Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible Journey by an Inspiring Man!
If the river Congo had been in other (easier) countries this would still have been an epic adventure, but combined with the local lawlessness and corruption it is absolutely astonishing. The author, Phil, writes well and describes both the generosity and warmth of many of the local fisherman as well as the occasional aggression and hate of some people and intimidation and...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by C. P. Hennessy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit long winded
A good read but lacks the magic. Would recommend it but not in kindle form. He was very brave. A solid read.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. T. P. Bedingfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A route less travelled, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Canoeing the Congo: The First Source-to-Sea Descent of the Congo River (Paperback)
Evocative descriptions of river, jungle and independent travel. This incredible journey is vividly brought to life with a matter of fact writing style and casual observations of the people he meets, the corruption that frustrates him and sense of contentment with life. All armchair adventurers or those with an interest in seeing Africa from an unorthodox perspective should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable book and hard to put down. Phil has a really honest appraisal of himself and a perceptive appraisal of the people he met. This openness and honesty made the book all the more enjoyable. Having been to DRC myself I was glad to read about the goodness of some of the locals in spite of their hard lives and the corruption they have to live with. Thoroughly recommended book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Canoeing the Congo, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always fascinated by the Congo and its rich geography. This book gave me a realistic view of the Congo and it's mighty river. The book is an easy read with well laid out narrative. It would have been great if there were pictures of different scenes available as one reads the book. I would like to visit Congo and have a helicopter ride to view some of the sceneries described .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational book and a great read, 20 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an adventure. Totally engaging. Written with wit and humour. An inspirational book and a great read. The author says in the book that he filmed his exploits - I am trying to locate any evidence of this because if it's only half as good as the book, it will still be brilliant. Well done Phil Harwood and thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive tale impressively told, 7 July 2014
By 
Fandango - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was worried this would be a solid but tedious read. Actually Phil Harwood writes pretty well, and the lack of adjectives and hyperbole for me makes his achievement even more impressive.

The journey he describes is astonishing and told me all I expected to find out. But I also learned a lot about the countries, and the way he interacted with and learned from those he met along the way is a story full of (unpreachy) lessons itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Norman Thomson, 22 Jun. 2014
What a great read and what a bloke. Phil has used every resource imaginable to achieve an incredible goal. This has been a huge physical challenge yet he has persevered where most would have given up and succeeded in overcoming problems often using his incredible charm. The book is written in a way that you could think you were sitting having a chat over a pint with Phil. It's no nonsense with nothing missed out. Anyone with an interest in travel in Africa would enjoy this book. Not just paddlers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top class adventure, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Believable tale of determination and struggle against nature and human obstacles, each stage builds to a finale worthy of the effort. Reflection of the corruption in parts of Africa told in an enjoyable 'bullish' narrative. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars takes you there, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very atmospheric book well written ,felt i too was canoeing down the Congo ,spent time myself in this part of the world this book took me back again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed it could smell the jungle very glad it was not me doing the canoeing it was very realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Canoe-tastic, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting account of one man' trip down the Congo aboard a canoe. A brave and daring adventure, certainly not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 48 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canoeing the Congo: The First Source-to-Sea Descent of the Congo River
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews