Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giants The Dwarfs of Auschwitz
I had never heard of this book until it was reviewed in a local paper telling about a documentary that was coming to television.

This story tells of a remarkable Jewish family of 10 children 7 of whom were born with a serious kind of dwarfism. Their father who suffered from the same form of dwarfism married two different women who were normal sized and it...
Published 23 months ago by Kuddles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but disappointing book
This an amazing story of survival against all odds but I am a bit disappointed with the way it was told. I didn't like the style of the book - for me it was too matter-of-factly and lacked emotions. It didn't make me feel connection with the characters and it got boring in places. I understand this book was written by journalists and perhaps this is why the style is so...
Published 13 months ago by Mags Z.


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giants The Dwarfs of Auschwitz, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had never heard of this book until it was reviewed in a local paper telling about a documentary that was coming to television.

This story tells of a remarkable Jewish family of 10 children 7 of whom were born with a serious kind of dwarfism. Their father who suffered from the same form of dwarfism married two different women who were normal sized and it tells the story of how the family became a stage act in Romania before WW2 and how respected they were

When Hitler came to power they were rounding up with all the other Jewish people of their village and sent to Auschwitz and came to be taken under Dr Mengele who did horrific experiments on them and other people who had birth defects and also twins. The fact that there were 7 dwarfs in the family saved their lives and those of their family and some friends. I

The story goes on to tell of the remarkable escape they had when Auschwitz was liberated, then went to live in Israel .. They used their lives on stage that they had before the war to earn money and lived into their 60's, 70's and 80's keeping their dignity throughout their lives.

To me this is a story that MUST be read because it shows that although some people suffered and died this family managed to pull back their lives and keep their dignity till the day they died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary story about extraordinary people, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giants: The Dwarfs of Auschwitz: The Extraordinary Story of the Lilliput Troupe (Hardcover)
Already had an interest in this story after reading several newspaper articles. The book was easy to read and had a good flow to it.

It was full of interesting facts and gave a real and fascinating insight not only of what this brave and extraordinary family endured and encountered in the Auschwitz concentration camp but also their plight and long journey to resettle after the war.

It also gave a trully fascinating glimpse and better understanding into the lives and history of dwarf entertainers both before and after the war.

I would thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!!!!!, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giants: The Dwarfs of Auschwitz: The Extraordinary Story of the Lilliput Troupe (Hardcover)
A very moving story and in my opinion everyone should read this book.
I don't want to give too much away but what this family went through at
the hands of "The Angel Of Death" Josef Mengele was horrific. To survive his experiments and Auschwitz was feat of heroism by the whole family. Their determination to survive is inspiring. Their story should never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I could not put down, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heartbreaking history, of the horrors of Auschwitz, such a fantastic family. Wonderful people , talented and kind. I can't comprehend the tragic atrocities they saw on a daily basis, and the harsh medical experiments they endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A REMARKABLE AND COMPLEX STORY, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giants: The Dwarfs of Auschwitz: The Extraordinary Story of the Lilliput Troupe (Hardcover)
This book casts light on some of the strange complexities of the Jewish Holocaust. It tells the story of a family of seven dwarfs that was subjected to horrible medical experiments in Auschwitz by Dr. Josef Mengele - who must rate as one of the most revolting creatures who ever lived, and a disgrace to his profession. Mengele experimented on this family of dwarfs because he was particularly interested in researching the biological basis of dwarfism. Ironically, it was also this preoccupation which ensured that the family survived their time in the death camp. Not surprisingly, members of the family developed somewhat contradictory and ambivalent feelings about Mengele - who had both tortured them, and saved their lives. Thanks to Mengele, they were spared some of the worst excesses of that death camp - as a result of which they were resented by some of the other prisoners. Even before their dreadful experiences in the Nazi camp, the family had lived a self-contained existence. That was for understandable reasons, but their sense of social isolation seems to have continued long after their release from Auschwitz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping read from start to finish and it's unbelievable what they went through and still survived. How can people say or never happened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!!, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From begning to end this book was a great read. Id watched the programmed with Warwick in it and was very much looking forward to book - it did not dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intriguing insight to an intriguing and fascinating family who survived the horrors of Auschwitz
A recommended read for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story of Hope and faith, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Giants: The Dwarfs of Auschwitz: The Extraordinary Story of the Lilliput Troupe (Hardcover)
I purchased this book following the TV programme with Warwick Davies. The book is an excellent record of a remarkable story. It was a miracle these people survived due to the misconceptions of one man. I would recommend that everyone should read this book. The authors have given the reader not just a story but have given a succinct history of the background to the family and the medical experiments at Auswitchz. The reading is both factual and compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story but disappointing book, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This an amazing story of survival against all odds but I am a bit disappointed with the way it was told. I didn't like the style of the book - for me it was too matter-of-factly and lacked emotions. It didn't make me feel connection with the characters and it got boring in places. I understand this book was written by journalists and perhaps this is why the style is so dry.
It's a pity that such a great story wasn't told in better way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Giants: The Dwarfs of Auschwitz: The Extraordinary Story of the Lilliput Troupe
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews