Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
Awesome book such a different take on Chaos Marines and left me wanting more Blood Gorgons books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
Henry Zou is a great story teller, this one was as good as his first. Well worth the time to read and very, very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a change of pace and a most welcome one, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
Look im not going to go into the story. Its good. A perspective from the chaos marines for a change. Demons, rituals, deceit,blood and battles ...its all there.Well received after finishing the wounderful first trilogy of the horus heresy.I was unexpectedly hooked as the main chaos space marine character barsabbas uses his evil cunning and skill as an elite killer to get to the bottam of the plans that have been hatched around him that seem to want to destroy his chapter. i read this during my recent night shifts and i could not put it down 100 or so pages in. Awesome stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly great!, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
As far as science fiction stories set in the Warhammer 40k universe go this is right up there with the best. Received this unexpectedly as a Christmas present from my brother and I wasn't expecting much but it's really good! The title sounds rubbish, I think even the blurb didn't make it sound great but from the first chapter in: brilliant. Manages to have a good plot and good action. If you like Warhammer-based fiction, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different perspective, 18 Oct 2011
By 
B. Jones - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
I enjoyed reading about the Blood Gorgons. They are renegades and in the Warhammer 40K world , traitor marines - bad guys!
For those fed up of reading about the exploit of the Emperors Loyal subjects I found this gave me a fresh and different perspective from the eyes of a Traitor Space Marine Chapetr thats currently marauding the Universe.
The story is gripping , with lots of twists and plots and action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Blood Gorgons, 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
The book obviously takes place in the 40k setting. This is a book of the renegade chapter "The Blood Gorgons" who were banished from the Imperium for their unholy practices of blood bonding -
Parts of two marines would be exchanged with each other, creating a both physical and mental bond through the brothers shared pain and limbs. This is a great book, it includes everything Chaos has to offer, malicious gods, pagan rituals, the bond of the broken chapter, daemons and malificarum. The plot revolves around Gammadins (The chapters champion ascendant) mystic disappearance during a Dark Eldar ambush, this throws the chapter into small infighting as to whom is to become the new leader of the Blood Gorgons, Gammadins blood bond? Or the devilish Chaos Sorcerer?

This book is great, and shows some of the interaction Chaos to Chaos, brother to brother, Immortal to Immortal.

If you decide to get the book, enjoy some of the great reading the Warhammer 40,000 universe offers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another epic installment in the Bastion Wars series, 25 July 2011
By 
R. van Heerde (Rotterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) (Paperback)
If you like reading about the other side of things for a change, since most Black Library 40k books are still about the Imperial side of things, this is a book for you.

Furthermore it just shows what a small group of Space Marines can do, no matter what allegiance they have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bastion Wars, Book Three, 27 Feb 2011
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Blood Gorgons (Chaos Space Marines) are weakened by the loss of their leader, Lord Gammadin, the Ascendant Champion. It is said that his demise happened on Belasia, where the dark eldar cultivated the remaining humans as slaves and sold them to others, even to Chaos Space Marine warbands such as the Blood Gorgons. Lord Gammadin had been betrayed by one of his own, the witch named Anko Muhr. But Muhr's traitorous deed remained unknown and it would not be his last.

The Blood Gorgons are called to the defence of one of their recruiting worlds, Hauts Bassiq. The population needs help against a plague of undeath. The expeditionary force is struck down by mysterious enemies. Bond-Brother Barsabbas, the only survivor, finds himself stranded. Determined to discover what is going on, Barsabbas uses his hatred as if it were fuel. He must use his cunning to, not only survive, but also navigate his way to Ur, the only city on the diseased world.

The troubles on Hauts Bassiq could cause a Chapter war from which Muhr is positioned to emerge the victor. Muhr's new dark patron is destroying Hauts Bassiq, and in return for Muhr's role, this patron is willing to aid the witch in his ascension to power. The Blood Gorgons are threatened from within and without. Things are becoming so hopeless that there are those among the Chapter who are beginning to openly admit that the time of the Blood Gorgons is ending.

**** THREE & A HALF STARS! Author Henry Zou well knows that even the Traitor Marines have a deep and fierce loyalty to their Chapter. The main attachment each feels is for the brother he shares a blood-bond with. The urgent need to reach, to fight beside, and (if needed) to rescue his bond-brother. Only his loyalty to the Chapter as a whole is more important. It never crossed my mind that betrayal could come from one of the Chapter's few unbonded members. Fortunately for us it did cross the author's mind. In this, Zou's third Bastion Wars title, readers can safely indulge their blood lust. From the beginning, up until the very end, this story is non-stop action with numerous battles.

There are many characters in this story. Most play minor roles. Some enter only to expire within a page or two. Yet each character that plays a lengthy role has been given a creative background. Even the background of the Chapter itself is detailed. This helped me wrap my mind around the traitor/loyal mind-set of a Chaos Space Marine. My biggest problem is that the story jumps around too often. It not only leaps between various characters, but also between places (ships and planets). If you put this book down for too long you may return and be disoriented or confused for awhile. Readers that crave battles, yet does not mind if the story jumps about, will enjoy this dip into the lives of the Blood Gorgons. ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars)
Blood Gorgons (Bastion Wars) by Henry Zou (Paperback - 3 Mar 2011)
Used & New from: 5.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews