Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well written, fair, informative and timely book
A well written, fair, informative and timely book, franker than most politicians on either side of the debate. It leaves each reader to decide. I shall try to do the same, giving points first for one side, then the other:

Things 'Pro-EU' politicians do not tell us:

-It is now almost impossible to deny that for decades British politicians supporting...
Published 22 months ago by Legal Vampire

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring and inconclusive
Some good ideas in this book but incoherent and inconclusive. A book of disjointed articles presenting some facts at great length.
Published 14 months ago by P. J. Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Balanced arguments leave me uncertain where to jump, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a more balanced presentation than some reviewers suggest. Lots of ideas presented resulting in: too difficult to call!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Revoir, Europe: What If Britain Left The EU? (Paperback)
Most commentaries on the EU focus on its current impacts: the sceptics focussing on the negatives and the dwindling band of supporters on its positives.

This book goes well beyond that. It provides a factual summary of the pluses and minuses of membership, and then goes on to describe the mechanics of UK departure, and the likely consequences for our nation.

In so doing it provides a much-needed framework for making the decision to leave.

However the author does not pick up on the level of unrest in the other EU nations, other than noting that every nation that's been given a vote on the EU has voted against it.

I think that's a serious omission, since when the UK does leave, it will be negotiating with Continental politicians who are terrified of setting a precedent. Thus the negotiations are likely to be as bruising as the dishonest ones that preceded the UK's joining, and our representatives will have to fight as hard and dirty as their opponents. That's quite feasible, since the UK has a trade deficit with the rest of the EU and provides much of its finance. But it'll need a much more competent and honest group of UK leaders than we currently have.

Still, this book lays all the groundwork, and perhaps a later book might suggest how deploying professional hard cases as negotiators would do the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not easy reading as it jumps about a bit and could ..., 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not easy reading as it jumps about a bit and could do with a bit more structure. Tends to repeat quite a lot too. The overall content is very interesting and all 'facts' are backed up with references that you can research for yourself should you wish; which gives it added credibility.
Defintely worth reading if the promised referendum comes to pass....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for under 55's, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Revoir, Europe: What If Britain Left The EU? (Paperback)
David Charter lays out the history of the Eu and Britain's involvement dispassionately; the benefits and disadvantages are examined.

On completing I was able to construct a score sheet to gauge my opinion.

Anyone, even those who voted in 1975, should read this when considering the possibility of a referendum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of course any author will tell you what they want to but it was good to get some analysis. After all of the sound bites and clichesat last real information. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding!!!, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating incite into Europe and it possible outcome of the UK's exit. An excellent and fascinating read. Worthy of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, 8 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Au Revoir, Europe: What If Britain Left The EU? (Paperback)
A very good book and well written but assumes a lot of background knowledge of the European Union. The EU is a vast subject and to enjoy this book you need quite a lot of background knowledge. It gives however a very good idea of the internal politics which drive the EU and the reader gets a good appreciation of the values which the EU likes to promote. Read this book when you have already read a few other books on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars glad I bought, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Keep reading it in bite sized chunks.very informative .glad I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadmap to the inevitable, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and essential reading to understand how we got where we are, and why (unfortunately?) any attempt to wrest powers back from Europe is doomed to fail. The author argues, convincingly in my opinion, that a 'Brexit' is pretty much inevitable but he does offer some reassurance that this would be not catastrophic for Britain, although it would not be easy or painless.

I don't know the author's politics and whether he is a natural euro sceptic or whether he came to the position through experience or evidence, but he does perhaps exhibit some scepticism about the Euro project.

After reading this I'm now quite convinced that Britain cannot remain in Europe, not for reasons of my own views, but for reasons of fact and EU law, plus of course the fact that Britain will inevitably vote "no" to stay in - if we are ever asked.

Read this and understand why! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A view of the future?, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well balanced book viewing how the EU has reacted to the UK as well as the UKs reaction to closer control by the unelected career Eurocrats who are shaping our future.
A must read for everyone intending to vote in the upcoming referendum, particularly those who have dogmatic views on either side of the debate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Au Revoir, Europe: What If Britain Left The EU?
Au Revoir, Europe: What If Britain Left The EU? by David Charter (Paperback - 1 Dec 2012)
Used & New from: £25.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews