Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars88
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2015
Very enjoyable book and hard to put down. Phil has a really honest appraisal of himself and a perceptive appraisal of the people he met. This openness and honesty made the book all the more enjoyable. Having been to DRC myself I was glad to read about the goodness of some of the locals in spite of their hard lives and the corruption they have to live with. Thoroughly recommended book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I am always fascinated by the Congo and its rich geography. This book gave me a realistic view of the Congo and it's mighty river. The book is an easy read with well laid out narrative. It would have been great if there were pictures of different scenes available as one reads the book. I would like to visit Congo and have a helicopter ride to view some of the sceneries described .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
What an adventure. Totally engaging. Written with wit and humour. An inspirational book and a great read. The author says in the book that he filmed his exploits - I am trying to locate any evidence of this because if it's only half as good as the book, it will still be brilliant. Well done Phil Harwood and thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
It's amazing that PH managed to get out alive. He tells a great tale of adventure and of respect for some of humanity's more noble traits, in the Heart of Darkness where you wouldn't expect to find people of such qualities. If you like a ripping yard about modern day exploration, you won't be disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
Classic travellers tale - magnificent English eccentric decides to canoe down crocodile infested ticket in African jungle war zone. And so he does, meeting dozens of corrupt and intimidatory officials along the way. Would have been 5 stars but writing quality a bit variable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
What can l say.....wanted to go on the journey with him.......sometimes with his detailed accounts of his trip l felt like l was there. Well written by a been there done that type of guy. This book reminds me that we still have explorers today. Loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
This book is fantastic, a page turner, I could not put the book down! I got the book as a christmas gift. I really enjoyed the authors genuine nature throughout the book. It is hilarious at moments and comical throughout, and full of intense interactions with local people. His love for the people clearly comes through Phil Harwood's adventure really shows what can be achieved when you put your mind to it. The book has information on the congo and previous explorers and reflects on the Congolese relationships with westerners. It is a mans long term dream becoming reality and all that comes with it. This is adventurous as it comes!

If you like adventures, if you like travel, or if you like people - Read it!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
phil is a very gutsy individual he dosent let anything stand in his way. i really enjoyed his adventure down the congo. how he managed it i do not know as there were a lot of obsticles in his way. mainly human ones. looking forward to his next book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Believable tale of determination and struggle against nature and human obstacles, each stage builds to a finale worthy of the effort. Reflection of the corruption in parts of Africa told in an enjoyable 'bullish' narrative. Well recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was exactly the directness I expected and wanted. Some pictures would have been helpful it did confirm that I am a coward . it also confirmed that Africa is probably fantastic but for the people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.