Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Flames (Kindle Edition)
brilliant book does not get involved with to much repetetive detail
really enjoyable reading will be looking for more books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the Flames, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Flames (Paperback)
I am not a great book reader but this was a must. The names, places and storys brought back many happy and sad memories and is a must for anyone interested in the Fire Service in London over the last 40 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the Flames, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Flames (Paperback)
The title says it all !! I bought this book as a Christmas present for my husband who is a retired FF but also because my dad was a station officer and I am reading it first as can't put it down ! It is extremely well written and informative with good photographs - it takes you inside the world of a fire fighter, well done Mr Pike !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of London's history, 3 Jan 2014
This review is from: Beyond the Flames (Paperback)
In many ways this seemed a bit of a challenge to review.Why? Because it reflects my own service with the London Fire Brigade .The period encompassed within the 583 pages was also my time of service.
I never met David personally although we have shared many of the same incidents so we are both ships that passed in the night so to speak.
I tried to detach from many parts of it but it was impossible not to be drawn back into the pages.
It is a remarkable piece of work and documents a historic time for the Brigade.
It was a period of change,from the austere mood of the war and the fifties into the new awakening of the 60's.
It was a period of change for the London Fire Brigade too with many of the wartime practices and traditions lingering on well into the late 70's.
The story encapsulates a lad embarking on an adventure,the last of such adventures, as today is a very different world.
The lad becomes a hardened fireman in the toughest peacetime period of the toughest Brigade in the UK if not the world.
The hardened fireman becomes an officer and embraces more responsibility.
With it comes wisdom,tenacity and the ability to pass it on to the younger men and women joining the brigade in the later years of his service.
A well crafted account of his time in Service.
David Pike has made a major contribution to the history of the London Fire Brigade and I am sure it will serve as a worthy reference to those who today and in the future will want to know what was it like to be a London Fireman.
A jolly good read and reference work.
Beyond the Flames
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a whim....., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Flames (Kindle Edition)
Via my kindle for what seemed a bargainous price of three pound odd,

Excellent book, informative and clear and a great chronology of the authors times in the fire service.

Happy retirement Mr Pike and thanks to yourself and all your colleagues, past,present and future for keeping us safe from ourselves and unforseen circumstances.

Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beyond the flames, an education, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Flames (Paperback)
An honest, and at times very touching story of life in the LFB. It is a fabulous piece of social history, depicting a time of great change.
The book made me reflect on the bravery and dedication of firemen and women past and present. Thankyou for this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Flames (Kindle Edition)
As a retired DO1 I relived my 30 years in the Fire Service by reading David's book. Excellent and we'll written. Completely involves the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ell written, 12 May 2014
By 
J. F. Mcclory (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond the Flames (Paperback)
excellent read very interesting and informative i enjoyed it from start to finish it was difficult to put it down once i started reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All together an excellent read, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Flames (Kindle Edition)
I was lucky enough to have met the author when serving with the London Fire Brigade. He describes incidents & anecdotes with which I was familiar during my service,therefore I can confirm their accuracy. The stories are well written & devoid of unnecessary hyperbole. All together an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unsung heroes, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond The Flames (Kindle Edition)
A rare and true account of the qualities of a fireman that don't get paid for what they do, but for what they might have to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond the Flames
Beyond the Flames by David C. Pike (Paperback - 31 Oct 2013)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews