Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Woman and Writer
This is a very well researched biography which tells Maeve Binchy's story from the moment her family settled in Ireland to the day she died there in 2012, having become a household name all over the world. It is the story of a child who believed everything her family told her, as we all do, but who was SO believing that she suffered terribly when bit by bit she discovered...
Published 10 months ago by Charlotte

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maeve Binchy: The Biography
Considering what a an amazing and interesting person Maeve Binchy was this biography was heavy going. I was interested to know about her life but disappointed that the details were not presented in a more humorous and livelier manner. Piers Dudgeon did not appear to know her and relied on friends of hers for facts about her life. A real picture of this wonderful writer...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting Biography. Having read most of her books which I enjoyed very much . It was fascinating to read about her life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read about the author, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was good to get an insight into her life and background, and how she draws on this in her books.

An easy to read story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of Maeve's books and this book gives you an interesting insight into how a lot of those books came to be. it is not quite holding my attention as much as one of her books though that is why I have only given it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed the book, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good insight into Maeve . But wanted to know why as an atheist she had four priests doing a requiem mass for her - irish hypocrisy ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maeve Binchy, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful book,thoroughly enjoyed it,again a massive fan but learned more about the lady herself.To me the point of reading a auto/biography is to get to know the person you admire,this hit the spot for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors, 25 Jan 2014
By 
GJ PM Mann "hardy fan" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How I am enjoying reading about Maeve's life. It's so interesting to learn where she sourced her stories. Now I'm not surprised that her characters appear so real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back story to all those novels., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to see the woman behind the novels. A must read for Binchy fans! I didn't know she had been a teacher before embarking on her career as a journalist and writer so thoroughly enjoyed this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expecting a good read so disappointed, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have just finished reading this biography and am pleased it only cost me 1.09 as I found it a real disappointment. I have read all of Meave's books and found them like everybody else wonderful reads.

If you want to learn about Irish history then this is a book for you. I found it a very boring read and came to the conclusion that Piers Dudgeon had probably never met Meave!!

It is such a shame that Meave never wrote her own autobiography as that I am sure would have been a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maeve Binchy RIP, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: The Biography (Hardcover)
I cannot believe that there will be no more novels by this, my favourite, author. I am much of an age with Maeve and can relate so easily to the times she writes about. I have always dreaded getting to the end of one of her books and they are all re-readable - which cannot often be said. I have only just started reading this biography but can tell that it is going to be on my bookshelf with the rest of her books for the rest of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maeve Binchy: The Biography
Maeve Binchy: The Biography by Piers Dudgeon (Hardcover - 2 Aug 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews