Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars22
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2013
I really enjoyed the book, an easy read which gave interesting details of the family's background and what clearly gives Ed. Miliband his credo of justice and fairness for all. Hopefully his views and ideas will find a resonance with the electorate so that we can move towards a society where the shaming discrepancies between rich and poor can be ameliorated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
Excellent book. great in-depth look at a political figure not much is really known about. Hasan & Macintyre have really done their research and you get a really good picture of Miliband and what drives him. Fascinating accounts of his rise to leadership and when i see Miliband as leader this book really places him in context
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Ed Miliband was relatively unknown when he successfully challenged his brother for the leadership of the Labour Party. This book provides an insight into the politics of Ed Miliband as well as the breaking down of the relationship between two brothers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
This is an excellent read and an eye opener into the character of the man Ed Miliband. He's tough, but compassionate, his opposition will write him off and underestimate him at their peril!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
This is a serious attempt to redress the balance after all the media distortion and character assassination that has been carried out on ~Ed Milliband since he became Labour leader. I found the research painstaking and the viewof Milliband perceptive. A timely and useful ray of light on our next Prime Minister who will be tasked with cleanign up the Augean mess left by the current band of Bullingdon vandals.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
I voted for Ed in the labour leadership ballot. I desperately wanted to keep David out of it. My natural inclinations have always been towards Dianne Abbott but she trivialises herself on television despite being very able. Ed comes across as a good man with integrity and a very nice guy – though the authors admit that they are biased.

I am delighted that he was asking the right questions when at Harvard.

The departure from Blair’s capitalism is described.

The Milibands may be atheists but there are deep principles, including religious ones, in their roots.

I was annoyed that, at the time when I was a student there, Ralph considered: Leeds to be an 'absolutely awful' town, with a 'provincial' atmosphere."

I was tired of hearing that, yet again, Ed followed David in career footsteps. Does this mean that Ed had no originality of that openings are few for those sort of people?

And what’s the meaning of the word ‘spad’ as applied to young wannabees? Wiki says it’s a form of aircraft! Other definitions include a ‘two inch nail’!

I am disgusted that MPs chose to put their future careers above the future deaths of thousands in the illegal Iraq war.

Ed uses biblical imagery occasionally, maybe from his Jewish background. ‘Am I my brother’s keeper?’ is an obvious example though he gets his verbs and adjectives confused when talking of a ‘repenteth sinner’.

He wants to shake Labour and the trade unions out of their protectionism and self-interests.

They suggest that we need Scottish votes to secure a Labour majority. There are statistics that prove this to be false.

Because it is written by two people, I feel that I can see the joins between them. It seems that a topic has come to an end and then a new paragraph begins with a ‘but’ or an ‘and.’
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
I had not read a political biography before and, although I found this book compelling and readable, I found the high density of "Ed Miliband is wonderful" quotes quite difficult to swallow. In contrast to the numerous reviews praising the balance of this book, I found it was thickly laid 'pro-Ed' propaganda with a light peppering of paragraphs questioning his actions. I find it very difficult to believe that this book was not politically motivated by those who want to discredit David. In fact some chapters were so 'anti-David' that it felt uncomfortably personal.
So long as you take the claims of 'balance' with a pinch of salt, this book is well worth a read.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
The first biography on Ed Milliband very informative and an interesting read highly recommend it to those who want to know about the character of Ed Milliband and behind the scences of the Labour Leadership campaign and how it effected his relationship with his brother David Milliband.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
i bought this book and decided not to bother when i saw mehdi hasan was co auther as he is an Islamic supremacist and apologist for Shia imperialism an Islamist facilitator and enabler who sadly does a disservice to both Muslims and the Left.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)