Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compendium of evil and self attainment
The compendium of the Word Bearer series by Anthony Reynolds who takes the reader to the dark side as we follow the exploits of First Acolyte Marduk within the three tales Dark Aposttle, Dark Disciple and Dark Creed. It has a top notch plot line, cracking prose and above all else a character that's unpredictable as he schemes, fights and double deals his way to his...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lot of killer, lacks some filler
As the title suggests this is an omnibus made up of `dark apostle, dark disciple, dark creed' and finished off with a new piece titled `torment,' all following the exploits of `First Acolyte Marduk and the 34th Host' Each novel by itself is superb, non stop marauding and murder but sadly (and I can't believe I'm writing this) put together is all just a bit too much to...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by Gavlar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compendium of evil and self attainment, 2 Jan 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Word Bearers Omnibus (Paperback)
The compendium of the Word Bearer series by Anthony Reynolds who takes the reader to the dark side as we follow the exploits of First Acolyte Marduk within the three tales Dark Aposttle, Dark Disciple and Dark Creed. It has a top notch plot line, cracking prose and above all else a character that's unpredictable as he schemes, fights and double deals his way to his goals.

It's a cracking read, has lots of wonderful moments and of course, as a compendium its sheer value for money almost worthy of the rank of Word Bearer itself. Top notch entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars death to the false emperor...a truly evil book, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Word Bearers Omnibus (Paperback)
I am a self confessed imperial guard man. I feel you can understand the regular ground pounders much more than advanced bio genetic soilders or some such advanced and heavily armoured beast. I like to dabble in other areas of the 40k universe now and again and recently i went back to the quite frankly at times awful horus heresy. There i read a monster of a book called the first heretic by aaron dembski-bowden. This was what i wanted and answers some really prudent questions like why a legion would turn their back on their brothers. If you have read first heretic you will be in for a treat here as this compilation of books inside this omnibus shows how far the word bearers have come (or fallen depending on your views) since the heresy. Ok i loved this book and even if you havent read heretic you will love it too. Book one entitled dark apostle lays the ground work for the new main character marduk. He believes he is destined for great things and maneuvers himself accordingly. As this is book one it was hard to warm to the new perspective and i was infact hoping the imperial guard characters would prevail as chaos takes a planet for some evil purpose in mind. The action is relentless and bloodthirsty as the book kind of asks you to take sides with your favorite character. All are conniving and conspiring against one another as is the chaos way of going up the ranks as well as being able to torch entire planets and blow heads off with bolter fire. At the end of the book i was warming to marduk and wanted more. The second book dark discipline is the gem of the book as it is a far tighter read. After the mass planet action of book 1 here we have a word bearer hit squad comprised of marduk and the main characters who after learning about an artifact which could potentially turn the tide for all forces of chaos drop planet side to get more info. Again the action is pure bolter porn and it is so glorious as it truly never stops.At the end of book two you start to think that maybe chaos can win....forever.
Book 3 ends the mayhem (briefly i hope) as using the tech and info at hand the word bearers lay siege in force to a heavily protected and warp vital system.A fitting end for now. The short story at the end gives some indepth views on how one of the main chaos characters has fallen from grace and although i guessed the ending very quickly its wonderfully done.
Buy this book...its got more action per page than most of my 40 k collection. Spread the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chaos Undivided (some spoilers), 2 April 2012
By 
N. L. Fairfax (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Word Bearers Omnibus (Paperback)
Im not normally a fan of this type of story, at first glance it could be written off as a hack-slash-bleed-CHAOS-demons! kind of thing.

But I found the story followable and the characters memorable. The second book does drag a bit, but I thought it ended well.

The third book succesfully details a wide ranging battle on many different levels (space, epic style titan fights and good old transhuman vs transhuman). plaus it carries the over arching plot to a well written ending, leaving the way clear for a possible follow up?

Recommended for any fans of Lorgar, or the triator marines in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great treatment of Chaos viewpoint, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Word Bearers Omnibus (Paperback)
Whilst the series of books starts off slightly below par, it only gets better. Like the TV series Dexter about a 'likeable' serial killer, the reader is constantly wondering where they stand with the main character here. There is plenty of grit, blood and bolters. Just the right amount, not too much, not too little. A great addition to the 40K panoply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best book i raed, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the tail of the word bearers in a dark detail was amising and get you in the 40k story zaner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hail the dark gods, 7 May 2012
By 
William "23 year Old Brit with a Passion for ... (COLWYN BAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Word Bearers Omnibus (Paperback)
A msut for anyone who gets a twitchy smile at the though of one of the original chaos legions unleashed on the warhammer univers in three gripping novles. In these awsome books you really feal the hate malice and slight insanity of the word bearers legion. 5* of uncencored brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lot of killer, lacks some filler, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Gavlar (south wales U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Word Bearers Omnibus (Paperback)
As the title suggests this is an omnibus made up of `dark apostle, dark disciple, dark creed' and finished off with a new piece titled `torment,' all following the exploits of `First Acolyte Marduk and the 34th Host' Each novel by itself is superb, non stop marauding and murder but sadly (and I can't believe I'm writing this) put together is all just a bit too much to get on with, Marduk is great, the 34th Host are brutal and pretty much every page is spilling blood without mercy, that's the lot in a nutshell. Great fun over short bursts but 766 pages without anything much else backing it up is hard going. When I first opened the cover and started I had good fun but made the mistake of going right through without any breaks from it. Too much killer without the much needed filler. I did then go back and read it as 3 novels and one novella while reading something else between each one and it all separately became a brilliant read.
As far as value for money goes this is top notch, as far as a load of separate novels go, perfect, all together in one go, hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Word Bearers Omnibus
The Word Bearers Omnibus by Anthony Reynolds (Paperback - 2 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: £8.30
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews