Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book, somewhat original but not the best
I am always amazed when reading reviews that either heap praise or blast a book to pieces without really explaining WHY the respective reviewers either "loved" or "hated" the book. It is largely because many reviewers do this (including myself, at times, when I am not careful) that I started writting reviews of my own. Here are a couple of examples, to illustrate how easy...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by JPS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... anything from the recipient so am guessing they were happy with it
Bought as a gift but haven't heard anything from the recipient so am guessing they were happy with it.
Published 5 months ago by MRS D BUTTON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treachery writ large, 12 April 2012
By 
V. Clark "Snowy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Another great strand to the HH universe and another great book by Mr Abnett. The battle scenes were great from orbital bombardments to in your face hand to hand combat. The sense of confusion changing to outrage on the part of the Ultra Marines at the betrayal of their so called 'brothers' the Word Bearers was nicely written, especially the reference to the earlier chastisement the Emperor enacted upon the Word Bearers using the Ultra Marines as his instrument to carry this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disaster and betrayal on an epic scale, 17 Mar 2012
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Dan Abnett has a great knack of choosing one or two themes to focus on in his Horus Heresy novels. In 'Know No Fear' he appears to have chosen making the action seem immediate and desperate and making an apocalypse really really apocalyptic. And does so, seemingly effortlessly (well, how else do you explain his prolific output if not that he just writes really well, really easily?).

Pretty much the entire novel is written in the present tense, a potentially risky choice, but one that makes the action feel non-stop, leaving the reader as breathless as the characters in the story. (Abnett seems to have taken it easy on his thesaurus for this book too) And the disaster that starts the whole conflict - well, Abnett channels devastation like that visited on Caprica in Battlestar Galactica, making the destruction of Calth's fleet, shipyards, and cities feel as monolithically cataclysmic as you could hope for.

Its always tricky to tell a story people know the ending of and keep it engaging and interesting. The secret of course is good characters doing interesting things. 'Know No Fear's characters are perhaps a little weak - there's only so much space around the titanic first strike against Calth after all. But the focus is perhaps on the Ultramarines Legion as a whole, rather than individual Astartes, and as a treatise on the nature and character of that Legion, an explanation as to why Calth and the destruction of the Word Bearers is so important to them, 'Know No Fear' is still pretty awesome.

It is perhaps not an essential title in the Horus Heresy series. There is only one story arc in it that really ties it it into the whole saga, that is, characters and mysteries that are likely to appear in future titles. But anyone buying it is unlikely to be disappointed. As a disaster novel and a background to one of the most popular chapters in the 40k universe, 'Know No Fear' is packed from start to finish with great action and great writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Dan Abnett classic, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
I havent finished the book yet but my god its difficult to put down!

Do not read this if you have work the next day! You have been warned. Ive really been speed reading this book far too much and I think Im going to have to re-read it properly from the start. One criticism I would have is that it keeps breaking away from Gulliman all the time...its infuriating and then I speed-read more.

I dont think its his best work but it is completely utterly addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the beginning of the war with chaos, 27 April 2012
By 
Bryan Odriscoll "brian boru" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
I am a fan of Dan Abnett's work, particularly the Gaunt's Ghosts series. I have read a couple of the Horus Heresy series but was not as taken with them. However, I appreciate this book because it explains, to me at any rate, how this galaxy-wide war got started. I am sure that there are other books in the series which explain it in other ways but this one gives me a fair introduction. The first reviewer above,JPS, gives a good critique of the strengths and weaknesses of the story which I can't improve on. It is certainly one of those books which I couldn't put down until I had finished it, much like Traitor General, one of my favourite from Gaunt's Ghosts although quite different from this, but just as absorbing. It should satisfy the tastes of those readers who like apocalyptic fiction and the endless tale of good versus evil, whether here on the microcosm of earth or out in the macrocosm of the galaxy, or even the universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Global Invasion, 13 April 2012
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
For fans of Dan Abnett this is very typical and you'll know what to expect. I felt the book was more along the lines of his Gaunt novels and the 'Titanicus' novel. We follow individuals and groups as they struggle through the Word Bearer's treacherous war against Calth. Dan Abnett's writing style gives the events an 'immediate' feel that pushes the story along nicely in the first third, building up tension nicley untill we get to the moment of treachery.

This is where the Author succeeds in my opinion. The invasion truly feels global and dramatic. You get a real sense of the outrage and confusion as the fighting starts on Calth and the fleet is attacked.

Be warned - if you are looking for intrigue and overly ellaborate plot twists, then you will not get them in this novel - it's all about the fight. This is fine with me, there have been plenty of novels in the series that have purely dealt with exposition and origins of the heresey, it's about time we had some delivery!

I've taken a star off this for Warhammer purist reasons - I feel sometimes (just sometimes) the author starts to re-write The HH and WH40K universe accoring to the word of Dan Abnett. I guess he's just trying to put his spin on some aspects of the universe.

I would also like to have read a bit more about the Primarch, In my opinion none of the HH writer have really got a a handle on how to portray the Primarchs and make them likeable yet, but DA does make a point of saying Guilliman is a hard man to warm to, it would have just been good to read more about his thought processes as the invasion continues.

Overall though, a thumping good read that had me hooked. It also sets up a few other sub-stories that wil hopefully be explored, maybe in one of the short story collections in the future.(remember John Grammaticus from 'Legion' anybody?)

Mayzee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dan abnett is the warmaster, 9 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
After the disappointment of galaxy in flames i jumped ship and read the tremendous ciaphas cain books which are imperial guard but with a unique main character (think gaunt but more endearing ).Like my reviews state the last 3 of the eight books didn't do ciahas justice so i decided to jump ship again. I am much more for the imperial guard than for the spacemarines. I like the regular joes up against all the nightmares of the galaxy but i am also a follower of the ultramarines. They are the biggest legion in the 31k universe and up untill now they havent had much of a say in the horus heresy. That changed when dan the man wrote this book. With over 500 planets loyal to the emperor that make up the worlds of the ultramarines and its peoples it was only a matter of time untill the heresy tried to take a bite. A seemingly large gathering of men and material are circling calth. Some are ultra and some are from the word bearers, a legion with a past who want to prove themselves equal of the ultramarines. Horus is gathering his forces for an overkill annihilation of orks...he also wants to show he is the warmaster and that the primachs must obey him. As this overwhelming force of arms gathers on land and in space something happens that will turn brother against brother.....yes nothing new you say but this book is epic stuff. The first 150 pages or so read like a script from a hollywood disaster movie. Its like dan spoke to micheal bay and james cameron...its that glorious. Then the hell begins and the stories of trust,betrayal,death,bravery smash you in the face untill you just cant take anymore. Then you realise you cant put the book down. My one issue is that it seems a bit short but its 400 or so pages which is what the heresy series seems to have adopted.
Since galaxy in flames the heresy series of books has become a series of books that can be read standalone. this will probably continue untill the final epic galactic battle between horus and the emperor but this train will be milked for a while i imagine. This book was a page turner and although ive jumped straight back to the imperial guard again after this book i would say this is well worth the cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars on the Abnett Scale, 2 Mar 2012
By 
P. Elliott "lord of the dance" (South East UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Despite what some have said about the lack of character development, I think that this novel, provided just as rich a variety of characters as one of the early gaunt's ghosts novels. What it lacks, however, is the sense of potential development of those characters. This is what I have really enjoyed about all the very best Abnett novels. He writes easily the best characters of all those in the Black Library ( barring Bill King's ). I enjoyed the plot and the way Guilliman was presented, he seemed a lot richer and well fleshed out than many of the other primarchs have been in the series.

What I must emphasise is that this novel isn't conclusive and epic in scale, it is a fast paced snapshot.

For all that, I enjoyed it, it certainly is different from a lot of the pulp that the black library publishes, and good for precisely that reason.

In summary; not Abnett's best, but better than the rest. ( and refreshing )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six stars, and a testament..., 16 Feb 2012
By 
A. Lau (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...to the virtually limitless capacity of the English language and Dan Abnett to describe anything imaginable.

Let me advise prospective purchasers in the strongest possible terms to not purchase 'Know no Fear' except on a Friday, as it is so high-octane that you will read it in one sitting and your sleep patterns for the next day will be seriously messed up. I actually missed my Tube station on the way back from work, turned back, got off, and sat down at the platform for nearly three hours to finish the book; it's that incredible. In most of Dan's books, the odd word appears that I have never met before, and I reach for the dictionary; in KNF, the tension was so great I physically couldn't stop turning the pages to check them.

Every masterpiece of bolter-porn ever crafted by the author has been a run-up to this book: the Space Wolf assault on the Quietude homeworld in 'Prospero Burns', the showdown on Herodor in 'Sabbat Martyr', the retaking of Gereon in 'The Armour of Contempt', the Atrocity at the Spatian Gate in 'Malleaus' and (his previous masterpiece) the siege of Vervunhive in 'Necropolis', are totally eclipsed. Dan Abnett plants himself in pole position to be the one to describe the Battle of Terra and - through an ingenious manoeuvre - in KNF actually gets started on the process.

It's a triumph on so many levels.

The book is daringly written entirely in the present tense, and with more abrupt shifts between narrative threads than previous books. It makes the sustained tension exhausting and unbearable.

Dan previously mentioned that he was unsure about how to tackle Space Marines; I suppose the question was how to give context to the superhuman scale of them. He conquers that in KNF by simply ratcheting up the conflict concerned to levels beyond anything he's ever done, with pulverising, apocolyptic effect. To have even IMAGINED the things that happen in the story is phenomenal; to then adequately take the reader through them is just an extraordinary accomplishment.

A host of characters from other books are brilliantly woven into the longest cast of characters of any Abnett book so far. Though the story is event-driven, there are lots of insightful, human moments. Two characters really stand out: the musings of Telemechrus, the Dreadnought, and Roboute Guilliman himself. In 'Prospero Burns', Dan avoids giving Leman Russ too much stage time to avoid over-description; in KNF, Guilliman takes centre stage and his depiction is perfectly judged.

One criticism I had of 'Prospero Burns' was that the reminiscences between the action scenes were too abrupt a shift of pace; they seemed bogged-down and ponderous in comparison. That's avoided here by just making the whole story an unrelenting action sequence.

In a few Abnett books, the endings come as slight anticlimaxes, either OTT or too riddled with non-sequiters; the ending of the Ravenor trilogy and 'Titanicus' come to mind. In KNF, the narrative comes to a logical and powerful conclusion fully worthy of the rest of the book.

BTW, the story was apparently written to the soundtrack to 'Tron: Legacy", and I can confirm that the two seem to go perfectly well together.

Just read it. But, for goodness' sake, start on a Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 April 2012
By 
Mr. Ri Extall (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) (Paperback)
First, let me start by saying that I am a big fan of Dan Abnett. He is by far the best writer that the Black Library have. However, I found this book not up to the mark, for several reasons. For me it lacked the usual feeling than Dan puts into his works, the usual emotion and depth just was not there. Secondly, there is some very bad science in this book; the sound of explosions travelling from orbit to the surface of a planet!! (Sound cannot travel through a vaccuum), and explosive shockwaves in space (again, shockwaves cannot travel through a vaccuum) are but a couple of easily remembered examples of bad scientific understanding on Dan's part. Yes, I know this is a sci-fi book set in a fantasy setting of the future, but this doesn't change the law of physics and thermodynamics does it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy)
Know No Fear: The Battle of Calth (The Horus Heresy) by Dan Abnett (Paperback - 1 Mar 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews