (Paperback)
A very well written series set in the Warhammer universe. Avoids one dimensional characters - while reading this you can empathise with the characters motivations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nagash Omnibus with all 3 novels, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
BOOK ONE: Nagash the Sorcerer

Nagash, Grand Hierophant of the Living City's mortuary cult, searches for the secret to eternal life. Without the fear of death, the gods would have no hold over mortals. Nagash's brother, Thutep, is the king. When Nagash first sees Neferem, the betrothed of Thutep, he feels jealousy as never before. Neferem represents the covenant. She is the conduit for the gods' powers. Once she becomes queen, she stands beside her husband's decisions, helping to care for their people. Nagash, craving power, plots to kill his brother, take the throne and the queen for himself, and bring about the end of the gods' hold on mortals.

Nagash becomes the Undying King. His life-giving elixir is given only to those he chooses. As long as those chosen keep taking the elixir, they are immortal. Through trickery, Neferem is made immortal. She is enslaved, bound body and soul, to Nagash. Her hatred for Nagash is as undying as his elixir makes him.

The sorcerer, craving more and more power, continues his dark experiments. The Hieratic Council in Mahrak defies the Undying King. But before the necromancer is done, all Nehekhara will lie beneath his heel, and Settra's great empire will be restored. The age of the old gods is over!

**** FOUR STARS! Mike Lee has done a terrific job of bringing the legend of Nagash to (immortal) life. As I read about the birth of vampires, there were times that I wondered if perhaps I had been ensorcelled by the author's writing talent. I admit that I found the narrations to be too long-winded at times, yet the images crafted within my imagination as I read were amazing. Highly recommended reading! ****

BOOK TWO: Nagash the Unbroken

Many hope, pray, or believe that Nagash the Usurper, Undying King of fallen Khemi, perished with his undead army. The remaining immortals were hunted down, a feat that took decades, and eliminated. Only one remains, Arkhan the Black. As the Usurper's army fell, Lamashizzar smuggled the books of Nagash from the Black Pyramid outside Khemri. Now Lamashizzar, Priest King of Lahmia, City of the Dawn, seeks the power that Nagash once held. With Arkhan nearby, locked immobile within his own flesh and bone, Lamashizzar studies Nagash's tomes. Yet Arkhan knows that once he reveals all Nagash's secrets, he will be destroyed.

Queen Neferata realizes that Lamashizzar cares for nothing more than his studies. The care and protection of Lahmia falls to her. Therefore, without her husband's knowledge, Neferata strikes a bargain with Arkhan. The immortal gives the queen secret tutelage of the necromantic arts. Soon she can deal with Lamashizzar, care for her people, and eventually make Lahmia the undisputed center of power in all of Nehekhara.

Unfortunately for Nehekhara, Nagash still lives. Nagash retreats to the mountains where he slowly rebuilds his strength and finds new allies in many of the barbarians and the skaven (mutant ratmen that dwell beneath the earth). In his new lair of Cripple Peak, Nagash discovers warpstone, which gives the necromancer more power than ever before. Once Nagash unlocks all the secrets of warpstone, he will be unstoppable.

**** FOUR STARS! The blurb on the back of the individual book speaks only of Nagash and the skaven. This is extremely misleading. Less than half of this book follows Nagash. As for the skaven, they are hardly seen or mentioned. The main focus this time is on Queen Neferata. My main problem with the story is the large gaps in time. More than once I turned the page to find that fifty years or more had passed. This caused me to somewhat flounder as I tried to figure out if anything vital had changed. I believe these sections could have been handled better. Yet overall, this story is intriguing. The epilogue, which begins after another huge time gap, gives a minor sneak peak as to how the third book will begin. I look forward to reading more about the beginning of the vampires. ****

BOOK THREE: Nagash Immortal

Nagash the Usurper, Tyrant of Khemri, still walks the earth, some five hundred years after his defeat at the Battle of Mahrak. His plans to seal the doom of the great cities of Nehekhara are delayed when the skaven dwelling under his dark mountain try to overtake the mining levels and claim the powerful stones called abn-i-khat as their own. Nagash must crush the skaven, a task that will take many years and battles, before he may continue his evil plans.

While Nagash deals with his ratman problems, other immortals are busy too. Neferata is the Queen of Lahmia, the City of the Dawn. Her line has ruled Lahmia for millennium. The vampire has kept her immortality and true nature hidden from the mortals. Within her court resides Alcadizzar, Prince of Rasetra, who she has raised and educated since his birth. (Alcadizzar is thirty-years-old when he is first introduced to the reader.) As the young prince matures, his tutors relentlessly train him to be the best king Khemri has ever had. Few know that Neferata plans to unite Khemri and Lahmia by making Alcadizzar her consort. As the prince continues to learn all he can to help his people in their future, Neferata slowly molds him according to her own wishes.

Alcadizza is fifty-one when he finds out that Neferata is a vampire. Her dark elixirs have slowed his aging, so Prince Alcadizza's appearance has hardly altered. The prince flees Lahmia, intent on warning Nehekhara of Neferata's dark crimes. But without evidence, none of the great cities' rulers dare to move against Lahmia. In order to find proof, the prince travels into the Golden Plains. Under the alias of Ubaid, the prince is adopted by one of the best tribes. Here he will live and fight as one of the bani-al-Hashim for decades. Once proof is finally found, all of the great cities will band together to purge Nahekhara of Lahmia's great evil.

After many, many decades of war between Nagash's forces and the skaven, they form an uneasy alliance. The skaven are greedy by nature and Nagash uses their vice for his own nefarious purpose. The necromancer launches his nightmarish army and finally begins his final attack on the lands of Nehekhara, killing any and all before them. Only one man dare stand in his way - King Alcadizzar. Should Nagash prevail, Nehekhara will cease to be, followed by all the Old World.

*** THREE STARS! This is the last book of the Nagash Trilogy. Nagash is given more time in the spot light this time around, yet still not as much as I would have enjoyed. When I, as a Warhammer fan, think of Nagash, I imagine an incomparable evil. He is a dark figure compiled from the most malevolent sorceries and made sentient. Often the author manages to convey that same image to me, however, there are times that Nagash's character comes across as too weak.

Queen Neferata is as problematic for Alcadizzar as Nagash, if not more so. Our hero will make horrible sacrifices and go through great pain for his people. But will it be enough? Will Nagash and Neferata, or both, be destroyed? Can there be a happy ending? I refuse to spoil the story by telling. ***

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rise of Nagash (Time of Legends, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this. I have read all of the book in the Nagash series and have started on Neferati have also read the first book in the Black Pleague series "Dead Winter" and the first book in the War of Vengence "The Great Betrayal." Fantastic books and can't wait for the next ones in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whilst this book is a compendium of the three Nagash books that have come before (Nagash the Sorcerer, Nagash the Unbroken, Nagash the Immortal) it's a great way for you to pick up the series for a very reasonable price leaving the recipient of this with a huge volume to savour without having to wait between books.

The prose within is reasonable and whilst in places I did have difficulty with the series, it is never the less a huge accomplishment to get the events alongside story right for one of the most reviled villains of the Old World. Add to the mix, some solid twists, an author who knows where he's going and likes to lead you (torch in hand) and all round it's a great addition for any fan of the undead or the Warhammer Fantasy World. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered this for my son, he has read all three in the series. If this is your type of thing you will love this book. My son finished it in a week. Couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rise of Nagash (Time of Legends)
The Rise of Nagash (Time of Legends) by Mike Lee (Paperback - 11 Dec 2012)
Used & New from: 43.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews