Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liking this book!, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
Ive been looking for a way to get started with game development and have heard great things about the authors original book. I was eager for this updated version to hit the shelves and so far it has not disappointed. My perspective is one of someone who knew nothing about Unity or game development, never having tried either. This book has been a great introduction to game development with Unity. I was grateful that its written in plain conversational english and all of the programming is broken down for easy digestion. This is a great start if you want to get your feet wet with Unity and game dev. For me this book was a perfect fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best unity book I've found, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
This is by far the best unity book I've had the opportunity to read. It's well written, easy to follow, and covers a lot of ground. Unlike other books, throughout the book only one example game is made, but the game is far more advanced than if the author would jump from one game to another.

The book goes through all sorts of unity features, including the landscape engine, particle systems, animation, ui, HUD, physics, scripting (in both c# and javascript) - actually, plenty of space is dedicated to scripting, including a chapter that goes through basic concepts like variables, functions and logic structures, but this is all done in a way that's not dumbed down by any means.

Towards the end of the book you can find descriptions of things often forgotten, including doing finishing touches, optimization, steps to publish on the web or standalone, and so on.

If you want to buy one book on unity, this, in my opinion, would be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for non-coders, 26 Nov 2012
By 
L. Rigby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book gets you started in Unity and producing stuff quickly without assuming that you have extensive coding knowledge. Lovely stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Unity, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
This book is clearly written and provides examples in both JavaScript and C# (particularly good if you want to work in C#, as many other resources are based on JavaScript). It provides an excellent introduction to Unity 3.x, and takes you through the process of creating a simple game using provided assets.

The cool thing about Will's book is that it introduces most of the essential features of Unity, so if you work through it all, you will have some idea about how scripts, components, particle effects, animations etc. work in Unity, and how it all fits together. The book tells you how to build a game and deploy it on the web, so from starting with no knowledge of scripting I was able to have the tutorial game up and running within a week or two. This is a big confidence boost and by the end you'll be itching to start your own projects.

It is also excellent the way Will has provided a supporting website and patches over things which have been changed since the publication of the book, such as the particle system: for this he provides a short video explaining how to follow that part of the book with the new system. He also addresses errata and readers can post a question if they get stuck with something. Brilliant.

My only criticism is this: Although the book covers enough scripting for a text aimed mainly at beginners, unfortunately I am finding it does not have much lasting value as a reference. The way the scripts are described piece by piece over several pages makes it hard to quickly go back and see how something was done. Perhaps an appendix with the full commented scripts would have been useful, but to be honest it is probably beyond the scope of the book.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this book for anyone taking their first steps in Unity, though hopefully in the future we will see another book which is more of a scripting reference and covers some more advanced aspects of scripting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Book To Understand, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will guide you through basic tutorials to get you started with unity, also very good value for the amount of detail in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for learning Unity, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
Really great book, the instruction inside this book are easy to understand even for me who live in non-English speaking Country. The book explain some basic knowledge to built your own game from scratch, although it doesn't explain about advanced feature like Animation, Artificial Intelligence or building 3D asset, but I found this book helpful for beginner. It lay basic understanding and concept how to built your own game in Unity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start for a complete beginner., 28 May 2013
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
I wanted to get into Unity, but I'd never written a line of code beyond BASIC as a kid. A developer friend said this book would be just the job and he wasn't wrong.

It leads you in pretty gently, but doesn't pull any punches once it gets going. You have to engage fully with one chapter in order to understand the next, and I also found myself going to other C# resources on the net to affirm and deepen what this author was explaining. That's no bad thing, though.

If you're willing to put in the time to go back over some bits and work out exactly why you're doing what you're doing, this book is pretty much a one stop shop to learning the basics of Unity.

The author also engages with the readership on the forums, adding extra explantions, different examples and revised/updated material when necessary. That's a great bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand and work through, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book great as a novice to unity it made it easy to understand all of the concepts and how unity works. It takes a little while to get into the guts of a 3d system but i didn't find it to bad to give the basics first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality and fast shipment, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
A really good book about game developing in Unity 3D. A must have if you want to start developing video games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled) (Paperback)
I was pleasantly surprised how nicely paced this book was.
I'm finished with it now and I feel that all the knowledge form the book was useful.
I will be coming back to revisit chapters often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unity 3.X Game Development Essentials (Community Experience Distilled)
£30.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews