Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the mascara the true dusty
An excellent profile of a truly troubled superstar. Only thing missing was a decent discography but as a lifelong dusty fan a lot of things revealed about her I didnt know and some unseen photographs
Published 5 months ago by david wilde

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They are not worthy.
This biography is certainly a step up from the thoroughly excerable "Dancing With Demons" by Penny Valentine and the so-called friend and manager of Dusty (at the time) Vikki Wickham.
Don't get me wrong - there is still a lot of darkness in this book; still a lot of information about bad behaviour, drunkeness etc......I suppose it's the meat that sells the...
Published 4 months ago by Tracy Aitken


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind the mascara the true dusty, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent profile of a truly troubled superstar. Only thing missing was a decent discography but as a lifelong dusty fan a lot of things revealed about her I didnt know and some unseen photographs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another book on Dusty!, 19 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. R. Cooper "chameleon" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting take on Dusty's career containing some new facts...some of which I'd rather not have read! Aside from that, no one could erase her status as Britain's best ever soul diva, no matter what is written about her.Shame she was taken so young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talent alone is never enough!, 13 July 2014
By 
Michael Johnson "devonmike" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
There have been several biographies on Dusty Springfield already written, and some are very good, but this latest one by Karen Bartlett is perhaps the best and possibly final word needed in any examination about this amazingly talented and complex woman. Dusty was a deeply troubled lady, be it rooted with her parents and her less than idyllic childhood, her initially confused sexuality, her looks, her Catholicism, or ironically, with her extraordinary talent, which due to her perfectionism, was never quite good enough for her! All aspects of her life; the good, the bad, and the downright ugly are covered honestly within the pages of this book. Her friends and past lovers all appear to talk openly to the author, who sensibly never resorts to the sensational when presenting her honest and three dimensional portrait of Dusty. The singer's often tormented adult life mixed with all too rare moments of real happiness makes at times for very sad reading, but at least she appeared to have found a comparative peace during her final one or two years. If I had a very minor criticism about this book it would have to do with some of the poor proof-reading, but luckily nothing too serious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So sad, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She was THE idol of my teenage years. Her singing got me through many 'down' days at boarding school. I did realise her life deteriorated badly, but this book explains just how serious that decline was: SO SAD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Glimpse Behind The Famous Image, 27 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
As biographies of singers go, this is a very good book. Music fans and experts will delight in the new material from three dozen interviews. Amongst those contributing their memories of Dusty are Jeff Barry, Julie Felix, Kenny Gamble, Lesley Gore, and Dennis Lambert, as well as people who lived and worked with Dusty throughout her career.

There is no discography, but that can easily be found elsewhere. There is a very useful index.

The respect shown to Dusty's talent pours from the pages of this book, underlining my own impression that she was unique and hugely talented. An excellent read (but I do wish the proof-readers had taken care with their job).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DUSTY AN INTIMATE PORTRAIT ON A MUSICAL LEGEND, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
brilliant book on dusty, a must for dusty FANS which is a rare thing to say, as most books on dusty are not so good, but this was really on the missing years in usa and I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars They are not worthy., 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
This biography is certainly a step up from the thoroughly excerable "Dancing With Demons" by Penny Valentine and the so-called friend and manager of Dusty (at the time) Vikki Wickham.
Don't get me wrong - there is still a lot of darkness in this book; still a lot of information about bad behaviour, drunkeness etc......I suppose it's the meat that sells the book proposal to the publisher, reels them in with all the salacious details that supposedly sets hearts a flutter and pulls pounds out of pockets.
In any biography there has to be balance - the bad and the good and I am not so foolish as to imagine that the number of pages in a book devoted to each is a measure of that balance. However the slew of anecdotes, stories, second and third hand information that the reader has to wade through to find something, anything that that makes one smile is over powering. This sort of information is presented with only the contributors say so. There is no rebuttal, no challenge from the author.
For example - Sue Cameron the woman who claims Dusty was the love of her life. This person refused to have her own name used in DWD although here - and we are all very grateful - she appears as herself. Apparently throughout the relationship she kept her own home in LA and if things became a bit hard going she would, and I quote "run for the hills". There is little attempt to counter similar nuggets of gold. Dusty had legitimate abandonment issues - how would this behaviour have acted upon her? Would it have deepened her insecurities, accelerated her drinking, impacted on her behaviour and mental health? Alas the biographer fails to give us any particular answer.
Cameron tells us that Dusty liked being with her partly because her profile was higher and Dusty therefore stood in her shadow!
Pardon?
Let's let that little gem pass looking instead at Cameron's behaviour after Dusty attempted suicide following their break up. Informed of the almost catastrophic outcome of the overdose Cameron apparently listened to "other friends" and did not visit Dusty. Three months later - yes, three - Cameron marries. A man.
The point I am labouring here is that all the courses of action this person pursued would have had a significant reaction and inter-action with existing and pre-existing conditions - none of which would have a good outcome.
I am not blaming Cameron for Dusty's alcoholism but the biographer should have examined HOW her behaviour would contribute to Dusty's own decline especially around abandonment and rejection.
I also feel that perhaps a note around Cameron's claim that Dusty was the love of her life was merited. In all serious relationships (and Cameron would have us believe that this one certainly was) we make a commitment don't we? to the good and the bad times, in sickness and in health, for richer or poorer?
This woman kept her own home for when times got rough and wouldn't even use her own name until this book. That doesn't sound like any kind of commitment to me. It certainly should have been mentioned and challenged and it is this reluctance - or failure - on the part of the biographer which fails it's subject.
Ultimately we are all the sum of our pasts. We are shaped so powerfully by it our behaviour, beliefs, our psychology is effected for the rest of our lives - unless we work damn hard at changing that.
Dusty worked damn hard. She stopped the drink, the drugs, broke the cycle of relationships that hurt her in the worst ways. Best of all she got her career back. And we got her back.
There is so much more positive about Dusty's life that overshadows - but does not deny - her struggles. These things are to be acknowledged more than the other stuff.
One day there will I hope be a biography worthy of her.
Roll on that day!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The reality of what we hope to read about Dusty as a sweet icon of the 60s is turned on its head, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
Its always refreshing to read an autobiography which is not sugar coated to suit a certain demographic or appease people. The reality of what we hope to read about Dusty as a sweet icon of the 60s is turned on its head. We get a glimpse of what was behind the facade a young woman in turmoil about her sexuality with added pressure at the time to be kept hidden no one would or could handle that. Dusty and her demons gives us a rare insight to showbiz life at the time her numerous affairs with woman, her battle with drinks and drugs it will upset a few but then they do say the truth hurts, something tells me she must be pleased it is all finally out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book definitely worth the 5 star rating, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
Loved this book could not put it down. The writer does not cower away from more harder aspects of Dusty's life, her addictions and her struggles with herself. Best book on Dusty so far. If they ever make a biopic this book should be the basis, a lot I already knew but I also learnt new bits of information about Dusty I didn't know. Would recommend to anyone with an interest in his incredible singer who could sing anything and make it her own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend (Hardcover)
Good read about one of our all time great female singers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend
Dusty: An Intimate Portrait of a Musical Legend by Karen Bartlett (Hardcover - 17 Jun 2014)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews