Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!
I love this book! The stories are so beautifully readable, entertaining and full of things I didn't yet know about amazing ladies of 'herstory'. It's exquisitely designed and illustrated with the most perfect pictures of the featured ladies, which bring out everything from a wry smile at the corners of the mouth to full-on out-loud chuckles that have made the cats jump up...
Published 21 months ago by Nommie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book
This was a present to my Wife, who is a fan of Sandy T and an avid reader. For her to tell me she was disappointed, especially as it was a gift, gives some indication of how bad it was. There was no real substance to each entry with most being frivolous, but not particularly funny either. Check out the Elizabeth 1st entry.
Published 18 months ago by David Fenton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
I love this book! The stories are so beautifully readable, entertaining and full of things I didn't yet know about amazing ladies of 'herstory'. It's exquisitely designed and illustrated with the most perfect pictures of the featured ladies, which bring out everything from a wry smile at the corners of the mouth to full-on out-loud chuckles that have made the cats jump up in confusion. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroines & Harridans, a fanfare of fabulous females, 20 Nov 2012
By 
J. Brain "Artsmonkey" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
This is a book of quality and I don't just mean its printed on thick, paper with a lovely sheen that is a pleasure to turn. Heroines and Harridans has weight to it and that's not just one hundred and thirty seven pages packed with a wealth of wit and worthy array of notable women, but the beautifully quirksome illustrations by Sandy Nightingale whose work led me to this book in the first place and the irrepressible humour of Sandy Toksvig. From the final comment in the preface "there are no soup recipes in this book" to the wry observation "some women are delightful when they are alive, some, sadly, are a joy only when they've passed on" to the closing chapter on 'soup' and its closing sentiment "there is so much left still to be devoured" this book will exercise your facial muscles and leave you feeling full and satisfied. It's a joy to read, it's fun, frivolous; it celebrates and illuminates a full bodied collection of women in all of their eccentric, determined, courageous, baffling and humbling aspects. Buy it, buy it! It will perk up your Book Club, adorn your bedside table, instigate chance encounters on the tube and your early morning commute! It looks good, it feels good and it draws you on like a romp but will reveal treasures to you along the way. I am as fond now, of Hester Thrale as I ever could have been had I had the pleasure of meeting her, from Aphra Benn, Stella Gibbons, Hairy Mary from Borneo to the Blessed Hildegard of Bingen there is, as they say, something for everyone in this delightful book by the two Sandies. I can't wait for volume two!
Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing book, 11 Jan 2013
By 
David Fenton (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
This was a present to my Wife, who is a fan of Sandy T and an avid reader. For her to tell me she was disappointed, especially as it was a gift, gives some indication of how bad it was. There was no real substance to each entry with most being frivolous, but not particularly funny either. Check out the Elizabeth 1st entry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars written as she speaks its great, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
this book would be good for anyone wishing to read some history about the accomplishments of woman good and bad. it will open your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
Very witty text with delightful illustrations that match perfectly. Makes an ideal present for anyone but especially a lady or girlfriend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for a friend, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
Bought for a friend and she was very pleased with it. If you like sandi Toksvig i guess you cant go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroines and Harridans, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
I bought this for my sister.She said it was very good and enjoyed it very much.I didn't read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
bought it for my mom for xmas so she should like it as she was the one who asked for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
I bought this as a Christmas present. It went down really well and I would certainly recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. It's erudite, it's funny and the illustrations are captivating. I love this book and will keep it until death. Thanks Sandi!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females
Heroines and Harridans: A Fanfare of Fabulous Females by with illustrations by Sandy Nightingale (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2012)
14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews